Compound Photonics Reviews | Glassdoor

Compound Photonics Reviews

Updated June 29, 2018
31 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Stephen Woo
2 Ratings

31 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Mechanical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Compound Photonics full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    lots of fun very energetic

    Cons

    none really good place to work

    Advice to Management

    Thanks


  2. "Good place to work for, but not perfect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compound Photonics full-time

    Pros

    I learned so much at this company. I had really great co-workers and managers.

    Cons

    Didn't like the rumors that spread around. That created anxiety in the workplace and employees are afraid of layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Please be open in communication with your employees.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Sr Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compound Photonics full-time

    Pros

    A few good people, the engineering manager was low dress, interesting small projects, not high pressure.

    Cons

    Poor company management and product focus. A manager who likes to drop F-Bombs and kicks defensless gargage cans that can't kick back. Arrogance in some coworkers.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Compound Photonics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It is so nice to work in an environment where experience is appreciated as is an open exchange of ideas. Management is flexible with working hours when necessary and my overall working environment is positive and encouraging.

    Cons

    There seems to be a lot of turn over right now and that is quite concerning to me and some of the employees that I've spoken with.

    Advice to Management

    The company needs to focus on their objectives and communicate to everyone what the objectives are and how we are going to achieve them.

    Compound Photonics Response

    Dec 21, 2016

    Thanks for both the feedback and the positive review. It’s terrific to hear that you find the CP work environment to be collaborative in nature and appreciative of your experience. As you’re very... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good people working on interesting technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Compound Photonics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Engineering teams full of smart, driven, friendly people
    - Interesting, promising technology based in physical sciences
    - Start-up atmosphere where individuals take initiative, responsibility, and ownership (at least here in Vancouver)

    Cons

    - Benefits could be more competitive
    - Executive team went through substantial changes in recent months and could be faster to refine the company's direction
    - The exact culture tends to vary across sites

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on accountability, producing viable products, and positioning the company in a way to be more competitive.

    Compound Photonics Response

    Aug 9, 2016

    Thanks so much for giving us this feedback. You’re correct in that over the last few months we’ve gone through a transition period. Our corporate direction has been outlined for the company and will... More


  6. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    Pros

    The HR staff, specifically Tim R., helped me tremendously when I approached him with a couple of issues. He continuously strives to help each time asked.

    Cons

    There seems to be a fairly constant turnover in employees for some reason, although I haven't found any particular reason why.

    Compound Photonics Response

    Aug 9, 2016

    Thanks so much for this feedback and Tim – along with our entire HR team – is no doubt a terrific asset to the CP team. Issues are not meant to be ignored or disregarded as mere inconveniences... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compound Photonics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good team and nice and smart coworkers. We also have nice location and ice cream social on end of sprint.

    Cons

    The upper management keeps changing target. It seems that we lack a good strategic planning on the top layers.

    Compound Photonics Response

    Sep 13, 2016

    Thanks for this feedback. We certainly appreciate all insight from our employees and are glad to hear that you enjoy the socials! If you’d like to anonymously leave more detailed feedback, please... More

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Maybe....Someday..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compound Photonics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy place to work, if you can handle the slow pace. There appears to be some folks not pulling their weight and that causes undue stress on others

    Cons

    Communication of company direction is non existent, the silly news letter that goes out is just fluff. Website has products no one is working on and generic stock photo's. The "vision" is lost

    Advice to Management

    Nothing that has not been said before.

    Compound Photonics Response

    Jun 17, 2016

    The Compound Photonics newsletter was created to provide team members with specific news and information on our commercial developments taking place at the company. Recent highlights include a... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "My Perspective of Compound Photonics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Systems Administrator in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Senior IT Systems Administrator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Compound Photonics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have been working for Compound Photonics for a little over 2 years. I feel the negative reviews on this site do not accurately reflect the culture or atmosphere that exists here. This is a great Company, and while it has it's short comings, I don't know of a single company that doesn't have any short comings.

    The Management team, especially my reporting manager have been extremely supportive and I feel they care about me as an individual, they understand the work life balance and are flexible which has really helped me and my family with recent life events.

    The Company I feel is committed to providing the tools necessary to the success of the company. I see this everyday as we are constantly helping different teams get the resources they need to accomplish tasks at hand across all our locations.

    If you come to work for us, be sure to come down and say hello to IT we enjoy getting to know the new faces at Compound Photonics and knowing what we can do to help.

    Cons

    This is a startup atmosphere, plans change and often very quickly. Sometime change comes before the communication, but if you like a fast pace and ever changing environment, then that wont be much of a con. It can be exciting and challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Keep us informed, and if possible it would be nice to get to know the executive management team better, either through site visits or all company meetings, or maybe just a news letter.

    Compound Photonics Response

    Mar 23, 2016

    Thanks so much for the strong review and we’re glad to hear that you’ve had such a positive experience with Compound Photonics thus far. Regarding your Advice to Management, we recently announced a... More


  10. Helpful (8)

    "Thinking about leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compound Photonics full-time

    Pros

    Great people I work with, heard not so much in other groups. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Company changes direction with out ever making a product that is able to be marketed. I don't know how any company can do this and still be in business. Never any chance to advance. You make what they hire you in at and never any advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Start doing ranking and rating to give the people who have worked hard the chance to advance and make more money.

    Compound Photonics Response

    Apr 13, 2016

    Hey there. It’s unfortunate to hear that you’re considering leaving the company and we hope that you’ve spoken with your managers and/ or the HR team about your career advancement concerns. Our... More


Showing 31 of 32 reviews
Reset Filters