DialogueDirect Reviews | Glassdoor

DialogueDirect Reviews

Updated November 8, 2017
184 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
DialogueDirect CEO Mike Wakeland
Mike Wakeland
92 Ratings

184 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • This job is a great opportunity to make money and gain experience (in 6 reviews)

  • Develop phenomenal communication skills (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • Aside from the physical demands of standing for long hours, it's definitely worth the opportunity to meet new people (in 11 reviews)

  • 10/hr base pay for an incredibly exhausting job--physically and mentally (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great opportunity and learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    I've learned more about communication and marketing at this job than i have in earning a bachelors degree.

    Team/Family oriented culture where you genuinely feel like everyone wants you to succeed

    The people that work at DialogueDirect are incredible, an opportunity to make life long friends

    If you have a student mentality, work hard and focus, you will be successful

    You actually feel like you're making a difference in the world.

    Work Trips are the best and so much fun!

    Cons

    This is a face-to-face canvassing job where you will be standing for 8 hours a day asking people for sustainable donations under any weather condition.

    It's amazing how terrible some people on the street are

    Advice to Management

    This job at times is mentally and emotionally draining. A few people i know have gotten verbally/physically assaulted by the public and not much compassion was shown from upper management. You tell these kids that "it's a mindset" but it comes off more like "repress it". And some of the stuff that we have dealt with is not okay to just tune out. I understand its a job, be these are also the people that make you money.

    Stop advertising this job as "brand ambassador" or "Marketing Specialist"

    DialogueDirect Response

    Sep 11, 2017 – Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback and review, on both the good and the bad. We are always trying to find the best description of the position, because what we do is so unique. We agree that support for our... More


  2. "Charity Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Management promotes an honest and close knit culture that is exciting to be a part of. Your coworkers genuinely care about the charities they're fundraising for and you're doing good work. You also meet the best kind of people out on the street. Skills wise, this job helped me sharpen my communication/networking skills. Patience is key.

    Cons

    You're expected to work unpaid overtime and the job can be physically and emotionally draining. Management is unsympathetic to you being harassed both verbally and physically on street and there is also a high turn over rate.

    Advice to Management

    Do not advertise this job as a "Charity Brand Ambassador", this is street canvassing job. This is not your typical marketing job. Also chose a more diverse set of sites to canvas. Some sites have been overused and rarely produce anymore donors.

  3. "Overall okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Fundraiser in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Direct Fundraiser in Chicago, IL

    I worked at DialogueDirect full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cool people to work with, very patient

    Cons

    extremely tough work and flawed leadership

    DialogueDirect Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! We'd love to get more detailed feedback from you in the future.


  4. "DO NOT RECOMMEND"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DialogueDirect full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with tend to be pretty laid back and nice.

    Cons

    The hours are long, pay is crappy, you stand on your feet all day in ANY weather conditions. This job is physically exhausting. They will kick you to the curb in no time. It is like a revolving door at this company. They fire and then hire.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Having fun while making change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraiser in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Fundraiser in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DialogueDirect full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It is a street canvassing job
    Meet new people
    You can be creative
    Fun team builders
    You will be helping charities

    Cons

    Standing for 8 hours a day
    High turn-over rate
    They'll ask people to write reviews
    Sometimes people can be jerks
    People who quit quickly give the job a bad rep

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work with the office and team dynamic. When the size or transitional times of the team fluctuates, its good to keep a positive outlook and not blame workers for not caring. The managers are amazing but more TLs are in need for starting an office. It keeps a variety of opinion.

    DialogueDirect Response

    Sep 11, 2017 – Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your work and your review! We hope to see more of our Team Leaders grow and build their own offices, as well!

    We do encourage fundraisers to write reviews, but we find that anonymous... More


  6. "This organization needs a better handle on HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at DialogueDirect full-time

    Pros

    -learn sales skills that can be easily adaptable to any future position
    -not a desk job (for those who are not interested in being in an office!)
    -get your foot-in-the-door in the nonprofit world

    Cons

    This place is an HR nightmare. There is no line drawn between personal and professional life at this company.

    DialogueDirect Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for submitting a review. We'd love to hear more detailed feedback on your views regarding our company culture. We think that our team-oriented atmosphere is a strength, but we're always... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Tough Skin, good skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DialogueDirect full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This job, helps a person become more professional. The people here are AMAZING, you get to make a difference and it truly shows. A chance to go to different cities to make a difference.

    Cons

    It's canvassing, you will stand outside in all kinds of weather. There is some passive aggressive comments, make sure you have tough skin.

    Advice to Management

    Don't compare people who've been there for months/years then days/weeks. Good things take time.

    DialogueDirect Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your work and your review. It does take mental fortitude to be successful here, thank you for your advice to applicants. We agree that good training and the building of skills takes a... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "A true opportunity to love your work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DialogueDirect full-time

    Pros

    First off i want to say ive had many jobs after Dialogue Direct and its taken me years to finally find a place as much as i loved Dialogue Direct.

    Co-workers are very friendly and supportive!!

    Ive never had a job that i really felt like i was making a difference besides this one!

    There are also so many career growth opportunities. It really is a job that rewards hard work and in no time you can establish yourself!

    Cons

    It is an outdoors job but hey that could also be a pro!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on finding great people to help make our world a better place to live!

    DialogueDirect Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your work and your review!


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Representative in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Site Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DialogueDirect full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It's amazing place that offer training everyday, they will help you grow more than just professionally but in a life aspect too. They offer travel trips and other great opportunities

    Cons

    It can be a hard job in the beginning but worth the work. End the end there are not many cons to this job it is just about resilience.

    DialogueDirect Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. The work is challenging, and without determined, passionate fundraisers like you, we couldn't do what we do for charities. Thank you for your dedication and... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraiser in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Fundraiser in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DialogueDirect full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Get to talk to all kinds of people, Get to know your city, Travel opportunities, and meet nice coWorkers.

    Cons

    Lots of sunscreening, it's tough if you're prone to stage-fright.

    DialogueDirect Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your review!


Showing 184 of 199 reviews
Reset Filters