Castlight Reviews | Glassdoor

Castlight Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 306 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Castlight CEO John Doyle
John Doyle
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture is extremely important to me, and Castlight's flat organization, smart people and strategy brings it together for me(in 23 reviews)

  • "Benefits are fantastic and Unlimited PTO makes me feel empowered to have a healthy work life balance(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are some growing pains due to the recent merger and the fact that the product is still changing(in 22 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is worst I have ever seen(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "An evolving company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Castlight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing and fun coworkers, competitive compensation, admirable mission. I am happy coming into work each day and truly feel like exciting times are ahead!

    Cons

    I do understand some of the more negative reviews on this site, but feel that is inevitable in any company that has gone through as many changes as Castlight has over the years. I feel confident those difficult times are largely behind the company. As a newer employee, my only con is that there are sometimes frustrating gaps in internal processes and infrastructure that are surprising for a company that is well past its...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue (and over-invest) in communicating through a variety of channels, especially in regards to the vision, mission, and culture.

    Castlight2019-06-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Gambled on Jiff & Lost. Sell or bust."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Castlight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    + 1 star for benefits (fully paid insurance premiums, generous mat & pat leave, unlimited PTO [job & manager dependent]) + 1 star for career growth & opportunity (although much of this opportunity comes from attrition and layoffs)

    Cons

    - rushed & ultimately failed on the due diligence & integration of the Jiff acquisition which led to extreme mismanagement of people and operational chaos. over two years in without combined engineering stack, teams, systems, and processes and still no cohesive vision from management for how to fix (spent an entire year trying to implement an OKR system only to rip it out and disband company OKRs) - ineffective...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management & HR are aware of all of the issues but are unwilling to address them for fear of destabilizing an already precarious company prior to a sale (the sole focus of SLT at this point). Unfortunately, this inaction fosters a toxic environment where employees feel unsafe, unprotected, overworked, stuck, ignored, and, worst of all, devalued. An event beyond their control (loss of another top 5 customer [lost...

    Show More
    Castlight2019-06-15

    Castlight Response

    June 18, 2019

    Thank you for mentioning our generous benefits and career growth. Both are important to Castlight, and we take pride in what we offer. We have a highly transparent culture and are very open about sharing company and people strategy to all employees. If anyone has issues, they are ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Solving important problems and moving fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Implementation Services in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Castlight full-time

    Pros

    -lots of opportunity for growth -great product making a real difference -impressive customer base -leadership invested in growth and team development

    Cons

    -ongoing post-merger pain points -siloed knowledge on legacy teams

    Advice to Management

    invest in employer brand - we're doing really interesting and exciting things in the market and are the leaders in our space, but that doesn't come across to prospects and current employees through existing channels. continue to obsess over our customers and our users - product will stay competitive if we don't cut corners and remain endlessly curious about our end users

    Castlight2019-05-21
  4. "Good Product and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Castlight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -lots of sales enablement tech -great leadership/management -good pay/benefits -the Castlight App!

    Cons

    none really, there are challenges but those come with any sales gigs

    Castlight2019-05-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Castlight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quality work environment and a nice location. The company vision is admirable.

    Cons

    Office politics often get in the way of working across teams to get results. Managers are almost universally more concerned about receiving credit for team success and disguising or deflecting problems.

    Castlight2019-05-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "User Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Castlight

    Pros

    Lunch, great co-workers, room for growth.

    Cons

    Castlight Support would succeed tremendously if the partnership with C3i EP could be deprecated.

    Advice to Management

    Discontinue ties with C3i, expand Charlotte support office, and allow employees more opportunity paths for growth within Castlight.

    Castlight2019-04-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Castlight full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great product, employees highly dedicated to the mission.

    Cons

    Within the CSM group lack of clear direction, structure, and support from management team hampered success.

    Advice to Management

    Within CSM - Improve employee on-boarding, account management skills training, and management training.

    Castlight2019-04-07
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Fun people, mediocre company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Castlight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great mission, solid benefits

    Cons

    Complete and utter disorganization. No solid direction, room for mobility, or continuity between teams. When I joined Castlight I knew it was a startup environment, but I thought they would have developed some sense of process and organization

    Advice to Management

    The companies mission is fantastic, but prove to us how we are helping people. We cant sell employers on the solution if you cant get your employees bought in as well.

    Castlight2019-03-22

    Castlight Response

    March 26, 2019

    Thank you for your review and positivity around our great people, mission, and benefits. We have a clear, published direction, and we review progress with employees every quarter in our all-hands and CFO blog. Last year, we achieved cash-flow positivity due to our operational ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work! Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Castlight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Environment is collaborative and supportive. Competitive compensation, great benefits, well stocked kitchens, great coworkers, open floor plans, amazing culture!

    Cons

    None, nothing negative to say. So far so good!

    Advice to Management

    None

    Castlight2019-02-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative but unfocused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Castlight full-time

    Pros

    Cool product, smart people

    Cons

    Too many changes, office is super quiet

    Castlight2019-02-21
Found 306 reviews