Cartesian Reviews | Glassdoor

Cartesian Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Peter Woodward
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are many great people working for Cartesian which are helpful and knowledgeable on many topics in the industry(in 4 reviews)

  • "People are willing to help each other out especially when it comes to on boarding new hires(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Lack of work life balance, very long hours expected from employees, low pay, lack of flexible working, the list goes on(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place To Work...But Markets Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant of Stuff in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cartesian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    While I was there, management gave me an open door to opportunity. Work was challenging. Great peers to learn from and build skill sets. Management was very understanding of personal life/work balance. Recognized staff for extra effort and sacrifices made. Close knit teams that could easily collaborate..even when dealing with time difference with the London office. I am even employing methods we used at Cartesian in my...

    Show More

    Cons

    The market of telecom changed. Maybe the sales force was not able to keep up with the fast changes. And some of the clients consolidated or went through significant cost cutting. So, projects got back burnered. Maybe the product offering could be better. Telecom is tough now.

    Advice to Management

    If anyone had the answers with how the telecom market does things, they would be king. If I had good advice, Peter would have called me. Obviously I don't because he hasn't called.

    Cartesian2018-06-12
  2. "Needs a strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO

      I have been working at Cartesian full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      smart people and high client value

      Cons

      lack of direction and focus on services being offered

      Cartesian2019-05-17
    • "Excellent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 

        I worked at Cartesian full-time

        Pros

        kept me on contract for more than 11 years

        Cons

        portfolio could be a l little more diverse

        Cartesian2019-03-27
      • "Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cartesian full-time

        Pros

        The company is a good place to learn and develop consulting skills, the team is very talented and work environment is very collaborative

        Cons

        Recently the company shifted directions and went through many changes in leadership that resulted in talented people leaving

        Advice to Management

        Communicate better the company's strategy to employees

        Cartesian2018-06-03
      • "Bad management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Cartesian full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good colleagues, central Boston location.

        Cons

        Management tanked this company fast. A sinking ship.

        Cartesian2018-06-10
      • "Great people, poor company trajectory"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Cartesian full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Bright colleagues - Strong culture among junior staff - Interesting work (e.g., analytics) in addition to the standard mix of consulting projects - Good opportunity to master some analytical software tools - Very reasonable hours for consulting - Opportunity to take on a lot of responsibility in junior roles given the small size of the firm

        Cons

        - Future of the firm is uncertain - High rate of attrition of consulting staff - Ineffective sales force - Lack of appreciation for junior staff by senior leadership

        Cartesian2018-04-19
      • "Great People, Interesting Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Cartesian full-time

        Pros

        People are fantastic, work is exciting and very analytics focused. Great opportunity to take on lots of responsibility at a young age

        Cons

        Leadership, management, and directional performance of the company are all sub-par.

        Advice to Management

        Mobilize

        Cartesian2018-03-06
      • "Technical Project Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cartesian full-time

        Pros

        work from home is nice

        Cons

        little opportunity for employees to move around

        Cartesian2017-10-02
      • Helpful (3)

        "Stay away"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Analyst in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Cartesian full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Company used to be a great place. Not anymore. New CEO and CFO are ruining company.

        Cons

        All senior people have left in consulting team. Office has been cut in half. Sublet office space to save money. Almost all new hires are leaving and looking for new jobs.

        Advice to Management

        Maybe hire a new management team is the answer. Otherwise company will not make it another year

        Cartesian2017-08-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Technical Project Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Various in Somerset, NJ

        I worked at Cartesian full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good People, all senior high caliber, work at home

        Cons

        Lack of opportunity to continue employment

        Cartesian2017-05-03
      Found 50 reviews