KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ClearScore

Engaged Employer

ClearScore

Add a Review

ClearScore Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 85 of over 91 reviews
4.5
90% Recommend to a Friend
ClearScore CEO and Co-Founder Justin Basini
90% Approve of CEO

Found 84 of over 91 reviews

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
ClearScore CEO and Co-Founder Justin Basini
Justin Basini
65 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Smart people across most disciplines(in 18 reviews)
  • "Competitive salary, learning budget, cool people and cool new tech.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Amazing benefits.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Fantastic culture around being part of 'the family', regular team events and constant opportunities to feedback to upper management layers.(in 6 reviews)
  • "The leadership team has always been accessible and transparent but I was particularly impressed during the 1st COVID lockdown crisis.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "Career progression is also very dependent on your relationship with your Manager and their level of expertise.(in 3 reviews)
  • "It appears that at no point in time prior to returning feedback did anyone in the management or HR chain quality check (on a sensitivity level) the feedback.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very Cliquey, poor eq in some managers that can lead to a hostile learning & working environment.

    Aug 1, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good. Benefits are great. Senior management has excellent intentions and vision. Some potentially great career development opportunities.

    Cons

    - The feedback loop fails to include any safeguarding for employees receiving the commentary. I’m aware it has recently changed but there appears go be an internal appetite to allow ‘favourites’ to return feedback on employees without direct exposure to the person they are reviewing. It appears that at no point in time prior to returning feedback did anyone in the management or HR chain quality check (on a sensitivity level) the feedback. Often times prejudices and stylistic differences seemed to be passed off as professional misgivings. The business struggles with diversity of thought. - Probation is unnecessarily tense. It gives the impression that the business does not trust it's own hiring process. If employees will bottom out, it will happen with or without the anxiety-inducing process. Investment banks don’t even do this to their employees. - The business is struggling to pass knowledge across to new starters effectively. You tend to have to learn through mistakes, as opposed to having things explained. This would be fine if actions weren't being constantly assessed early one.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fab company to work for!

    Jun 8, 2022 - Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture Support Work is challenging but support is there

    Cons

    I don't have any cons for this company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ClearScore Response

    CEO and Co-Founder

    Thank you for taking the time for leaving a review. Everyone at ClearScore is so focused on delivering better outcomes for our users and I’m glad these challenges come with support. Thanks for your encouragement. Justin Basini CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Supportive culture that genuinely encourages career growth

    Jun 2, 2022 - Product Designer in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Regular user testing Clear career progression paths Supportive of working parents Competitive bonuses Nice canteen and roof terrace Regular events, parties and away days

    Cons

    The London office is in Vauxhall (a central london location would be more convenient) Often there is not enough available meeting rooms in London office

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ClearScore Response

    CEO and Co-Founder

    Thanks so much for leaving a review, I really appreciate you taking the time. I'm delighted that you mention the support for working parents amongst other things. We have worked really hard on this aspect of our culture. We are delighted that more and more parents are choosing to join us, and many more of our team are becoming parents for the first time! I love Vauxhall and Lambeth in general. I think it's one of the most exciting and brilliant boroughs in London (but then I have lived in Lambeth for many years!). And we really benefit from Vauxhall as a wonderful transport hub with overground, Victoria line, and Northern line (at Oval). We are in the process of building more meeting pods, rooms and spaces to ensure that the office becomes even more productive. Thanks again, Justin Basini CEO & Co-founder, ClearScore

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The best place to work

    May 20, 2022 - Middle IOS Developer in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Very competitive salary -Friendly environment -Flexibility -Work with the latest tech -Career growth

    Cons

    I can't think of something. Maybe there are some Cons for others but for me, I can't find any.

    1 person found this review helpful

    ClearScore Response

    CEO and Co-Founder

    Thank you so much for leaving a review and I am delighted that you are finding ClearScore a good environment for your career. That is so great to hear. All the best, Justin Basini CEO & Co-founder, ClearScore

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pretty good

    May 17, 2022 - Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Inspiring work, good tools, smart people

    Cons

    Can get stressful during crunch times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Top down management created an unpleasant working environment

    May 13, 2022 - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Plenty of clubs to join and social events happening - Colleagues were generally pleasant to work with - Flexible tech stack without rigid process to get things delivered - Easy onboarding

    Cons

    - Management was very top down, where there was no flexibility as a Product Manager to do what you thought was best for the product. Felt more like a Project Manager role. - High pressure environment focused on output rather than outcomes. It seemed that everyone was constantly under stress due to rigid deadlines. - Focused heavily on the 'financial wellbeing' element, i.e. doing right by the customer. But somehow tried to rationalise that selling more financial products meant they were doing right by the customer. I still struggle to see how selling more credit cards is an indicator a company is doing well for a customers financial wellbeing. - Long hours - Many of the cons did seem dependent on which team you were in.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    ClearScore Response

    CEO and Co-Founder

    Thank you for your review. The tech stack and onboarding are certainly strengths. Your experience certainly doesn't reflect the way that our Operating System is supposed to work. Let me explain. We have annual imperatives and a financial plan which are the result of our annual strategy process. There is lots of work across the team to formulate these plans. We then communicate transparently and openly with the whole team at the start of the year these plans. Then we have a "W planning" process that operates 3-4 times per year for each Mission (typically 1-6 squads) where each squad and mission can make their commitments. I am delighted that many of our recent features have come directly from teams operating in this model and certainly not top down, for example Our new dashboard, Affordability score and Open Banking. From your comments you seem to not have been able to reconcile that credit when used correctly and given our appropriately is a good thing. In the UK only around 1 in 10 credit cards swap every year, despite interest rates rising, because most often consumers don't know their options and prefers to stick with what they know. At ClearScore we are trying to make it easy for consumers to get the very best deal for their credit cards and loans. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review. Justin Basini CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company I have worked for

    Apr 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Open and transparent leadership team Founder who genuinely cares about people Profitable Invests in people and their careers Takes tech seriously Lots of fun Beautiful office

    Cons

    Honestly don't have anything to add here

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ClearScore Response

    CEO and Co-Founder

    Thanks for your review. I'm really glad that you are enjoying your time at ClearScore. Thanks for your comments about tech and the office. We have invested so much in these areas to make them good. Thank you. Justin CEO and Co-founder

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Culture and Career Development

    Apr 17, 2022 - Data Analyst in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong focus on person career growth , great diversity and inclusion with lots of activities and clubs to get involved in, flexibility with working hours and location, very positive culture with enthusiastic and smart colleagues.

    Cons

    Chaotic pace due to growth acceleration and hyper-focus on revenue targets, salary good but not entirely competitive, depends on your preferences but sometimes can be a bit cult-like with a lot of social events revolving around alcohol consumption.

    2 people found this review helpful

    ClearScore Response

    CEO and Co-Founder

    Thanks for your balanced review. We are scaling very rapidly at the moment and there is no doubt that this is challenging for all of us. We are trying to put a lot of emphasis on our mission, good onboarding and alignment but it can feel chaotic at times - even for me! The vast majority of our social events and clubs (last quarter there were over 50 different events) almost all of these have no alcohol involved. Our end of race parties do have alcohol to drink if you want but it is personal choice and certainly not required. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review. Justin Basini CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A hard working, positive and supportive working environment

    Apr 5, 2022 - Customer Operations Specialist in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ClearScore are very supportive of their staff and reward hard work. Even customer operations agents were encouraged to collaborate and help grow the product working on development of processes and collaborating with other teams such as developers. The company has a very sociable outlook and staff are encouraged to take part in social clubs and activities which really helps to forge relationships across the business.

    Cons

    Personal development is a major part of the way ClearScore operate. This is in no way a negative thing, but there can be a fair bit of additional work when it comes to appraisals etc, therefore, you need to be able to strike the balance between getting the job at hand done, and spending time on your development. If you are the sort of person who just wants to go in to work, get the job done then go home, it's probably not the right environment for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing for my career

    Mar 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Excellent career progression. - Very inclusive environment which celebrates individuality and different backgrounds. - Fun, dynamic place where you can make friends as well as work. - Smart people who care about each other. - A lot of respect for flexibility, family time and work life balance despite the high pressure environment. - Since investment, the business is doing really well financially so there's resource to play with and exciting investments. - Huge push for D&I initiatives over the course of the last 2 years has been genuine and refreshing.

    Cons

    - At times it can be chaotic with so much going on and the high speed growth means they're trying to do a lot with very little time. - The business seems to have outgrown the few leaders that are still there from the early days. New leaders hired in the last couple years are much more experienced but there is still legacy from the start.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ClearScore Response

    CEO and Co-Founder

    Thanks for your review and especially for highlighting our push for D&I which is, and continues to be, a major focus for all of us at ClearScore. We are growing very rapidly and therefore I recognise it can feel chaotic and stressful at times. We are bringing in talent in every function and at all levels to help manage this growth. Thanks again, Justin Basini CEO & Co-founder, ClearScore

Viewing 1 - 10 of 84 Reviews
</>Embed

ClearScore Reviews FAQs

ClearScore has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5, based on over 91 reviews left anonymously by employees. 90% of employees would recommend working at ClearScore to a friend and 82% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, ClearScore employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at ClearScore. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

90% of ClearScore employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated ClearScore 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.6 for culture and values and 4.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at ClearScore to be benefits, senior leadership, career development and the cons to be management .

Popular Careers with ClearScore Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ClearScore? Share Your Experiences

or

ClearScore Photos

+ Add Photo
ClearScore photo of: ClearScore's 2019 team photo
ClearScore photo of: Friday afternoon in the park
ClearScore photo of: Hitting 3mill users
ClearScore photo of: Clearscore lunchtime football
ClearScore photo of: office environment
ClearScore photo of: Molly the office dog
ClearScore photo of: Team lunches to celebrate new starters
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 91 ClearScore reviews submitted anonymously by ClearScore employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if ClearScore is right for you.