EdisonLearning Reviews | Glassdoor

EdisonLearning Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Thom Jackson
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work environment is relatively stress-free and the office is like a second family(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "No raises or chance to move up or around in the company(in 10 reviews)

  • "Teachers haven't received raises for 5 years, since Edison took over(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Leader in the Education Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EdisonLearning full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have had the pleasure to work for EdisonLearning for almost two decades. I watched as EdisonLearning filled a need and led a nascent industry into one that today impacts the lives of hundreds of thousands. The professional support and continuous education that I have received is unparalleled and has truly been life changing. The professionals I work with are passionate and committed educators. This place has touched...

    Show More

    Cons

    Just a reminder to continue to strategically align resources to meet company goals.

    Advice to Management

    Looking forward to the new human resources systems in evaluation, compensation and 401K restructure.

    EdisonLearning2019-02-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Changing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EdisonLearning full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Began with a Fantastic Mission, however the drive behind the mission is gone.

    Cons

    Upper Management does not motivate staff.

    Advice to Management

    Keep in mind who makes the company stand out. - It's the people in the field and with out them, there will be no company to support Management's salary.

    EdisonLearning2019-03-11
  3. "A company that cares about the community, students, employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EdisonLearning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Makes a difference in the lives of young people that not only changes the direction of the students lives but the lives of their family. Has dedicated and passionate professionals. CEO believes in doing the right thing, even it is hard or no one is looking. I can trust his word.

    Cons

    At times information is not shared by leadership which allows employees to come up with their own but often erroneous conclusions. Take a lesson from Southwest Airlines and be totally, not partially, transparent.

    Advice to Management

    You are working hard on behalf of the employees, let it show. Include them when possible and treat them like co-owners of the company to encourage them to feel like they are as invested in the company & its success as the owner.

    EdisonLearning2019-03-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Have An Impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EdisonLearning full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A place to do good things for kids need an education.

    Cons

    If you are not willing to work hard - this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on mission.

    EdisonLearning2019-02-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A Quality Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EdisonLearning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    EdisonLearning is an excellent work environment marked by such attributes as competitive wages, trust between the employees and management, fairness for everyone, and a sensible work load with challenging yet achievable goals. All this comes together to provide the best possible working conditions.

    Cons

    No cons at all. Sure there are things that all companies could get better at, If anything I'd say acquire more schools, so that we can get the top tier talent to keep us heads above our competitors.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    EdisonLearning2019-02-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Constant restructuring, struggle for focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at EdisonLearning full-time

      Pros

      Genuinely good, talented people, including within senior leadership

      Cons

      Lack of resources, legacy of bad decisions spanning years

      EdisonLearning2019-01-08
    • "Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at EdisonLearning full-time

      Pros

      Great coworkers and generally fulfilling work

      Cons

      Please don't work here.

      EdisonLearning2018-12-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sinking Ship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at EdisonLearning full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great teachers, they have worked for over four years with no raise, and I don't see one in their future anytime soon. "Ask again in Jan " is the answer they got. But yet the go to work every day happy, I believe it is purely out of love for what they do!

      Cons

      Lack of leadership, low pay and the benefits are sketchie, no or little help from HR department.

      Advice to Management

      Prepare to be sold soon.

      EdisonLearning2018-09-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at EdisonLearning full-time

      Pros

      Small classrooms Lots of planning time

      Cons

      Very little pay and poor management from director.

      EdisonLearning2018-05-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Flexible and low-stress"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Central Services Teacher in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at EdisonLearning full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexibility; great dept heads and office managers; opportunities for professional development; feel valued; don't deal with traditional teacher stressors

      Cons

      Salary is great but there's no opportunity for raises, even for years of service to the company; CEO seems out of touch.

      Advice to Management

      Start instituting raises and reasons for employees to stay long-term

      EdisonLearning2018-05-06
    Found 106 reviews