Connection Reviews | Glassdoor

Connection Reviews

Updated February 22, 2017
141 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.7
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Timothy McGrath
58 Ratings

141 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • This spilt accounts between reps and moving forward some reps made out better than others based on their "new" book of business (in 3 reviews)

  • It's a dial and smile place with lots of cold calling and little lead generation (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "anonymous"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connection full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for and earn opportinty.

    Cons

    I don't see any cons at this place.

    Advice to Management

    There's high quality managers who work here.

    Connection Response

    Jan 4, 2017 – Marketing Programs Associate

    Thank you for your review regarding your work experience thus far at Connection.


  2. "Surprised"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Wilmington, OH
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Wilmington, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connection full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good people, seemed nice and wanted to help.

    Cons

    Low starting pay. $10.40 to start. Other company's in area including staffing company's start out at least $12.00 an hour doing the same work. Was told you got an increase in pay for the different job's you learned, didn't happen. Lots of turnover due to low pay. Takes two weeks to get started at job, I turned down a couple jobs waiting. One of which when I quit, I went to work for..

    Advice to Management

    If I need to give advise to management, then they aren't in turn with their employee's..You figure it out. Employee's will stay and work hard if they are paid decent for their work.


  3. "Entry level foot in the door to technology world"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    With this job you get the ability to network well with other companies like HP, Dell, Apple, etc which provides invaluable sales experience

    Cons

    The company is old fashioned and not very transparent. They do not allow work at home privileges for all employees so it is frustrating during snow storms because they also do not close. They also have a 18 month non compete rule

    Advice to Management

    Need more flexible hours for all employees. Our customers are all across the US yet we are stuck coming in at 8:30 and leaving at 5:30. It should be staggered to accommodate our west coast customers

    Connection Response

    Feb 15, 2017 – Marketing Programs Associate

    Thank for your feedback on Glassdoor. As you mentioned, you do get to work with many leading technology companies. While not every role is conducive to working remotely, we continue to evaluate ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Circus"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Wilmington, OH
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Wilmington, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connection full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    It is a job, for beginners.

    Cons

    The Manager was just fired for sexual harassment, the Director is an inexperienced narcissist, and this location as a whole has no aptitude for organizational needs, or employee relations.

    Advice to Management

    Hire Management with experience. Not rednecks from your highschool.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Be aware..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Merrimack, NH
    Former Employee - Business Development in Merrimack, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connection full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    If you have a good manager, and a strong work ethic, this might work for you.

    Cons

    There's a work hard/play hard mentality which is great if you/re 22. Way too many vendor events after hours in which inappropriate behavior is the norm

    Advice to Management

    invest in your people, not vendor programs

    Connection Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Marketing Programs Associate

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that you did not find your work experience positive at Connection. We will look into your comments to better understand how we can improve. We do ... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stuck in the past."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Manager in Merrimack, NH
    Former Employee - Sales Account Manager in Merrimack, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connection full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hours are good, benefits are good. Pay for sales is decent if you have no experience and are just starting out but this is not a place for those with experience. Free lunches, raffles and annual trips. Good opportunities to take on other positions within the company if sales isn't your thing.

    Cons

    For Sales the pay is only good for those who are new in the business or those who are in the top 10% of the company. For everyone else this place just isn't worth the money they pay. Depending on your territory your management team could be good or it could be terrible. No real "leaders" just micro-managers who are puppets of the directors. Internal systems are incredibly outdated and slow. Reps are often pulled in many different directions which take time away from doing what you are supposed to do. Sell. There is some potential here but this is a culture that doesn't do well with change. The sales floor can be very toxic with all of the negativity and this starts with management. A lot of gossip and not a lot of professionals who just want to work. Be prepared to cold call all day long. If that is not your thing, look elsewhere. They track each call and will occasionally listen in on your calls without you knowing. Good for some folks but terrible for others.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers who are leaders. Managers who can lead, inspire, motivate and be tough when needed. Managers need to focus on making Connection a positive environment once again. And update those awful systems they are painful to use.

    Connection Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Marketing Programs Associate

    Thank you for your feedback.There is plenty of opportunity as you suggest to earn excellent compensation and career progression at Connection. We recognize it does take time to build a portfolio ... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Connection full-time

    Pros

    Leadership team is strong. Good people.

    Cons

    Commission structure is dismal. Slow to adapt to market change. System extranets do not meet customers needs or wants.

    Advice to Management

    Upgrade the systems

    Connection Response

    Jan 11, 2017 – Marketing Programs Associate

    Thank you for your feedback on working at Connection. Connection provides a compensation structure for Account Managers by providing a bridge for the first several years as new Account Managers build ... More


  9. "Account Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connection full-time

    Pros

    Everyone around me is so helpful and willing to teach all the tricks of the trade. My team is smart and very outgoing.

    Cons

    Too soon to name cons

    Connection Response

    Jan 11, 2017 – Marketing Programs Associate

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you have had a positive work experience thus far at Connection.


  10. "Happy Account Manager, room for improvement."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OHIO in Wilmington, OH
    Current Employee - OHIO in Wilmington, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    As an account manager we are very well taken care of and appreciated. 3 weeks of vacation starting out! Flexible.

    Cons

    Very little to no margin to uplift for commission. Our prices can be beat by anyone. The constant call monitoring feels very invasive. Especially to hard working deticated employees. I could understand if there was an issue or for perioic review. Internal technology is lacking.

    Connection Response

    Jan 3, 2017 – Marketing Programs Associate

    Thank for your feedback. We are glad to hear you feel positive about our work culture and vacation benefits. We recognize for newer Account Managers it takes time to build your book of business. We ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Favoritism"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Connection full-time

    Pros

    If you negotiate a good starting salary it's great or if you kiss a lot of butt you will get lots of raises. Nice Christmas party.

    Cons

    Favoritism is from the top starting with the CFO, if you are liked you can do whatever you want no rules for you. If not I'm afraid there will be all kinds of rules to follow.

    Advice to Management

    Stop over paying employees that do little work but are favored. You are wasting a lot of money especially on upper management that have no experience at the jobs given to them and are paid as if they had a masters. Treat all employees equal before you get sued by someone who will not settle.

    Connection Response

    Feb 1, 2017 – Marketing Programs Associate

    We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive work experience at Connection. We strive to have employees evaluated on the merits of their performance. We do not condone favoritism as your ... More



Showing 141 of 142 reviews
Reset Filters