Event Network Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Event Network President Larry Gilbert
Larry Gilbert
109 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Boston Childrens Museum is a fine Childrens(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers, fun work environment(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Issues in stores can be hidden because a store director may not reveal it(in 12 reviews)

  • "If you work part-time, which is most of the employees at the company, forget about it(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive Experience

      Mar 26, 2021 - Sales Lead in Saint Augustine, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive, supportive management with learning experiences.

      Cons

      Not many full time opportunities

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Thank you for providing feedback, and for your time as part of the EN family. We look forward to more full time opportunities becoming available as stores and venues reopen from pandemic closures, and as attendance levels to continue grow.

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Unconscionable company

      Mar 3, 2021 - Sales Lead in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Currently can not find a pro in working for a company that does so little to put the safety of their employees first.

      Cons

      In light of the ongoing pandemic working for EN has proven how little they care about their employees safety and well being. At the location I am at the establishment is at a 25% capacity however in the small and narrow gift shop on the weekends the 5000 + guest we get on saturday and sunday seem to all cram into the shop at once. The museum security does nothing to try and limit the amount of people in the shop at once and an entirely exposed area near the cash wrap usually means people are invading personal space , shoving money into your face and talking directly at you. Voicing your concern to management or the joke that is HR goes no where. You are reprimanded with having fewer hours the following week. The safety measures are simply not in place. And coming to work feels like a death sentence. We are told to walk the shop floor and engage with guest when in reality it's the very last thing we should be doing. We are touching product all day that has been touched by thousands of other hands. And on most weekends we barely have enough to personal cover shift breaks and replenish.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Thank you for voicing your concern. Your health and safety are absolutely the top priority and we take this matter very seriously. All Store Directors and Store VPs have been notified in order to remedy this matter as fast as possible and ensure that every store and team member has the support they need. Our stores follow every safety protocol – from a mandatory mask policy and strict guest capacity, to social distance practices and rigorous cleaning schedule. Plexiglass barriers are installed at each cash wrap and PPE supplies such as masks, gloves, hand sanitizer and surface sanitizer are provided by Event Network and available to all store teams. We adhere to these policies and safety practices even on the busiest days and understand that more can be done in the areas you describe. We’re always listening. Back up is on the way. Thank you.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Wonderful Company

      Jan 28, 2021 - Store Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having started as a part time sales associate I have had amazing opportunities with Event Network and turned a part time sales associate position into a full-time career as a store director. Over the span of ten years I was a part time seasonal sales associate, a sales lead, an assistant director, and a store director. These promotions were a combination of hard work and having managers and leadership that valued my ideas and opinions and pushed me to get to where I am today. I am now comfortable negotiating contracts with CFOs, working with product development, completing physical inventories, hiring, managing a team, budgeting, creating ecommerce websites, and marketing. I have had amazing opportunities to work with our store transition team to open up new venues and have traveled to help assist other store directors. Event Network has amazing store Culture and continues to push to do better wherever they can.

      Cons

      In comparison to other retail companies Event Network truly does their best to support their employees and help them succeed. If you work hard for them, you will get that back ten-fold.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Thank you for sharing your experience being part of the EN family! Your career growth and personal journey is inspiring, and we look forward to many more adventures together in the years ahead! With much gratitude, thank you for all that you do, every day.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Associate

      Apr 20, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff and manager, easy to work with

      Cons

      Can be tiring sometimes, but not terrible

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      We’re glad to hear that you had a great experience with EN staff and your Store Manager. Thank you for sharing feedback about your time with us!

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It is what it is

      Mar 24, 2021 - Team Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours for part time, store director & assistant director at my shop were great and cared about employees, pretty easy job. Depending on store location you might be able to get a promotion. Annual appraisals always went well.

      Cons

      EN had us work at a pop-up shop outside the main store for a winter event in 20-30 degree weather. Alternatively, worked outside for summer store events at a pop-up when weather was 70-80 degrees outside (literally outside on a fold out table, no A/C, nothing). Depending on location, store inventory sucks.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Thank you for sharing your experience and for acknowledging the caring support you received from your Store Director and Assistant Store Director – we strive to always take care of one another. Annual appraisals are indeed another way we look out for our each other – congratulations on a job well done! We hear you, outdoor events can sometimes pose unavoidable weather circumstances – thank you for bringing it to our attention so that we can accommodate the needs of our team members. Your feedback helps us improve.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      SL

      Apr 16, 2021 - Sales Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent job, not too heavy workload

      Cons

      Pay could be higher. No full time hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Thank you for recommending Event Network, and for nearly four years as part of the EN family.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Culture with a strong focus on growth and development.

      Jan 29, 2021 - Director in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hierarchy is a clear line. Communication is constant. No executive is beyond reach. Everyone is an important link in the chain. Field opinions matter, nothing is just a blanket statement or slap dash plan.

      Cons

      Although succession planning and development are a part of everyday, advancement can be slow because of the culture that we are part of and the tenure of some staff.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Wow! Thank you for sharing your experience. Fostering a culture where everyone has a voice is very important to us all. And we agree – every style is different, but equally important. Feedback from our store teams is key to understanding the daily needs of our team members and guests – we absolutely value this transparency and open line of communication. Providing a clear path for career advancement is something we also value – but there’s always room to improve, and we’re listening. We want to see as many team members as possible build a long and happy career with us. Thanks again for sharing this feedback with us.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent for college student

      Apr 23, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with great people!

      Cons

      The management changed too many times. Low pay wage and the customers can be rude. Took a long time to get promoted to a new position.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Thank you for your time with us!

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to start but little growth

      Apr 26, 2021 - Store Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great partnerships, great floor teams

      Cons

      expensive benefits, pay needs to be more competitive

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Thank you for being part of our EN family for 4 years, and for sharing your feedback with us. As Store Director, we know that your hard work is reflected in the great floor teams, happy partnerships and happy guests! Thank you for all that you do! We hear you, healthcare costs from providers have increased across the nation. We are proud that Event Network was able to minimize the rate increase to maintain quality benefits packages at a very competitive rate – in fact well below the average cost. Despite the unavoidable increase that we were able to reduce drastically, our benefits package is still among the most competitive and robust in the industry. Event Network was also able to cover a 100% of our team members’ and their family’s medical, dental and vision premiums while their store operations were affected by COVID-19. Event Network salaries are researched to ensure they are competitive and match industry and market conditions. Annual appraisals are in place and are meant to reward awesome performance! We have an action plan in place to address mobility throughout the company, and are actively looking at each role to ensure a clear path for advancement and personal development as well. If you have any questions about the benefits available to you, or the appraisal process, please email our People Services team at peopleservices@eventnetwork.com

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company

      Feb 27, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vision, leadership, green, culture, locations, bonuses

      Cons

      Covid, ability to move up, salary, became too corporate without the size, not always clear paths

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Event Network Response

      People Services Team

      Thank you for letting us know how much you loved your time with us, and for nearly 10 years being part of the Event Network family. We’re taking in all feedback, and listening carefully. We have an action plan in place to address mobility throughout the company, and are actively looking at each role to ensure a clear path for advancement and personal development as well.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 208 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Event Network Job Seekers

    Store Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Assistant Director, Store Management
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Event Network? Share Your Experiences

    Event Network logo
    or