Cosmopolitan Magazine Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 87 reviews

4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I learned a lot about the publishing and communications world and I feel it helped better prepare me for my future in writing!(in 4 reviews)
  • "Staff was great and treated the interns like people unlike some internships .(in 4 reviews)
  • "Hers Magazine was a great place to do my first internship.(in 4 reviews)
  • "friendly people(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work

    Oct 27, 2021 - Freelance Writer in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great editors and team--I felt like I could pitch ideas freely and felt supported by my editors.

    Cons

    I enjoyed working here. No cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun Experience

    Oct 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I definitely think that being a photo or art intern was one of the best internships at Cosmo. We got to spend time at photoshoots and contribute to the magazine in more ways than other interns I'd say. Going to photo shoots was fun and we got to take advantage of some of the happy hour/events that they'd do in the office. And the best part is definitely the free table of products that have either been reviewed or shot for the magazine.

    Cons

    No payment, which is typical but still sucks.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    love it

    Nov 23, 2020 - Social Media Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great work enviorment and great people

    Cons

    I have nothing. bad to say

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    say they support women but don't practice it

    Oct 21, 2020 - Writer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free beauty products, swanky office

    Cons

    long hours, unsupportive management, serious lack of diversity and constant racism

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great

    Feb 26, 2019 - Social Media in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool! I loved it, literal dream

    Cons

    None! It was really great

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Work here, but be prepared for the abuse.

    Mar 29, 2018 - Designer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They do have an incredible creative cultivation. Their high bar for design as an ambitious brand is a great place for young designers to learn how to create great things under pressure. Raises the level of nonsense you are able to deal with in an office environment. If you read cosmo and fit into that culture, you will most likely enjoy your time working there. It is a great place for a very specific culture of people to thrive.

    Cons

    Abusive supervisors (gas-lighting, verbally abusive, bullying, general cattiness). Managers are hired internally based on how good they are at ingratiating themselves to the Chief Editor and not based on actual experience managing a team or dealing with the skill-sets of said team. There is absolutely no director of operations so almost all of the computers are at least 1-2 years out dated, which can have a huge effect on employees who have to work with incredible speed.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    A Cog in the Wheel

    Dec 26, 2017 - Art Director in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you get a National title to work with, the talent level is top notch

    Cons

    Don't expect too much appreciation from corporate for your efforts.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Like the Devil Wears Prada without any of the glamour

    May 18, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You learn a lot about the industry very quickly because you have to to survive. You get to see the inside workings of how a magazine is run.

    Cons

    If you are in a lower level position you are treated terribly. No one acknowledges your work and you will always be the first in last out. 75 hour work weeks are normal. You will be told to just figure it out, and have impossible expectations to meet.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Welcoming Environment

    May 15, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really great group of women and men who are more than willing to impart knowledge, fast-paced environment

    Cons

    A lot of changes were happening in upper management during my time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Hearst is an incredible parent company

    Apr 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's an incredible collection of talented, smart women.

    Cons

    As soon as traffic dropped (through no fault of anyone's), it became a very difficult place to work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

Cosmopolitan Magazine Reviews FAQs

Cosmopolitan Magazine has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 87 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at Cosmopolitan Magazine to a friend and 77% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Cosmopolitan Magazine employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Cosmopolitan Magazine. This rating has improved by 11% over the last 12 months.

78% of Cosmopolitan Magazine employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Cosmopolitan Magazine 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Cosmopolitan Magazine to be management, benefits, career development and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, work life balance.

Popular Careers with Cosmopolitan Magazine Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cosmopolitan Magazine? Share Your Experiences

Cosmopolitan Magazine logo
or