Corbion Reviews | Glassdoor

Corbion Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Corbion CEO Tjerk de Ruiter
Tjerk de Ruiter
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, mostly good people with mostly good environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, competitive pay, solid work experience(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very Dutch management culture for an international company(in 5 reviews)

  • "The constantly changing organization yields low morale and weariness(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "This is excellent for all workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 

    I have been working at Corbion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment and helpful in training

    Cons

    The environment is hot sometimes

    Corbion2019-05-31
  2. "I enjoyed my 14 years with the organization in the food industry and am looking for something more meaningful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corbion

    Pros

    Some of the people I worked with and the customers I serviced.

    Cons

    Not given enough resources or support to do what was right for my team.

    Advice to Management

    Need to change the culture to fit what the customer really wanted versus what they thought the customer needed.

    Corbion2019-07-16
  3. "Customer comes first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Corbion full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent products, Consistent, Market Leader! Produces all over the world.

    Cons

    Very good company when it was Caravan, however since Caravan was bought out, things have changed, in the past, Corbion was a Sales driven company, now its Market & Manufacturing driven, customer comes last! Takes too long to create new products. Constantly changing goals.

    Advice to Management

    The customer needs to come first. The small customers are important too!

    Corbion2019-07-19
  4. "Depends on department and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corbion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and nice people

    Cons

    Overtime and management is sometimes difficult

    Corbion2019-07-01
  5. "Corbion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Supervisor in Totowa, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Corbion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management staff who listen and share ideas with supervisors and union/non-union employees alike.

    Cons

    Gets really hot in the warehouse during the Summer months.

    Advice to Management

    To be more hands on.

    Corbion2019-04-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Zero Trust - Always Questioning Your Value and Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corbion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Flexible schedule (salaried employees). Opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    Opportunities to learn because so much has to be 'figured out'. Not much guidance or direction from management, but if something goes wrong, management is first to point fingers. Management seems to be in self-preservation mode and always looking to cut headcount to boost their own bonuses. No trust in management - lots of secrecy. Inflated egos ruining what could be a good place.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people. Spend real time with them. Try mentoring and listening to employees. Toxic work environment will not be improved with threats and intimidation. Egos need to be checked at the door.

    Corbion2019-05-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Corbion full-time

    Pros

    Corbion is customer and employee focused

    Cons

    Dutch owned and controlled. Lots of disfunction with the US office.

    Corbion2019-01-02
  8. "Supportive Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Corbion full-time

    Pros

    Supportive lab environment and good cross-department communication

    Cons

    Multiple managers that had different priorities.

    Corbion2018-10-15
  9. "No corporate structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Corbion full-time

    Pros

    pay and benefits are ok and comparable to local markets

    Cons

    No corporate support at remote facility's . No senior leadership present No chain of command poor safety policies an 0 engagement . A lot of investment to work here with little return

    Advice to Management

    Check on your smaller plants there are inexperienced people that are going to run business in the ground and get someone hurt or killed

    Corbion2018-07-23
  10. "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corbion full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work for

    Cons

    The management changeover could be a little better

    Corbion2018-06-15
Found 59 reviews