KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ELM Learning

Is this your company?

ELM Learning

Add a Review

ELM Learning Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 38 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
ELM Learning CEO Andrew Fayad (no image)
Andrew Fayad
23 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,866

959 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to work for!

    Dec 29, 2020 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexablility and the people that work in the organazation

    Cons

    Non that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    The Titanic. Don't board a sinking ship, they don't have life vests for you.

    Sep 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm not sure if any good people are left. All the good ones have been leaving. That was the only thing ELM had going for them. "Flexible" work schedule—but this is also a con. Portfolio builder. Just be ready to overwork yourself and bend over backwards for people who won't do it for you.

    Cons

    Everything else. Not exaggerating at all. I wouldn't even recommend this place to people I don't like. No amount of money could ever keep me here or tell others they should work at ELM. This place will eat you up, spit you back out, then act surprised and confused when you try to point it out. Just don't. Save yourself the stress and anger, there are way better options out there than this place.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    ELM Learning Response

    CEO

    First, we would like to share our appreciation to you as a former ELM team member. Your contributions to the business are not overlooked, and if we communicated in any way different from this we are deeply sorry. We are also very sorry that your time here created this amount of stress and anger. The majority of our team members have been with us for over six years (with the company itself being eight years old). They are a talented group of individuals who work very well together, and who consistently receive accolades from our clients. These are team members who have chosen to stay in order to work through the obstacles we face together as an organization. Throughout all of 2020 and 2021, despite the effects of COVID-19 on many of our clients, everyone at ELM worked hard to not lay off any of our colleagues. We have had team members leave; however, they have left to change careers, go back to school, or join local companies in different positions. It is important to understand that the projects that come into our company are not evenly spaced throughout the year. This creates times when we are very busy and times when we are not. We have recently even developed a stronger “flex” team to help during busy periods. ELM continues to contribute to and grow in a very fast moving and challenging industry. We try our hardest to recognize mistakes we have made in the past and have always worked very hard to create an environment where constructive criticism is welcome and taken seriously -- all in an effort to continue to learn and grow together.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sorry, money can't buy competence

    Jun 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Incredible base team of talented, hardworking people -Flexible work schedule -Work/life balance

    Cons

    Company pretty much defines nepotism: Pops bought a company then put his spoiled and extremely inexperienced 20-something-year-old son and his buddy in charge as CEO & President. -Despite all the talent, the "leadership" continues to run it into the ground because of the lack of experience or any real genuine interest in what the company does. When the going gets tough they direct blame on anyone but themselves so its pretty much a revolving door of hires and fires . -Zero development or training support: ironic for a LEARNING company. Don't expect your managers to help you do anything, they're too busy trying to fix what leadership can't or don't have the interest to -Culture is disjointed and pretty much non-existent, which happens when you run your people and their trust into the ground. - All value and emphasis, oh yes, and incentives goes to sales who never actually really seem to know what we do. Oh yeah, by the way, the sales team is also led by the CEO who's either AWOL or jetsetting off to Brazil or Greece (surprise) - They'll eat you up and spit you out. Anyone who ever really cared about the company or had the most talent has checked out, been exhausted beyond recovery, or driven out. - They love their flashy corporate catchphrases (Transparency! Radical candor!) But can't seem to actually put any of it into positive action or handle the truth. -Zero consistency. Always a new, short-lived "business flavor" of the week. - Zero profitability in its 5+ years, but that doesn't seem to change the spending on salaries for people who don't contribute meaningfully or expensive travel for certain special people (aka the class clown they pay top dollar to be the face of the company and contributes to no tangible outcomes)

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    ELM Learning Response

    People Development Specialist

    The importance of providing feedback is to share concerns and help improve organizations through radical candor. Providing truths in a professional and compassionate manner. As a company, and as leaders we are always willing to listen to concerns and criticisms. As leaders it is also our responsibility to dig through the aggressive anger in some messages to find the truth. ELM was purchased by five owners including myself and my son. Over the past five years we have invested in the start up and in the building of ELM. The CEO does not oversee sales, we have had a sales director for the past year. Our sales team pay is similar to industry standards and their training is very organized and involves the development team through hands on learning. As with all start up companies we have had to continually develop our training programs each year. Last year we implemented our Guidance System which provides for all positions, on-boarding, training, and management development. On a monthly basis we conduct our “All Hands” meetings to provide open discussions and share information to ELM in all three cities. We are proud to say that a lot of our team members have taken great vacations to all parts of the world including, Australia, Africa, South America, Europe, etc. It is unfortunate that when owners take vacations it is “jet setting.” I believe we all would agree that everyone deserves a work life balance. Our managers have worked hard to create the organization we have today. The strain of scaling a company has been recognized and this spring we have added an industry experienced Vice President of Operations in San Diego to help with the increasing business demands. We find the name calling “class clown” to be a personal attack. We do not have class clowns, everyone has value in our organization including the author of this posting.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Oct 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, great people, interesting product

    Cons

    Upper management can be inexperienced, little growth opportunity

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work at

    Sep 6, 2018 - People Development Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at ELM allows you to have the life/work balance we all need and want! With working from home when needed, to taking breaks during the day and finish in the evening the flexibility you have to work around what pops up in your life like a flat tire that needs fixing during the day, etc. is awesome. Great positive culture and wonderful team work on a daily basis. Wonderful leadership that cares about all the team members.

    Cons

    Fast paced, can be a bit stressful at times when you have deadlines looming but the flexibility in work hours well compensates for that in my opinion.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company That is Ever Growing

    Jan 15, 2018 - Junior Graphic Designer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Every day you get a chance to learn something new and work on a new project. Everyone is beyond understanding and very nice. This is a great place to work and even build up your resume. There is a lot to be gained and learned from working here but is not for the light hearted.

    Cons

    The environment is fast paced while the structure of things are being developed and put in place, as this is still a start-up company. But if you're up for a challenge and willing to learn new skills on the go, then this isn't a con. While all the benefits are truly amazing they can also feel like a con sometimes.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent place to work

    Nov 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture is the company is amazing, they are open, flexible, committed and really driven to make the clients satisfied with the end product.

    Cons

    Seriously, I cannot think of a thing I would want to change.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Constant Growth

    Nov 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is in a state of constant growth: the product, the employees and the leaders. They encourage employees to reach out and make changes when needed, ask for feedback often and promote a culture of growth (professionally and personally). It is a fast paced environment, so there are many opportunities to test your skills and your limits, and many learning opportunities to expand your skills and limits. Every employee is all in and it's an amazing team environment.

    Cons

    Due to the fast paced environment, things can sometimes get crazy. This is a great learning opportunity though - and makes celebrating wins together even better.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Caring and Flexible

    Nov 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked with ELM for over 3 years, and after 10 years of professional experience, I've never worked in an environment where your employers and co-workers care so much about you. It's really outstanding. The team is just amazing, and so incredibly talented. Each person you work with is just so kind, and so friendly. Everybody believes in support, and family. One of the most incredible parts about working with ELM is the flexibility. ELM has always been a place where they foster creative hours of productivity. It's not the 9-5 agency that operates within four walls. They strongly encourage our team to work when our creative juices are operating at their peak.

    Cons

    The environment is very fast-paced, with little structure of job-roles. To be a part of the ELM team means you need to be a jump-in and figure-it-out individual. Many of us thrive in that environment, but it's not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place to be!

    Nov 6, 2017 - Director in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its been a great opportunity to help build a company from the ground up. I look forward to not only growing with the company but as a person as well. I have learned so much since I have been here.

    Cons

    Fast pase and working out processes, but its going in the right direction.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with ELM Learning Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ELM Learning? Share Your Experiences

or