Cook Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Cook Group Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Cook Group CEO Kem Hawkins (no image)
Kem Hawkins
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Study Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cook Group full-time

    Pros

    Engaging work environment that put the patients we serve first.

    Cons

    I have no complaints thus far

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cook Group2018-08-16
  2. "Biostatistician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cook Group full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment Open space office Good manager

    Cons

    Hard to change or add new things to the process

    Cook Group2018-10-19
  3. "Always improving processes and policies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cook Group full-time

    Pros

    It is a small scale CRO-equivalent company that you could get various experiences. Nice work-life balance. It has a typical midwest conservative and local culture.

    Cons

    Not enough layers for promotions. Executives lacks management skills or career guidance for their team members.

    Advice to Management

    Try to put more efforts into recognizing each team member's strengths and weaknesses, then assign different roles and give guidance for improvements/developments.

    Cook Group2018-10-11
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Management has checked out; sinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cook Group full-time

    Pros

    Good cafeteria, good health benefits

    Cons

    Terrible salries, low work place benefits, management has checked out and everyone is leaving to other companies such as Eli Lilly. Company not expected to last too long

    Advice to Management

    Provide more benefits and raise salaries to industry standards.

    Cook Group2018-10-15
  5. "Ethics and Compliance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company that deserves that attention of any professional.

    Cons

    Only compliant I would ever have about Cook is the compensation.

    Cook Group2018-07-02
  6. "Working in a main building"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Group

    Pros

    This is not a good company to work for I don't understand people.......

    Cons

    Is not a good company to work for.... Is not a good company

    Advice to Management

    Yes I did then I got fired.. This is a SAD company to work for..

    Cook Group2018-02-15
  7. "Excellent organization with a mission you can connect too!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you place high value in building relationships, working hard, a dynamic culture, being challenged to do your best work, accountability, integrity, ethics, and connecting to a mission of “patients first” then Cook and more specifically, Cook Research, is a company that you can excel in.

    Cons

    There are opportunities to improve at Cook Research just like any other organization. It’s never absolutely perfect anywhere. What you can count on though is that with a change in leadership over the past few years has come a change in placing high value on the giving and receiving of feedback. Communication is critical in overcoming challenges. Not just leaders, but employees also, need to own and respect their... role in helping to make a everyday better.

    Show More
    Cook Group2017-12-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Little organization, unwilling to fix or replace old software, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Lafayette, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cook Group full-time

    Pros

    You get to tell people that you work in the "research park"

    Cons

    I was hired for an area requiring the use of tracking software, but I immediately found the software they used was more than 20 years old and almost never worked. Management refused to do anything about this not only making my job impossible, but also making it difficult for others. There was a definite nonchalant attitude towards lab management and coordination of resources. Nothing was ever where it was... supposed to be, and the labs were even messy. Basically it was impossible to get anything done even if their software worked. In addition to the dysfunction, it felt like a cult. Here, nothing exists in the world outside of COOK. It was a microcosm for everything bad about working in a giant corporation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None. Management will pursue their agenda without regard for anything else, even at the expense of basic functionality.

    Cook Group2017-12-17
  9. "Let the Leaders Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cook Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and good quality of life. Important work being done.

    Cons

    There are some strong leaders in senior management but they are not allowed to lead. Slaves to a corporate culture that long ago left the station. No opportunity to thrive or be recognized for your talents unless you are in the inner circle.

    Advice to Management

    Some good managers and directors on staff, please let them lead. Make changes to remove the managers and director that can't or will not lead.

    Cook Group2017-08-02
  10. "CRI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cook Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great people. - Good work-life balance. - Good place to gain some experience - On-site cafeteria with excellent lunches.

    Cons

    - Not many opportunities for upward movement.

    Cook Group2017-05-02
Found 24 reviews