Core-Mark Reviews | Glassdoor

Core-Mark Reviews

Updated June 9, 2018
273 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tom Perkins
110 Ratings

273 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "good place to work with great people around" (in 15 reviews)

  • "good pay good benefits, with nice building and new equipment" (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, not much promotional opportunities" (in 21 reviews)

  • "There is little or no work/life balance" (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Lubbock, TX
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    excellent managers. Work my own hours and am very appreciated. When you give of yourself, do what you are paid to do, you will be rewarded in life. I had a career and am now 60 and needed to slow down, and this albuquerque division is awesome. I wish I found this company years back. I see my family always, and that is important to me and my manager. She is always checking on me from afar.

    Cons

    I see stress level high at times with drivers. I hope this gets fixed so problems do not roll down to all. I do love this company, not really any cons if you know what to do, and do your job.


  2. "Top Notch Route Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Truck Driver in Eureka, CA
    Current Employee - Commercial Truck Driver in Eureka, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    What an amazing career!!! I love the job and the people I deliver to. Started this job late in life, wish I'd started earlier

    Cons

    Same problems every company has, communication, warehouse loaders.. Wish I had an opportunity to move into management, but our area doesn't have any

    Advice to Management

    Respect the employees that take care of you. The ones that show up and do there job 100 pecrcent no matter what...

  3. "Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Gardiner, ME
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Gardiner, ME

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Not good Communication and how it’s run

    Core-Mark Response

    May 31, 2018 – VP of HR

    Thank you for your feedback.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Stocker in Hanover Township, PA
    Former Employee - Stocker in Hanover Township, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Core-Mark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Physical work; decent high-deductible health plan option for single people; yearly company picnic & monthly catered lunches.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime hours; crude management style; lack of adherence to safe work environment and facilities to protects workers' health; extremely poor treatment of injured workers; lack of job security; no payout of sick time.

    Advice to Management

    Train supervisors in basic management practices; adhere to industry-standard work practices to protect workers from injury.

    Core-Mark Response

    May 31, 2018 – VP of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that your experience at Core-Mark did not match our intentions.


  5. "great local job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Driver in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Route Driver in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    home daily, above avg pay. great equiptment

    Cons

    always looking for ways to cut cost, and it generally affects the drivers. ex: the company did a re-route to save money. we went from 5 day work week to four. they combined our routes and added another route, then cut our pay to keep us at the same salary. so more work for the same money. and instead of 5 10 hour days, its now 4 14+ hour days.

    Advice to Management

    downsize the amount of supervisors and cut costs in a different way. when you take from the drivers its never good. remember they are the backbone of the company!

    Core-Mark Response

    May 31, 2018 – VP of HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We have an open door policy at each Division and encourage you to reach out to anyone on the team to voice your feedback.


  6. "great pay for local job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Core-Mark full-time

    Pros

    great pay, benefits, management team is great, HR is very helpful and full of energy

    Cons

    long work days, strenuous work

    Advice to Management

    great job

    Core-Mark Response

    May 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback!


  7. "Dysfunctional Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Core-Mark (More than a year)

    Pros

    I wish there was some

    Cons

    Deceitful when you are on a interview for the job

    Advice to Management

    Poor communication and bad training starting with management

    Core-Mark Response

    May 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that your experience at Core-Mark did not match our intentions.

  8. "Worst company to ever work for .I get tired of hearing your understaffed that’s a management issue ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Picker in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - Picker in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Core-Mark full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    None at all if I could think of some I would .They advertise 14.00 then you show up and they offer you 12.00.

    Cons

    Low pay ,long hours,unsafe be careful working safety mangers always watching like a hawk .To many idiots have hurt themselves or broke of fire sprinklers on the ceiling with there fork lifts .

    Advice to Management

    Stop adding more accounts and over loading the people that have been loyal to you .Pay more .Get better management .

    Core-Mark Response

    May 16, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that your experience at Core-Mark did not match our intentions. If you would like to share more about your experiences, please... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Garbage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LTO in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - LTO in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Core-Mark full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    None none none none none

    Cons

    Sorry as management to many family members

    Advice to Management

    Go straight to hell

    Core-Mark Response

    May 16, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that your experience at Core-Mark did not match our intentions. If you would like to share more about your experiences, please... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Core-Mark full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There are some good customers to work with.

    Cons

    Micro managed,not respected by management,low pay,long hrs.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue and treat your employees better.

    Core-Mark Response

    May 16, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that your experience at Core-Mark did not match our intentions. If you would like to share more about your experiences, please... More


Showing 273 of 279 reviews
Reset Filters