Cloudera Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Cloudera President and Chief Executive Officer Rob Bearden
Rob Bearden
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Has a GREAT reputation in the Big Data world(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, Open culture, free lunch(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with all start-ups that go IPO, there are some growing pains and there is a need to roll up sleeves(in 30 reviews)

  • "Too much work, work life balance not very well(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Company, Amazing products and leaders, but COVID-19 sucks!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Customer Success Manager in Inverness, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    open source, amazing management, smart team mates

    Cons

    no cons, other than Covid

    Cloudera2020-05-15
  2. "Lot of potential"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has good, smart people and decent products

    Cons

    Ever since the Hortonworks merger, the company seems to struggle with finding it's future direction. COVID-19 hasn't helped matters. Will be interesting to see how the company does once things settle down.

    Cloudera2020-05-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "used to be great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Curriculum Developer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cloudera has super smart people at the individual contributor and first line management levels. There is a collaborative atmosphere. People are quick to help one another out. The technology is interesting. The pay is good. Untracked/unlimited time off is great.

    Cons

    I worked at Cloudera for many years and used to love it. However, the culture started changing when they merged with Hortonworks in 2019, and went downhill quickly when the new CEO, Rob Bearden, took over. Now it feels like employees are considered cogs in a machine and work-live balance is no longer a concern. Even a year after the merger, priorities are in disarray and communications are chaotic.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-05-31
  4. "Great place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and work life balance. Excellent salary and benefits. Fun place.

    Cons

    The changing of CEOs consistently.

    Cloudera2020-05-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Potential for greatness hindered by politics"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cloudera full-time

    Pros

    Product. potential. some great people

    Cons

    Every organization plays politics but some teams at Cloudera can play out like a high school drama. Intimidation - jealousy - arrogance. If you can keep up with sticking up then you may have the chance to climb the ladder. Just look out behind you

    Cloudera2020-05-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Slow road to value"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Services Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cloudera founders are almost all gone. Thanks goodness! They have plenty of cash on hand so can afford to make some mistakes.

    Cons

    Cloudera seems to have taken the worst aspects of its culture forward with the Hortonworks acquisition. That has served to destroy both the human side of the culture as well as shareholder value.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-05-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Game-changing market opportunity, immature leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Product Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly industry-defining opportunity to be Red Hat for scalable Data Platforms

    Cons

    Leadership too caught up in their own hype and not building the right alliances to win in the long term

    Cloudera2020-04-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Two companies merged in still two companies."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I do believe that over the past year management has made staff selections whereas they did keep the best of Hortonworks and Cloudera.

    Cons

    While choosing the best of the best was the right move, unfortunately the cultures still don't mix, even a year later. Teams are not working together as a unit. Some team members are quick to claim credit for an idea or project when the concept was suggested or created by another team member.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-04-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not sure about the new CEO"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Specialist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved my boss and all the benefits Cloudera has to offer.

    Cons

    Cloudera got a new CEO 5 months after I started working there and I was laid off a month later. I don't think the ink was dry on Robert Bearden's CEO paperwork and he was already laying 150 people off.

    Cloudera2020-02-27
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Arrogance and ignorance drive this company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Missed the boat on any pros

    Cons

    Arrogance historically rewarded Lost cause Cross functional alignment non existent Abortive merger a sign of misguided management Lack of cloud strategy This company is 5 years behind due to aforementioned cons.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-04-06
Found 395 reviews