Clover Reviews | Glassdoor

Clover Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
John Beatty
26 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great Company. All the pros of a startup with the"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Really nice people. Awesome culture. - Upper mgmt responsive to org problems. Also responsive to issues like catching up on tech debt. - Lot of growth. Lot of potential for career growth. Used to be very flat, but that is changing out of necessity. - Tons of perks and great benefits. - Exciting work since so many things are changing and improving - Most of the pros of a startup, but with the financial backing...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Growing pains transitioning from "start-up" to a mid-sized company. Growing in areas of ownership, SLAs, policy, procedures, standard services and all that boring stuff that is absolutely required to prevent chaos in a company larger then a startup. - Some of the managers are on the less-experienced side compared to the standards of larger companies. - Need tech updates in ops and such. Another growing pain. Most...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward with plans to unify the teams, offer standardized services/tech, and push quality.

    Clover2018-11-08
  2. "Great company with good work culture and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and 100% health benefit + matching 401k

    Cons

    The company is growing, wish they are bit more organized

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Clover2019-04-14
  3. "Great Culture, Nice Coworkers, Below average pay, Slightly unfocused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - great culture - coworkers are really nice

    Cons

    - slightly unfocused. We get saddled with a lot of distractions that don't actually help us own any particular customer or space. - below average pay

    Clover2019-05-07
  4. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Payments industry is in a pretty exciting phase and clover is one of the very involved companies driving innovation in payments. Clover's work ethic and atmosphere is very encouraging and positive. Good work is recognized. New ideas are entertained.

    Cons

    Work load is pretty high and pay range is avg.

    Clover2019-04-21
  5. "A little too eager, not enough plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Benefits, people, work environment– everything is great. Our CEO is passionate about the company and our products and sets himself apart from our parent company, First Data, who typically only care that money is being generated.

    Cons

    Lots of the time it seems that we'll build something just because we can, or because First Data sees a business opportunity and push it out into production. The lack of foresight and attention to detail raises a lot of complaints from our community and creates more work for everyone.

    Clover2019-03-25
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation & Benefits Office environment and perks Small enough company that individuals can make real meaningful change Support to try new things Great products & customers Good people

    Cons

    Growing quickly, running out of space. Management is working on this. Growing pains moving out of start up mode, requires some uncomfortable organization

    Advice to Management

    Communicate changes. I think the management does its best to be transparent, but is constantly moving from one thing to the next so things slip. Make it a priority to communicate.

    Clover2019-03-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Needs a culture face-lift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time

    Pros

    - fun projects - easy to switch projects

    Cons

    - no upward growth at all - really bad tech culture - 10 years behind any tech company in terms of tech Clover faces a real problem with it's engineering culture. A few people hold all the power and all decisions must pass through them. Teams aren't allowed to experiment with new technologies unless it goes through a technical review. The problem is the technical review is by people who don't want change, and also...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Add more levels between exec staff and between directors (more managers per team). Separate out decision making powers, remove certain people having instant veto power. Give in to technologies that big companies we're using 5 years ago. Create a way for individuals to grow and be promoted.

    Clover2019-03-18
  8. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Exciting things to work on Immense growth potential personally and also for the company Free lunches Amazing insurance Flexible PTO

    Cons

    There was one year when things changed too fast and the culture eroded a bit. Now back on track and productivity and culture has improved tremendously

    Advice to Management

    Careful with recruiting too aggressively and loosing the culture at Clover

    Clover2019-02-19
  9. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Evangelist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -welcoming environment -keeps all team members up to date with company progress and changes regardless of remote or onsite role -user friendly technology that is unique and customizable in comparison to competitors -CEO is frequently engaged with employees

    Cons

    First Data partnerships makes on boarding a bit complicated but this has been improving over time.

    Advice to Management

    Expand HR to assist were FirstData falls behind for account assistance. Continue to do a great job making employees always feel like a part of the team.

    Clover2019-02-13
  10. "Thoughtful, collaborative, innovative place where bottom line matters too."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Product Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clover full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Smart people. Great leadership. Opportunities to work in multiple locations; travel to collaborate.

    Cons

    Being under the corporate ownership of First Data can be stifling at times.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes the anti-FD attitude can feel like an excuse.

    Clover2019-01-28
Found 40 reviews