Course Hero Reviews

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Course Hero CEO     Andrew Grauer
Andrew Grauer
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, you work with your own schedule, there's bonuses(in 28 reviews)

  • "Knowledge drive is a cool philanthropic initiative(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "People worried that they may get in trouble for uploading documents(in 18 reviews)

  • "I have worked for coursehero for two weeks(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      A supportive, friendly place to do your best work

      Jan 4, 2021 - Senior Designer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Great pay, benefits and perks • Rewarding industry and product to work in/on • Friendly atmosphere - not high stress, no egos, no politics • Flexible work culture • Given the ability to make a direct impact on product and ship things I had a chance to join two major Bay Area tech companies but went with my gut and chose Course Hero because of the vibe and people. And I'm so, so glad I did that. Been working remotely the whole time since COVID but it's been great even so. After being here for a little bit I've noticed there are some real veterans - people who've been here 7+ years. Now I see why - it's pretty fantastic, like a best-kept secret company to work for.

      Cons

      • I legit can't think of anything. Not a single thing.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      May 13, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You feel thought of as an employee ex: moving to work from home during covid was tough but we had small touches like snack boxes sent to our doors. Friendly coworkers: Never met anyone unavailable to help

      Cons

      Some bad press around being a website for cheating.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome Company To Work For!

      Apr 2, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Get to work on what you want and they are flexible -Great perks and compensation (really competitive) -Great/awesome people who are always willing to help -They have lots of different activities here and there to keep their employees occupied. -Get to learn alot and they are using up to date technologies -No standups

      Cons

      It's still a mono repo in the front end, but it's not too bad. I think in the future it will split up into micro repos.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Edtech Company with Huge Upside

      Mar 31, 2021 - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Everyone believes in the company mission and want to change education for the better - Diverse & Inclusive - Cares about employees - Profitable - Extremely accommodating during COVID pandemic - A lot of low hanging fruit to improve the product experience, individual impact potential is very high here

      Cons

      - Product-market fit is not quite as well defined as other edtech companies in the industry - Unclear how much company growth is attributable to schools being remote

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It's not just a job, it's where I belong

      Feb 18, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is the best company I have worked for, hands down, the people are amazing, the culture is amazing, the office is superb, there is literally no down side. Trust me, if you get the opportunity to work for them, just go for it!

      Cons

      They are stuck in my head and I think about them every time I am sad of something at work. Like that one ex that got away and you always think about them every time you have a fight with your current bf/gf and you are thinking: "I left Course Hero for this ??!"

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      There really is no catch - it's as good as it seems

      Mar 15, 2021 - People Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Incredibly kind, thoughtful and intelligent people - Business is really healthy - Benefits that make you feel valued like COVID holidays, WFH stipend, desk set up, etc. - Empathetic leadership team - Real work life balance & respectful of family time I kept waiting for the catch but there is none!

      Cons

      Honestly I can't think of any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Apr 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really cares the employees while have lots of room for us to grow.

      Cons

      I can not think of any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Ethically minded company with good benefits and fantastic CEO

      Jan 21, 2021 - Program Manager in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at Course Hero for 2 years. I was continually impressed by Course Hero's sincere desire to look out for its employees, its customers (students), and the greater education world. They accomplish this in many ways--volunteer hours benefit; massive donations to charitable causes; frequent symposiums for students and educators; and of course, great benefits and flexible schedules. Also, a special shout out to Andrew Grauer, the CEO. He is the most available CEO I've ever worked with. He isn't some mysterious and far away presence employees rarely, if ever, see. He is part of everyday life, knows all the employees, and participates passionately in their projects.

      Cons

      The company can be somewhat siloed when it comes to departments. It reminds me of being in high school and each subject is categorized and isolated, even though there is tremendous overlap. What ends up happening is that departments have less incentive than they should to work together to achieve goals. If your project is not in their budget, why should they allocate their limited resources to working on it. A solution to this would be to have more cross-functional departments that are tasked with supporting everyone. And that really does mean everyone. Every department needs engineering, yet it often feels like an entirely separate part of the company. Same goes for marketing, growth, and others. Also, the company should build cross collaboration into programs and job roles, not just assume it will happen. It sometimes felt like there was constant competition for limited resources, so less prioritized programs would have a higher change to fail, not because they weren't good ideas but because no one had made them a priority among shared services. If the company is going to create programs, it needs to commit to supporting them. Otherwise, it is creating a self-fulfilling prophecy. All that said, these are issues most companies face, and Course Hero has shown a desire to improve.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 29, 2021 - Machine Learning Engineer in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong on values, amazing leadership

      Cons

      growing pains with scalable processes

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A unicorn with a heart, that can help you grow if you have a growth mindset

      Feb 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great company values and transparency across the organization - managers will help you grow if you show initiative, eagerness, and dedication - lots of opportunities to work on projects you are interested - fast-growing, very successful, and cash liquid

      Cons

      - typical growing pains of a start-up going from ~150 to 300+ employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 131 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Course Hero Job Seekers

    Tutor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Course Hero? Share Your Experiences

    Course Hero logo
    or