Caterpillar Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Caterpillar CEO Jim Umpleby (no image)
Jim Umpleby
588 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, work life balance(in 345 reviews)

  • "Gaining Good Technical Knowledge, Good Pay and Increment(in 236 reviews)

Cons
  • "Peoria IL is not a good loction(in 146 reviews)

  • "Upper Management refuses to admit their own faults(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "CAT Digital is great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome location downtown Chicago. Using state of the art cloud technologies and tools. Using modern software development practices. A lot to learn from Sr Technical Leaders. Sr management understands how software should be developed. Flexible work schedules.

    Cons

    Deadlines and deliveries are tight. No beer on prem.

    Continue reading
    Caterpillar2020-02-21

    Caterpillar Response

    February 21, 2020Vice President, Cat Digital

    Thanks for sharing your comments and experiences in Cat Digital. I agree that we have some great technical leaders, and I’m happy you’re able to learn from them. Unfortunately, no beer! -Ogi

  2. "Good company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Engineer Specialist-Dev/Res in Peoria, IL

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and good benefices

    Cons

    Now complains until now so far.

    Caterpillar2020-04-13

    Caterpillar Response

    April 20, 2020Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your Caterpillar experience. We are glad you have found a work/life balance that works for you. Thanks for being a valued member of Team Caterpillar!

  3. "good place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Repair in Montgomery, IL

    I worked at Caterpillar full-time

    Pros

    set hours and decent pay

    Cons

    the factory closed and moved down state

    Caterpillar2020-06-03
  4. "Stable Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Project Team Leader in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable company. Lot to learn. Good people to work with.

    Cons

    - low compensation. - Low upward movement

    Continue reading
    Caterpillar2020-05-31
  5. "Good experience working for Caterpillar."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Development Engineer in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working with coworkers make work enjoyable.

    Cons

    Frequent management changes lead to ever changing goals and long term strategies.

    Continue reading
    Caterpillar2020-05-29
  6. "Great Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checking Analyst 

    I worked at Caterpillar full-time

    Pros

    Time off and pay were the best things about working here. Annual bonus based on company performance as well.

    Cons

    Business was like a roller coaster. Sometimes great, sometimes not.

    Caterpillar2020-05-26
  7. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Caterpillar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation, excellent work/life balance

    Cons

    Cyclical Industry, The cow jumped over the moon.

    Caterpillar2020-05-22
  8. "Not what it once was . . ."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in East Peoria, IL

    I worked at Caterpillar full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, GREAT people!

    Cons

    No longer value manufacturing; Very poor decision making when cost cutting needed; Company is more stockholder friendly, but no longer the company it once was for employees. Corporate goal was to become like the rest of the industry, and it has unfortunately done so.

    Caterpillar2020-06-05
  9. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learning opportunity, work with high performance team, leader are open to idea

    Cons

    Some older people are old-fashion, not open to change, causing some difficulty to work with.

    Continue reading
    Caterpillar2020-05-22
  10. "Caterpillar Inc Outsources"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Freight Team Analyst in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caterpillar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Local job, friendly co-workers, flexible hours

    Cons

    Being let go do to outsourcing

    Caterpillar2020-06-04
Found 3435 reviews