ESS Reviews | Glassdoor

ESS Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
ESS CEO Buddy Helton
Buddy Helton
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule and many networking opportunities(in 28 reviews)

  • "Great way to get yourself in a number of School districts and get your foot in the door(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay determined by districts(in 21 reviews)

  • "Substitute teachers have No one to back them when issues come up(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A great part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ESS part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working for ESS. I enjoyed most of my assignments. The reason that I left ESS was because it was part-time and I needed full-time. When I retire, I hope that they will consider me for rehire. It was easy to take off days when I needed/wanted time off. Overall, working for ESS was a really nice experience.

    Cons

    Substitute teachers certainly don't make the "big bucks" but it's worth it for the flexibility and getting to know the staff and students.

    Advice to Management

    I wish that I'd had the opportunity to get to know my immediate supervisor at ESS. I worked for two school systems. One had a review system where I could leave electronic feedback for the teacher and she could leave feedback for the substitute. I wish that I could have seen the reviews that people gave me. I don't think that the teachers could see what I left for them either so I always left a written note too.

    ESS2019-09-14
  2. "Where to start for educators?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Permanent Building Substitute 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ESS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great way to get yourself in a number of School districts and get your foot in the door.

    Cons

    When your hit with the holidays , snow days or early dismissals it can really hurt your paycheck. Did not see to much opportunity as far as professional developments went.

    ESS2019-10-08
  3. "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Woodbury, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ESS part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Getting hired was easy.

    Cons

    Most people can't make a living on just this.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay scale. Stop changing HR, payrol, employee training companies. Most employees don't know where to go for what!!

    ESS2019-10-14
  4. "Good for short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 

    I have been working at ESS part-time

    Pros

    you get to schedule your own days

    Cons

    each district is different and you must comply with each

    ESS2019-10-01
  5. "A good stepping stone but not long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Paraprofessional in Newark, NJ

    I have been working at ESS part-time

    Pros

    Nice enviornment, help out those in need of special services

    Cons

    Per diem pay, no paid holidays/sick time

    ESS2019-09-16
  6. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ESS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is alright, but can be clique ish.

    Cons

    Most of everything, between all the work and management. Also unless you’re related to someone, moving up is difficult

    Advice to Management

    Try to not play favorites

    ESS2019-09-12
  7. "Great company for people looking to substitute teach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative 

    I worked at ESS full-time

    Pros

    Offers benefits and allows you to be flexible with your schedule

    Cons

    The job is pretty low paying

    ESS2019-08-27
  8. "Flexible, great company to sub with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subsitute Teacher in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ESS part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team at ESS helped me out whenever I had an issue and helped me find long-term sub jobs. There were lots of opportunities and I could work as often as I wanted.

    Cons

    Pay isn't great, certain times of year are slow.

    ESS2019-08-27
  9. "No future with ESS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Paraprofessional in Williamsport, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at ESS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I don’t have any reason to recommend ESS!

    Cons

    Your on call and the online and call system doesn’t work accurately making you not gain work as a normal employee hired for a full or part-time position. I was offered a full-time position and was told that while they were hiring me they hired another individual for that same position so I got stuck with the substitute position after leaving a permanent position I already had at a different school district.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t tell a potential employee that they need someone ASAP for a position and then give the position to someone else.

    ESS2019-09-22
  10. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 
    Recommends

    I have been working at ESS part-time

    Pros

    They provide nice perks and benefits

    Cons

    Salary is very low. Can increase more

    ESS2019-08-14
Found 249 reviews
</>Embed