Builders FirstSource Reviews | Glassdoor

Builders FirstSource Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Chad Crow
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and great work force(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Expected to work long hours and going home is almost considered a "reward" in this culture(in 4 reviews)

  • "Total lack of organization or respect from upper management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Support Rep I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Builders FirstSource full-time

    Pros

    Amazing customers and co workers!

    Cons

    I have no complaints.

    Builders FirstSource2018-12-18
  2. "MR ASSEMBLER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Builders FirstSource

      Pros

      Nothing is as good as they promote it to be.

      Cons

      9 hour shifts 30 min lunches Below average pay

      Advice to Management

      Increase lunch time Add at least 1 dollar to the base rate pay.

      Builders FirstSource2019-05-06
    • "There are better companies out there, work for one of them."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Builders FirstSource full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Large company with many locations. I would hope there would be opportunities to transfer.

      Cons

      No respect for free time or personal life. No acknowledgement of extra effort, no performance reviews and everyone no matter if they contributed a lot or called out sick gets the same 2% raise. Certainly not enough to keep up with inflation.

      Advice to Management

      Get a clue, all Management cares about is Management. Try managing downwards instead of upwards.

      Builders FirstSource2019-04-12
    • "Wouldn't recommend this job to my enemies."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Class A CDL Delivery Driver in Flagstaff, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Builders FirstSource full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Consistent work, and decent health benefits

      Cons

      Horrible leadership within management, harassment and bullying and favoritism are an every day occurrence.

      Advice to Management

      Be more considerate to employees and their needs and their families needs.

      Builders FirstSource2019-05-15
    • "Job overall"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Builders FirstSource

      Pros

      Great people. Always enjoy coming to work and hanging out with people you actually like.

      Cons

      Pay. Leadership. Something happened to me that was totally out of my control and not my fault but because of that I can't be promoted for awhile.

      Builders FirstSource2019-03-26
    • "Cool Place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Builders FirstSource full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great team, cool environment, flexible

      Cons

      Poor project planning, pay for parking

      Builders FirstSource2019-03-21
    • "Very Unprofessional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in West Palm Beach, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Builders FirstSource full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Melissa in HR was a pleasure to deal with.

      Cons

      Unprofessional way they handled the situation.

      Advice to Management

      This is a situation I never expected to have occurred. I was hired last Monday, passing a drug test as well as signing an offer. I was told to start the following Tuesday, 8 days later, in which I stopped my job search being I was unemployed. For no reasons given, I received a voice mail from Joey the manager 2 hours prior to my start, removing the offer. No one has answered my phone calls or emails in regards to...

      Show More
      Builders FirstSource2019-04-25
    • "Decent company with good management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CDL A/Boom Operator in Bellefonte, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Builders FirstSource full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Work schedule. Relaxed environment

      Cons

      Labor intensive. No opportunity for advancement

      Builders FirstSource2019-03-09
    • "Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Beaverton, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Builders FirstSource full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      A steady pay check

      Cons

      Push push push can make you crazy

      Advice to Management

      Go go go doesn't always win the race

      Builders FirstSource2019-02-27
    • "Awesome Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Salem, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Builders FirstSource full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great hours Good pay Excellent Benefits Closed Sundays

      Cons

      Sometimes raises don’t come through as promised

      Advice to Management

      Keep up being awesome. Love my job!

      Builders FirstSource2019-01-06
    Found 95 reviews