ClearVision Optical Reviews | Glassdoor

ClearVision Optical Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
ClearVision Optical CEO David Friedfeld (no image)
David Friedfeld
18 Ratings
  1. "Great family oriented company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ClearVision Optical full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful people, Fulfilling work, Family atmosphere

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    ClearVision Optical2018-10-26
  2. "Engineering intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ClearVision Optical part-time

    Pros

    Good work and great company culture throughout

    Cons

    Wish pay for intern hourly can be better

    ClearVision Optical2018-11-12
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ClearVision Optical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great intern class- which I only wrote because Glassdoor requires a minimum of 5 words.

    Cons

    This place is extremely unorganized and there is no communication. ClearVision tries to be a "cool hip startup" but it is more like a cult. There are "family" meetings where the CEO gets on the microphone and preaches while everyone cheers his name. Not even kidding. I worked here as an intern and was offered a full time position upon graduation. I declined and ran far far away. You should too.

    ClearVision Optical2018-11-06
  4. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearVision Optical full-time

    Pros

    Family oriented and invests in employees

    Cons

    Not much to say here

    ClearVision Optical2018-07-25
  5. "Love ClearVision!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearVision Optical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at ClearVision for a few years, and I really cannot think of a better place to work! Management and HR are always seeking new ways to boost employee engagement and get people involved.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons to working at CVO!

    ClearVision Optical2018-04-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Go work here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ClearVision Optical full-time

    Pros

    Great company , Great Management team, Just a lovely place to work

    Cons

    There really isn't anything to put in this section

    Advice to Management

    Really nothing negative to say

    ClearVision Optical2018-04-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearVision Optical full-time

    Pros

    Really amazing place to work! Great culture, great people = great experience! It's not often you can say that work is a fun place to be - well it is at CVO! Family friendly atmosphere with great opportunities to try new things and get involved.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints!

    ClearVision Optical2018-03-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Talent Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearVision Optical full-time

    Pros

    Warm, family-owned company Financially secure with great employee tenure Open communication and focus on input from everyone Fun, spirit activities year-round Wellness events onsite Dynamic intern program with appreciation for mentoring Continuous training and career development opportunities Ways to get involved and meet people from every business area Caring sense of community; huge philanthropic... efforts Selected as a Best Company to Work for in NY State for past 4 years

    Show More

    Cons

    Work hard, play hard atmosphere. May not be a fit for every individual.

    ClearVision Optical2018-03-02
  9. "A really great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearVision Optical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Freedom to make decisions. Opportunities for additional training. Unique culture with emphasis on fun and philanthropy. Top management that cares for their employees and you are encouraged to be open and honest. Customer service is taken very seriously and our customers notice and appreciate it. Most employuees are top notch and truly great people. Many women in management positions!!! Very diverse... population.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for advancement. Ideas are always encouraged but rarely implemented because of heavy workload and time constraints. Some managers are unfriendly.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you David and Peter for everything.

    ClearVision Optical2018-03-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "An Optical Company with Modern Tech Startup Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Hauppauge, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearVision Optical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I tell people I work at an optical company, they ask me "Well, aren't you a software developer? What are you doing there?" Let me answer! + The CEO and other managers are very open to new ideas and improvements. This eventually translates to our team in form of cool projects such as new building apps, websites, and sometimes even video games! Variety and flexibility of projects allow us to experiment with... new technologies, and this is just what a young developer needs! Moreover, we get to do this in a startup-like open office environment that is very relaxed and nice. + CVO is a very playful and colorful place, so again, this means even more cool projects and a lot of fun meetings about both the company and self-development. + In CVO you are valued as a person. They understand your personal needs and issues and try their best to work with you on them. I am sorry some people here on Glassdoor are not having the awesome experience me and my teammates are having. Doing what you love to do is the key to happiness. Hope they also find jobs that align with their passions.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Sometimes certain due dates and planning on some projects become a little blurry causing them to either take too long or just slowly disappear. - The company is not closed on some holidays like other companies, but they make it up by giving you more PTO and comp days that are more flexible and useful when you think about it.

    Advice to Management

    I and everybody I've met here seem to be very happy with the culture and honesty that has been established a long time ago. Keep it up!

    ClearVision Optical2018-02-20
Found 30 reviews