KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Castlight

Engaged Employer

Castlight

Add a Review

Castlight Reviews

Updated May 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 431 of over 467 reviews

4.3
78%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Castlight Chief Executive Officer Maeve OMeara
Maeve OMeara
85 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

385

57 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Castlight and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Castlight

    May 17, 2022 - Tier-1 Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Castlight has an amazing work culture and really looks after their employees

    Cons

    No gym discounts in their benefits for certain employees, which is strange for a Healthcare company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent culture and people with an opportunity to drive innovation in healthcare and wellbeing

    Jan 19, 2022 - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • The corporate culture and focus on employee wellbeing is one of the best I've experienced • Recently announced merger with Vera Whole Health and new private equity investment which should provide more of an opportunity to drive additional innovation in healthcare and wellbeing • Excellent company paid benefits for employees, and good compensation for the industry

    Cons

    • Employee Turnover: There's been a lot of employee attrition recently, and it appears to be due to the organization's need to innovate its product offering, strategy, and skillsets • Structure: Because of legacy acquisitions and employee turnover, there's somewhat of a siloed environment with a lot of inefficiencies that could use more structure and increased collaboration between teams • Culture: While it's my favorite part of my experience so far, it's not for everyone. Colleagues are nice and respectful, but expectations are high and the organization is demanding more accountability, measurement, innovation, and prioritization. I enjoy this, but it is not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent company to work for

    Mar 23, 2022 - Senior Manager, Business Applications in Sandy, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Compelling vision to fix healthcare. Great leadership team. Very supportive and caring management. One of the best companies I've ever worked for. The culture truly is amazing and diversity and inclusion is not just a mantra, but something very tangible here.

    Cons

    Sometimes we seem to be a little understaffed for the number of projects we tackle. We run lean and mean and get a lot done but occasionally I'd like a few more resources. I'm also not sure about career ladder progression yet as I'm fairly new. I think they could do better by having more frequent yet smaller promotions.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place I've ever worked. Truly.

    Dec 8, 2021 - Quality Coach in Sandy, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve been at other companies that talk a lot about growth within the company and culture and this is actually the first place I've truly experienced that. It is so genuine here. The leadership just wants you to succeed professionally and personally and gives you so many tools and resources to be able to do so. They have a lot of faith in their employees that has really stood out to me. Stock, competitive pay, tools and resources, lots of perks, and fantastic benefits

    Cons

    Honestly, they've been too lenient on employees that aren't pulling their weight and it's really hard to get fired (some think that's a good thing but there needs to be a better balance). This has started to negatively affect those that do show up but I feel they've taken this feedback seriously and have already started taking corrective actions. (but are still empathetic to giving people a chance and actually care if the reason they aren't performing well is because of personal hardships)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Castlight Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to fostering an environment where we listen to our employees, reflect on our operations, and continue to work on ways to improve. We are happy to hear about your positive experience and look forward to partnering with employees to make Castlight a great place to work!

  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great colleagues

    Apr 28, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great set of people to work with.

    Cons

    Company focus was not clear at that time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Probably not worth your time

    Mar 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good mission. Some good/smart people.

    Cons

    Many people managers and product managers are unqualified and/or consistently underperform. Some of them are internal transfers that didn't have any previous experience in management or product but got promoted due to favoritism, company loyalty, or being "Yes men/women" (i.e. fake positivity, blind obedience). Little to no raises. I actually make less now than when I started, accounting for inflation.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, awesome benefits

    Feb 23, 2022 - Assistant General Counsel 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the trust the company puts in you to excel in your work. Benefits are also very generous

    Cons

    Benefits are great, but the high deductible plan for employees living outside of California is a bit outrageous!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Working here

    Apr 13, 2022 - Senior Technical Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay and would be willing to work with you on your schedule.

    Cons

    The company made a big move to another state.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company overall, some frustrations

    Nov 5, 2021 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I felt very supported by my direct team. I liked the folks I worked with, and I felt generally people cared about each other and wanted everyone to succeed. Hours were good, aside from a few expected busy periods I rarely worked late and had a ton of flexibility in when and how to get stuff done. Benefits are great.

    Cons

    Some teams had a very narrow view on what they owned or had a role on which made collaboration very frustrating at times. The company functioned like an early to mid stage startup in some ways (scrappier than they should have been at this stage) but then were super bureaucratic in others. Pay felt below market (again, not a startup but acts like one in some ways)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Change of pace employer

    Jan 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company offers outstanding benefits, it is a progressive and inclusive workplace and leadership does its best to take care of the workforce.

    Cons

    There is not nearly enough cross departmental communication.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 431 Reviews

Castlight Reviews FAQs

Castlight has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 467 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at Castlight to a friend and 74% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Castlight employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Castlight. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

78% of Castlight employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Castlight 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Castlight to be career development, benefits, senior leadership and the cons to be management .

Popular Careers with Castlight Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Castlight? Share Your Experiences

or

Castlight Careers

Cover image for Castlight

Castlight is on a mission to make it as easy as humanly possible for people to navigate the healthcare system and live happier, healthier,...More

  • Benefits
  • Mission & Values
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Castlight

290 days ago

Company News
Castlight Health Expands Presence in India with New R&D Operations Center in Hyderabad
Shared image - Castlight Health Expands Presence in India with New R&D Operations Center in Hyderabad
Castlight Health Expands Presence in India with New R&D Operations Center in Hyderabad
www.castlighthealth.com

Castlight Photos

+ Add Photo
Castlight photo of: Castlighters are One Team, On a Mission, Making Things Happen
Castlight photo of: SLC Customer Center of Excellence
Castlight photo of: SLC Customer Center of Excellence
Castlight photo of: SLC Customer Center of Excellence
Castlight photo of: SLC Customer Center of Excellence
Castlight photo of: SLC Customer Center of Excellence
Castlight photo of: Salt Lake City Customer Center of Excellence
See All Photos