Citadel Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Citadel Founder and Chief Executive Officer Ken Griffin
Ken Griffin
167 Ratings
Pros
  • "You are surrounded by smart people with different expertise and are constantly challenged by different projects(in 38 reviews)

  • "Fast-paced company with a huge investment in technology(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "highly intelligent people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you will work with amazing people and high impact tasks

    Cons

    all good things about my current position.

    Citadel2020-01-05

    Citadel Response

    January 6, 2020Life at Citadel

    We're glad that you're able to build your engineering career at Citadel based on our commitment to giving elite colleagues the freedom to innovate. We will continue to champion a culture where we continually earn the trust of colleagues like yourself and our capital partners. Thank you for your thoughtful review. Feel free to send any other feedback to me, Jonathan Blank (jonathan.blank@citadel.com), and I'll make sure it is sent to the appropriate people.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart and helpful colleagues. Management with vision and determination. Fast-paced environment that allows you to see the impact of work very quickly and being recognized and rewarded for it. Lots of learning opportunities and responsibilities, even at the junior levels. Catered food. Company has been more engaging with both employees and the community over the years through regular town halls and after-hour events. The responses to COVID-19, both in the US and abroad, have been swift and supportive. Lots of testing, planning and provision of resources made WFH much easier and more productive.

    Cons

    A few things that are more of a culture issue in the finance industry that can turn software engineers off: somewhat long hours, a bit hard to raise a family (company policy has improved but still lagging behind some competitors), opaque and unbalanced compensation scheme.

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-04-19
  3. "tough but fair"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time

    Pros

    Pay is very good relative to rest of Chicago.

    Cons

    Expectations are high and internal clients are very demanding.

    Citadel2020-06-03
  4. "Financial Analyst"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY

    I have been working at Citadel full-time

    Pros

    I liked that job most of the time

    Cons

    It was pretty stressful sometimes

    Citadel2020-05-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Difficult mgmt culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Treasury Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free lunch, very smart people, peers are typically great to work with

    Cons

    The pressure from up top is intense to say politely. You will never get a thank you for doing stellar work.

    Citadel2020-05-20
  6. "Competitive culture, fast paced, well managed"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    well managed, free food and good benefits

    Cons

    time demanding and sometimes highly stressful

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-05-07
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Soul crushing"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good technology. Some great investors.

    Cons

    Awful culture. Little diversity. Very high turnover.

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-05-26
  8. Helpful (6)

    "It is hard for women employees to give birth to children"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time

    Pros

    good pay and that is all.

    Cons

    (1) people work under high pressure and work 10-15 hours a day, no young women can stay here long because they have family plans. (2) they can fire you one day before they give you bonus which is half of the income. (3) sometimes manager uses curse words for other people

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-05-22

    Citadel Response

    May 26, 2020Life at Citadel

    We take all feedback on building careers at Citadel seriously. We’ll make sure your feedback is used to continuously strengthen our culture and career opportunities.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fast paced and pretty cutthroat"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Citadel full-time

    Pros

    Pay is well above average

    Cons

    Tech isn't as advanced as advertised. Top down management style. Work life balance blows. Management doesn't care about this at all.

    Citadel2020-04-15
  10. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance, and good pay

    Cons

    the location of office isn't the best for me

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-03-01
Found 264 reviews