KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CreditCards.com

Part of Red Ventures
Is this your company?

CreditCards.com

Add a Review

CreditCards.com Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 19 reviews

3.5
43%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
CreditCards.com President  Rodney Sims (no image)
Rodney Sims
3 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots changing, things are looking up.

    Sep 10, 2016 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started working at CCCOM in Austin toward the beginning of a deluge of changes that have transformed the tech department. We have a lot of legacy code around here, and various management-level logjams have ben broken since then, so we are modernizing our tech stack (and hiring people!) as fast as we can. That means lots of fun new toys, chances to have your voice heard in architecture discussions, and frequent releases to score "wins" as a team. And the teams-- the tech department is growing, vibrant, friendly, fun, and ambitious. Our fearless leaders, Kamelia, Todd, and Paul, are actively setting things up so we can grow and succeed. Some great new benefits were also recently introduced. The new remote work policy frees me up to travel more, and the company will reimburse me for high-quality professional development training.

    Cons

    At the software engineer level, I see two big things that affect morale negatively. The first is legacy code-- you may occasionally be beckoned into a haunted house. Prepare to remember words and software versions you haven't seen in 5-7 years. That sucks, but it's going away as fast as we can kill it. Second is shifting product priorities. As we work to remediate technical debt, we also have to respond to market imperatives. Every team has had their priorities turned on a dime at one time or another. It can be frustrating, but we all understand, and most people here are buoyant enough not to let it bring them down. The new priority is usually interesting in its own way.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    good place

    Jul 20, 2021 - Senior Data Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good for me so far

    Cons

    none of that i know

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    3y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    2,919

    248 Comments

    Join the conversation on
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good vibes

    May 26, 2021 - Editor in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    relaxed atmosphere good vibe and nice people.

    Cons

    not very transparent with what the future holds.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fine place to work

    Oct 22, 2020 - Writer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked with great people, my feedback was valued.

    Cons

    The company was bought out.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not what it used to be

    May 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some teams have great cohesion - Can be an ok place to work if you're just starting out your career

    Cons

    - CreditCards was a great place to work before they were acquired. It went downhill after that - Compensation is poor. Most places in Austin offered me 10-15k more. Bonus plan sucks and no equity - CreditCards was acquired by a company in North Carolina called Red Ventures. If you're not in NC it's hard to progress or shine in the company. It's especially harder to be hired or move into management level positions if you don't live or are willing to move to NC

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Felt like a hostile takeover; became a toxic environment with low employee morale

    Sep 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a long-established, profitable company which has been purchased by a much larger, established, profitable company. If you are a young professional or fresh out of college who fits in with Red Ventures culture, you will do well.

    Cons

    The new parent company tends to be insular, very bossy, highly centralized, and ignores dissenting expertise that come from outside HQ. Company culture borders on tribal, even cultish, which has made for a difficult transition since the buyout. Leadership tends to be domineering and top-down while being all smiles and professing to be free of hierarchy. Because the parent company is based in the Carolinas, they have difficulty grasping the cost of salaries and real estate in Austin. This has negatively affected staffing levels and compensation. The Austin office will lose its bonus plan and transition its benefits to the parent company’s in January 2019. Everyone with knowledge of the business or industry in Austin has been fired or quit. Almost no senior-level talent remains. Thanks to layoffs and attrition since November 2017, the Austin office is now approximately 45 people, down from 120. Any feedback provided by the Austin office to the parent company tends to result in combative, defensive responses from HQ.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Growing pains, but overall solid place to work here in Austin

    Aug 31, 2016 -  in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Smart, capable individuals who want to see the company succeed. CreditCards.com provides opportunities for team building, and community volunteering. They are supportive of career growth and reimburse continuing education as well as certifications you are interested in pursuing. Stocked kitchen is always a plus.

    Cons

    There have been lot's of changes due to our growth and previous acquisitions. It seems there is a lack of communication between departments and geo-offices. Company goals/roadmap could be better communicated so everyone is aligned.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic company to work for

    Mar 11, 2015 - Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly, helpful, fun staff: you will love all of your coworkers here. I'm not even joking. The age range is vast; there's some really young people and on up. Fully stocked kitchen: I know this is almost a given now around Austin, but they have the best mix of snacks and food of any company I've worked for, from super healthy all the way to "I feel like I'm back in college" foods. And it has a beer fridge! Great benefits: We're all adults now, right? Good benefits that don't break the bank are important, and they have them here. Growth potential: This is what turned me off to quite a few companies that I interviewed with prior to settling here. At CC.com you can see the advancement opportunities for your role, regardless of department. And if climbing the corporate ladder isn't your thing, they are really big on further education and professional growth as well. They send people to conferences, trainings, etc. and aren't afraid to pay for materials you need to get your job done well. Location: I know most people wouldn't consider working in N. Austin a perk as most want to be downtown or South Congress, but I love working up here. Coming from further south (but still north of the river) I don't have to fight traffic to get here or home, there are plenty of food options around, and shopping nearby - Whole Foods, the Domain, etc. Work/Life balance: Work stays at work. As far as I can tell, people don't really take work home unless they really, really want to get that thing done. But there is no pressure to and your boss isn't breathing down your neck wondering what you're doing every second of the day or why you're not at your desk at exactly 8AM.

    Cons

    The only con, and this does come down to personal preference so you may or may not consider it one, is that things are moving rapidly and everyone is trying to learn and create better processes along the way. If you like fast paced environments where you'll learn a lot, screw up, fix it, and be a better person for it - you'll love it here! If you prefer an already set structure, rules and procedures, etc. - you won't so much. This company requires a certain degree of flexibility and the people who work here thrive on that.

    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    ExcellentTeam!

    Jun 9, 2016 - Editor in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CreditCards.com has a great work environment, providing volunteer opportunities, free food and a great work-life balance. People stay with the company for years, and for good reason. Great team, fun work. They've also just started allowing people to work part of the time from home, which is terrific. They are also good about promoting from within.

    Cons

    The only con is that space is cramped right now because of the growth, but that could actually be seen as a positive!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great colleagues, convenient location

    Mar 28, 2013 - Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In the right department, coworkers help each other, regardless of rank. The CEO and most VPs are approachable and are reasonable. Free food.

    Cons

    Some department heads appear to "take sides" unnecessarily, hindering progress. Bankrate, the parent company, isn't trustworthy: backstabbing; buck-passing; share-hoarding executives. Change happens slowly

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with CreditCards.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CreditCards.com? Share Your Experiences

or