Centon Reviews | Glassdoor

Centon Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
18%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Centon President and CEO Gene Miscione (no image)
Gene Miscione
9 Ratings
  1. "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Seabrook, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Centon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great money, no micro management

    Cons

    cost of product sold can vary do to cost averaging

    Advice to Management

    Allow regional managers to manage as they see fit

    Centon2018-11-13
  2. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great family environment and progressive company.

    Cons

    There were no cons

    Advice to Management

    Former employees that are critical of this company do not appreciate Gene Miscione and/or his daughters. Try being more supportive of the girls and appreciate the fact you have a job!

    Centon2018-07-29
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible management, no leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None to name. They buy the employees fast food the last day of every month. But would never consider sitting eating with them.

    Cons

    The condescending attitude and disrespect is to the extreme. It’s no wonder no one worth anything stays around. The “girls” expect you to work 24/7 and get mad if you don’t. They are immature, emotional, disrespectful and terrible leaders. Sales have continuously gone down since daddy left. It’s shocking they’ve made it this far.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up. Speak to your employees respectfully. Do some work! Coming in at 11, 2 hour lunches, constant vacations isn’t how owners run a business. This place is a joke.

    Centon2018-05-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Everything you read it's true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centon full-time

    Pros

    Great employees, I really enjoy most of the people I worked with and made friends with.

    Cons

    Hireable employers, you are stuck between 2 children who are constantly bickering and fighting and do not care for deadlines. No matter how much effort you place, it is useless and will be overseasn. Their mother is beyond controlling and will make you feel like a child with her way of "running the office"

    Advice to Management

    Get your dad involved before you ruin a good company.

    Centon2017-07-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "SMT Machine Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMT Operator in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I don't like that company....

    Cons

    The company is no good..

    Advice to Management

    It 's No Good..!!!

    Centon2017-05-01
  6. "Not worth your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Marketing in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centon for less than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot from this place in a short amount of time--small business so you have to do a lot which gives you good experience and cross training.

    Cons

    I was hired as a temp to hire employee; they over worked me, I literally gave them everything I had while I was working for them and at the end of my contract (when I was supposed to start making more) they let me go for 'budgetary reasons' whether they planned that from the beginning or not I'm unsure but I really would think twice before coming to work here. Listen to the glassdoor reviews; I should have.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better and don't hire people unless you're 1000% sure you can. Look at long term goals instead of looking at the short term ones.

    Centon2015-10-22
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Run don't walk away from this place!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Centon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing even the joke they call a paycheck is not worth the daughters kingdom that is built here. As others have noted on the Centon review this is the worst place in the world. The few people that think its ok are friends of the daughters or brainwashed at this point.

    Cons

    Having to go in to work and deal with all the useless crap from the "Rulers" that think its their own little world. If you have to beg on the street do that before working here. At least then you will have more self-respect at the end of the day and make more.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the girls and get real mangers in there...there was hope a few years back but that changed when the girls were the last two standing and ran everyone into the ground or out the door.

    Centon2015-10-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Disgrace to Woman Owned Businesses, running Daddy's money down the drain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learning multiple roles to take to a new career path.

    Cons

    Everything, from Micro managing to unprofessional decisions based on emotions. Illegal overtime practices, Company moral is always down. When the original owner (Daddy) ran the business, everything was in line. Once the precious daughters took over, the company started slowly facing financial hardship.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company, clearly it's not as successful as you both might think. Move on!

    Centon2015-10-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A good company ruined by original owners kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Freedom to sell using your own style. No micromanagement regarding selling over the phone or in person on outbound sales calls.

    Cons

    No sales support. They play favorites and play with commissions by using arbitrary product cost averaging methods.

    Advice to Management

    Current Owners should be able to make sales in the same manner as is expected by Salesforce. You cannot command respect if you are not able to do the same job you are asking sales to do.

    Centon2015-03-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Low pay, the company is facing many challenges."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I learned a lot. Got a broad range of experience in various functions.

    Cons

    Always low salary, no bonus or additional compensations. Poor IT infrastructure, servers and ERP system are always lagging. The industry of third party memory is also past it's prime. There is poor communication within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Focus only on product lines with higher margins. Trim the fat where there is excess and hire more people in the departments that need them. Pay vendors on time. Compensate employees better. Organize creative brainstorming sessions on how to solve the current challenges that the company is facing. Create events that will build rapport among employees. Accept and respond to constructive criticism.

    Centon2014-09-29
Found 16 reviews