Capitol Concierge Reviews | Glassdoor

Capitol Concierge Reviews

Updated May 30, 2017
17 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Lynda Ellis
12 Ratings

17 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Supplemental Income- Great Opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Concierge in Rockville, MD
    Former Employee - Residential Concierge in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Concierge part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    My experience at Capitol Concierge was amazing from the start. I had been looking for a part-time job to supplement my income and I found this opportunity through word of mouth. I've heard many reviews about Capitol and I did my own research prior to applying. In my experience the majority of these negative responses are inaccurate. The interview process was challenging and thorough. The training was lengthy but informative which gave me to tools to succeed. I was hired as a part-time residential concierge for a luxury condo in north bethesda and worked the 2nd shift.

    Cons

    I don't feel there is anything negative to say about Capitol Concierge Inc.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the company culture, ethics and energy and don't let these negative reviews hold you down.

    Capitol Concierge Response

    May 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback!


  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Concierge in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Concierge full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Constant employment, lots of locations to choose from

    Cons

    Pay could be better but it is constant

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    Capitol Concierge Response

    May 9, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Concierge Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    - Ample Free Time
    - Not a stressful job
    - No immediate supervisor to micro manage

    Cons

    - No growth
    - Staff you manage calls out and falls on you as management to cover

    Capitol Concierge Response

    Apr 11, 2016 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback!


  4. Helpful (6)

    "Concierge Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Concierge Manager in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Assistant Concierge Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Capitol Concierge full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Meeting people and making them happy with my service.

    Cons

    Owners more concerned with shopping for themselves and promising the world to clients , then not delivering. That makes those of us on site look bad! Not good leaders or managers.

    Advice to Management

    Follow up on your commitments. Stop changing the plan in midstream. Hire a professional manager who can help us and follow up! Way too much family and favoritism.

    Capitol Concierge Response

    Feb 29, 2016 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! Please note: this is a Family owned and operated business.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Concierge Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Concierge Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capitol Concierge (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    *Flexible Schedules
    *Management encourages you to grow on your own.
    *There are annual raises based on performance. Especially FT staff.
    *Working for Capitol is what you make it.
    *They do a pretty good job of listening to lower management & concierges.
    *Managers in the field look to hire from within the company.
    *The environment at Corp & most buildings is pretty light and positive.

    Capitol Concierge is what you make of it. If you work hard, do everything that you can, during your shift, to make sure that your client and manager are happy, then it is a fairly great place to work. If you work hard and meet all of your requirements, then you will not have any problems. Most managers in the field help their staff grow and want to see them succeed. This company requires a lot of personal responsibility for your work. If you do not take pride in your work, reputation, and have integrity, this this is not the place for you.

    After looking through some of the other reviews, it is pretty clear that those individuals were not doing their part within the company.

    Cons

    *Benefits are expensive.
    *Concierges are subject to the manager that they are assigned to.
    *Seems like corporate does not hire very much from within.
    *The pay is not the greatest. WE NEED MORE MONEY!

    Some managers are more harsh than others. While CCI strives to be fair accross the board for everyone, that is not always the case. Some managers are heavier handed than others and it can be frustrating for on call concierges.

    I have a pretty fair personality and am agreeable for the most part. I can see that if you do not have the same temprament, it can be frustrating to work for Capitol. Then again, that is going to be the same for any company that you work for.

    Also, finding coverage for your shift, if you need a day off, is pretty hard to do.

    Advice to Management

    We need more on calls that are willing to work. Attention needs to be paid to the home area first so that it is not so hard to take off of work. Leave itself can be a struggle.

    Capitol Concierge Response

    Feb 29, 2016 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback!


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Micromanaging, Lack of Organization, Gossiping and High Turnover."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Concierge in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Corporate Concierge in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Concierge full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I was able to learn a lot about administrative duties, event planning, time management, and property management. I also met a lot of interesting people.

    Cons

    Gossiping, favoritism, low pay, non-payment for overtime, favoritism, micromanagement. Bullying, harassment, threats. Lack of growth opportunities and insufficient training. high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Better compensation, work harder to retain employees, practice what you preach. Encourage managers to be less abrasive and better communicators without threatening employees.

    Capitol Concierge Response

    Feb 29, 2016 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback!


  7. "A time to remember."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Concierge in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capitol Concierge full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Everything was fine. No complaints.

    Cons

    None at all. No complaints.

    Advice to Management

    The more hours, the better!

    Capitol Concierge Response

    Feb 29, 2016 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Managers do not have a work-life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Concierge full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There were nice employees including the HR Manager.

    Cons

    Family run business meaning if you're in the family or favored at the moment then life is good. If you're not, then it is best to leave. Lack of ethical treatment to clients, managers, and employees. The company vision lacked focused, lacked diversity, and lacked compensation. Most managers are working 50+ hours a week while making only $30k a year. The benefits are nonexistent.

    Advice to Management

    Take a course on ethics, speak higher of your clients and employees, and drink less of the kool aid. Bad mouthing your clients will come back to haunt you.

    Capitol Concierge Response

    Mar 1, 2016 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your review, however we would like to address the following; this is a family owned and operated business, we've been awarded the "NCBEA" (National Capital Business Ethics Award) and... More


  9. "Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge Lunch Coverage in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Concierge Lunch Coverage in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Concierge part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I learned skills that I didn't have before. I got to enhance my skills that I already had and ones that I had acquired while employed with Capitol Concierge, Inc.

    Cons

    I didn't have enough hours to cover my daily expenses.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing,

    Capitol Concierge Response

    Feb 29, 2016 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback!


  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Concierge in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capitol Concierge full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome laid back job. Awesome managers

    Cons

    cant think of any, job is great.

    Capitol Concierge Response

    Feb 29, 2016 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your review!


Showing 17 of 17 reviews
Reset Filters