ESET Reviews | Glassdoor

ESET Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
ESET CEO Richard Marko (no image)
Richard Marko
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "When thinking of daily operations these words come to mind: substandard, incompetence, workarounds, lackluster(in 3 reviews)

  • "As someone who has seen a healthy amount of companies, ESET has fallen victim to a management team that breeds more management members(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great product, great culture and great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at ESET full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, perks, the people, location and products

    Cons

    HQ's understanding of our market, direction and communication. Although, our current president and management are doing their best to breach this gap.

    ESET2019-10-10
  2. "Great work culture and involved leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ESET full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People and work culture are key; competitive compensation and benefits; central location; involved leadership; small size means greater opportunity to have a strong, positive impact

    Cons

    Communication tools need to be improved upon, i.e. Vidyo; consider other technical options for technical communications

    Continue reading
    ESET2019-10-08
  3. "Well Rounded Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ESET full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honest, supportive, philanthropic, great benifits, a gym and happy people.

    Cons

    No working from home, limited PTO

    Continue reading
    ESET2019-10-04

    ESET Response

    October 7, 2019ESET Response

    Great to hear you are enjoying a few of the many perks of working at ESET - North America! We will share your feedback regarding working remotely & PTO policy during our next Wellness and Culture meeting. We agree, the management here at ESET - North America is the best!

    Continue reading
  4. "Excellent culture, supportive of growth, and communicative management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ESET full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From the start of the hiring process to the few months I have been here, I have been impressed with the company culture. Having worked for multiple kinds of companies from small mom and pop shops on up to global corporations, ESET has so far been one of my favorite employers. -Competitive salary -Excellent benefits (health, dental, vision, and education) -Flexible schedule/work locations (depending on role) -Very supportive of career growth and training (bi weekly learning opportunities, certification access, online portal) Even just within my first few months here I have had an opportunity to sit down with the ESET NA CEO Brent McCarty. He opened his doors to first line employees to hear them out and have open dialogue (have never had such an opportunity with any other corporation). My direct supervisor is communicative and as transparent as he can be. My colleagues are professionals who perform at a high level, yet still take the time to engage and foster a good culture. From the top down I can't say enough good things.

    Cons

    I can't really find one at this point.

    Continue reading
    ESET2019-10-04

    ESET Response

    October 7, 2019ESET Response

    We’re happy that you’re happy at ESET - North America!!! It is great to know that you feel valued by your leadership and have the ability for honest and open dialogue. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ESET full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    uses the latest technology, great work environment and a friendly work culture.

    Cons

    The in-depth training can be a bit much, but very thorough Very quiet sales floor (some might like that)

    Continue reading
    ESET2019-10-02

    ESET Response

    October 7, 2019ESET Response

    Thanks for your honest feedback. We understand every employee learns information in many different ways. Our Learning and Development department can brainstorm, so that more interactive training methods can be implemented.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ESET full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, good people, free fruit, gym and and a company in a market that will grow in the future

    Cons

    ability to work remote in the future

    Continue reading
    ESET2019-10-02

    ESET Response

    October 7, 2019ESET Response

    We're ecstatic you love the benefits and perks ESET - North America offers all of our employees! Thanks very much for your review!

    Continue reading
  7. "Supportive Leadership and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Designer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ESET full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership, Culture, Employee Development, Employee Engagement through various activities

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons at this time.

    Continue reading
    ESET2019-10-02

    ESET Response

    October 7, 2019ESET Response

    We are happy to know you feel supported by ESET - North America. We take a proactive approach to every internal employee's professional development. We will speak with our Learning and Development department and think of new ways to promote leadership training. Thank you very much for your review!

    Continue reading
  8. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ESET full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location, amazing benefits, committed people and leadership

    Cons

    can be a bit slow to adjust to market however things are improving

    Continue reading
    ESET2019-07-05

    ESET Response

    August 6, 2019ESET Response

    Thank you for your thoughtful and balanced review; it is great to hear your positive experience with ESET. We are glad you are enjoying the people, location, benefits and leadership. We are constantly meeting and brainstorming on ways to be open with our employees in order to make them feel happy and enjoy the ‘fun’ that we are reintroducing to ESET’s culture. We strive to create an open culture at ESET and appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support Representative 

    I have been working at ESET full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work and live balance Easy Management Chance to grow Good Benefits

    Cons

    Pay is low for the amount and kind of work you'll perform

    ESET2019-06-26
  10. Helpful (6)

    "From great to terrible - a management "train wreck""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ESET full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great location in Little Italy close to all the restaurants * Travel, conferences and networking opportunities for the right people * Casual environment and good work / life balance varying based on role * Active in the San Diego community and with charitable organizations

    Cons

    * Serious lack of leadership from the Executive Management Team except for the Sales VP who was the only one with a strong business acumen * Bad choice of new CEO to take the organization the next level * Obsolete product suite lacking competitive edge vs. the main players in the space and next generation vendors * Extreme low pay (20% to 40% below market in average) and declining benefits year over year * Increased level of control from Slovakian HQ reducing ability to gain market share in the NORAM market and capacity to execute * Unhealthy HR culture allowing a minority of "complainers" to discredit managers and leaders in their ability to lead effectively * Difficulty to grow the business through new business acquisition due to lack of investments in certain area and slow ability to go to market quickly

    Continue reading
    ESET2019-06-29

    ESET Response

    July 5, 2019ESET Response

    Thank you very much for the feedback. It is unfortunate you feel this way. Our leadership team is committed to serving our team members and our team’s feedback is extremely valuable which is why we have several communication vehicles in place. Whether through the intranet, employee satisfaction surveys, quarterly business reviews, one on ones, our regular monthly updates or through our President’s open door policy (which has been used regularly by several of our ESET team members) we encourage you to speak up and bring your feedback forward so we can fully understand the issues you are experiencing and make an effort to address them. We are always open to constructive criticism and value the employee experience so please come forward with your suggestions. Thank you so much.

    Continue reading
Found 116 reviews
</>Embed