ByteDance Reviews | Glassdoor

ByteDance Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
ByteDance CEO Zhang Yiming
Zhang Yiming
88 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great work place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ByteDance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic cross border culture, easy to expand scope of work

    Cons

    Long hours, little structure, sometimes opaque business directives that can change on a dime

    Advice to Management

    Focus on hiring more geo-specific top executives and build organizations that make important decisions out of that region

    ByteDance2019-06-17
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ByteDance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company does pay well, they also offer really good benefits. The people are nice, they have good food too!

    Cons

    They are very disorganized. People do not communicate with each other and a result is two employees exciting the same job at the same time. If you are not Chinese your chances of having a high position are very small. NO work/life balance, they will expect you to reply a message at 2am.

    ByteDance2019-08-21
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SWE 

    I worked at ByteDance full-time

    Pros

    Good culture and work life balance

    Cons

    Bad MK, not enough selection

    ByteDance2019-07-22
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Needs to make some serious improvements."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Operations Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ByteDance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good snacks, hip trendy company.

    Cons

    I don't want this to come across as insensitive, but management based in China was out of touch with American culture. For my time there, there was a disregard for American colleagues' perspectives. And salary was pretty lousy. Also, there were very few professional growth opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    ByteDance2019-07-17

    ByteDance Response

    August 2, 2019Global Organizational Commitment Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly apologize for your negative working experience at ByteDance. And we will take your feedback into serious consideration. If you have any further concerns, please feel free to contact us at global-oc@bytedance.com.

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Long Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ByteDance full-time

    Pros

    Free food, nice office, and tech

    Cons

    Long hours, extremely difficult to find work-life balance, teams are basically their own clique so there's lots of drama No one sticks by the company core values

    ByteDance2019-07-09

    ByteDance Response

    July 16, 2019Global Organizational Commitment Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly apologize for your negative working experience at ByteDance. And we will take your feedback into serious consideration. If you have any further concerns, please feel free to contact us at global-oc@bytedance.com.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Always day one, fast grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ByteDance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience new open stuff everyday, you will learn a lot of things. A perfect battle field for ppl who got big goals and trying to challenge

    Cons

    Fast pace might overwhelming traditional jobs

    Advice to Management

    Full of energy which means full of young ppl. Be more patient.

    ByteDance2019-05-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unprecedented Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ByteDance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible ambition and relentless innovation Great rewards for execution

    Cons

    Building a global company is hard

    ByteDance2019-05-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "High pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ByteDance part-time

    Pros

    Good environment, good food, nice team

    Cons

    High pressure, repetitious work, small advancement chance

    ByteDance2019-04-08

    ByteDance Response

    May 5, 2019Global Organizational Commitment Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to see that you are enjoying working with your team now.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible IT services in Palo Alto Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA

    I have been working at ByteDance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked in this company over a year, the culture is fine. Is more of Chinese driven culture, majority of the engineering are Chinese. Maybe due to the engineering team in China also Chinese.. Great food for lunch and Dinner.

    Cons

    IT services in Palo Alto is like hit or miss. New Hire IT Orientation, the IT guy did not prepare anything, we been in the same room for one hour to login to the ByteDance-Guest WiFi, it required a code.. I can''t get the code because the account is not setup. Printer are no where to be found in the WiFi network, you have to beg them for setting up printer! The Internet always go down because it only have one... Internet circuit! Get a backup circuit so other people can work! The WiFi sometime will drop, specially when you doing conference call with your laptop.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This might be the worst IT experience I have, maybe there is a reason why IT Desktop support should be outsourced. The FTE will get better services from them once is outsourced

    ByteDance2019-04-17

    ByteDance Response

    May 5, 2019Global Employer Branding

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We will take your feedback into account and our IT team will investigate this issue. We appreciate your help to improve our daily work and experience at ByteDance. If you have any suggestions or additional feedback, please send it to it-feedback@bytedance.com

  10. Helpful (12)

    "Mismanaged and disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TopBuzz Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ByteDance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a flexible work schedule, the app itself is interesting, the daily workflow can be considered educational, and there is a caring community among your fellow US co-workers.

    Cons

    The Beijing team would often ignore the suggestions of the US operatives and schedule last minute assignments only to abandon them before they could be completed. There was next to no management or clear directives. There was no room for growth, a non-existent HR presence, a complete lack of direction both for the app and the employees, disregard for US work culture and customs, and numerous instances of employees... being asked to partake in unethical censorship within the app when it came to a negative reflection of China and related topics.

    Show More
    ByteDance2019-03-11

    ByteDance Response

    March 13, 2019Global Organizational Commitment Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We continue to work hard and dedicate more resources to building stronger communication and collaboration between our global teams and also recognize that these changes can take time. We are also committed to building out further our HR team and resources ...

    Show More
Found 129 reviews