Core-Mark Reviews | Glassdoor

Core-Mark Reviews

Updated October 12, 2018
291 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tom Perkins
117 Ratings

291 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The benefits are good and the 401k match is good" (in 16 reviews)

  • "good pay good benefits, with nice building and new equipment" (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, not much promotional opportunities" (in 22 reviews)

  • "There is little or no work/life balance" (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great hours, great team members, union benefits,

    Cons

    Union restricts you from gaining a job title and increase of pay. Everything is in the contract and it is very binding.

    Core-Mark Response

    Oct 9, 2018 – HR Director

    Thanks for your feedback!


  2. "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser
    Current Employee - Merchandiser
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Supervisors and customers are generally pleasant.

    Cons

    Schedule is unpredictable. Workload can be punishing.

    Advice to Management

    Wished there was more opportunity for staff development.

  3. "Admin Assisant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    At core-mark they are flexible with what hours you are working.

    Cons

    Some days it gets boring because the work is repetitive

    Core-Mark Response

    Sep 25, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for your review!


  4. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some coworkers are great
    Free food and company events

    Cons

    Employees have no idea what they are doing
    Some talented individuals surrounded by many who are barely getting by

    Core-Mark Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – HR Director

    Hi, thank you for your post and for being a valued employee. I would love your feedback on how to make Core-Mark a great place to work. Please contact me at any time, my email is... More


  5. "Ok for time being"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Core-Mark full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good pay but you work for it.

    Cons

    Home balance
    Supervisiors don’t listen

    Advice to Management

    Nothing they don’t listen

    Core-Mark Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – HR Director

    Hi, thank you for your post. We would love your feedback on how to make Core-Mark a great place to work. Please contact me at lauren.norris@core-mark.com.


  6. "Geat Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Supervisor in Lenexa, KS
    Current Employee - Transportation Supervisor in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Salary is competitive, benefits are great and opportunities for advancement within the company are widely available

    Cons

    Still catching up with the times when it comes to computer technology. But advancing in the right direction daily

    Advice to Management

    Listening is the key to communicating

    Core-Mark Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for your review!


  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time

    Pros

    Friendly & family-oriented culture, strong values at senior levels in the company

    Cons

    Behind the times technologically, so some work tasks are harder than they have to be. Decentralized company, so not every location has the same great culture

    Advice to Management

    Look to automate to make our jobs easier, hold all leaders accountable for living the values & get more consistency between locations

    Core-Mark Response

    Aug 15, 2018 – VP of HR

    Thank you for the feedback. The Company is leaning in heavily to technology upgrades across many functions. Big things are coming!

  8. "Night Warehouse Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great people!
    Great product.
    Procedures are good.
    Pay is good.
    Supervision is goid.

    Cons

    Lack of security for night time.

    Core-Mark Response

    Aug 15, 2018 – VP of HR

    Thanks for the feedback. Safety and security are a big priority for us. Please send the location to lauren.norris@core-mark.com and we will follow up accordingly.


  9. "Pickline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pickline Worker in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Pickline Worker in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Core-Mark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy money, low maintenance job, friendly workers

    Cons

    Long hours, some rude employees

    Core-Mark Response

    Aug 27, 2018 – VP of HR

    Thank you for the feedback. We offer a competitive wage and great benefits to our employees. It is a great job with upward mobility for those that want to make the role a career.


  10. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Selector in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Former Employee - Order Selector in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Core-Mark full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I learned to not waste years working for a bad company.

    Cons

    I've learned recently, for when you give your two weeks notice, to make sure you get in writing from HR when your last day is supposed to be and that you honored those two weeks, so that way they can't lie saying you're not eligible for rehire for untrue reasons. If you're a favorite of management's then you get away with anything (i.e go home on time or earlier while other people stay 2+ hours, take long breaks and lunches, stand around bs'ing with management while everyone else works, Have cell phones on them, not follow dress codes and have nothing said to them, etc) . Unsafe working conditions (I.e broken pallets used with four skids of totes on them, resulting in totes falling on us, especially when they're stacked too high. You're looked down upon whenever you need to leave the line to use the bathroom. Good luck if you ever need to call off because they will do whatever it takes to get you to come in, even if it's a family emergency, they do not care. Place is not climate controlled. They have small fans on the lines in 90 degree weather. Management and HR are a big joke. Management is not professional at all, use foul language, spend most time outside smoking while everyone else slaves away. It's an uphill battle if you ever have an issue with a manager because they're all tight with HR and higher management. Totes that get sent out to store can be disgusting (I.e bugs, wet from rain snow, filthy). Mandatory overtime; you don't leave until all the orders are sent out (unless you're one of the favorites). No appreciation from management working 12 hr days. It's no wonder they lose accounts. I can go on and on.

    Core-Mark Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – HR Director

    Hi, I am so sorry to hear this review. We are sorry that your experience at Core-Mark did not match our intentions. If you would like to share more about your experiences, please contact me at... More


Showing 291 of 298 reviews
Reset Filters