Explore Learning Reviews | Glassdoor

Explore Learning Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 405 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Explore Learning CEO Bill Mills
Bill Mills
140 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "they're under pressure to sign kids up but what that means for tutors is increased demand in tutoring children as young as 4(in 63 reviews)

  • "Looking at the reviews on Glassdoor, a strong theme is about working hours(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "An honour to work for this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Self development, exciting and ever evolving business, more than just a work place, a wonderful, supportive culture that genuinely wants its employees to be happy and thrive. I have never worked anywhere where I have been so in love with the company that I work for, amazing.

    Cons

    I can honestly not think of any!

    Advice to Management

    You are fantastic at including staff in making important improvements in many areas of the business, you work incredibly hard and you live and breathe your ethics and values and this only inspires others to do the same. As an employee I feel valued and supported by my Explore Learning family.

    Explore Learning2019-10-11
  2. "A great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Welwyn, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding working with children and fun positive environemnt

    Cons

    Low starting wage for under 18s (5pounds)

    Explore Learning2019-10-09
  3. "Perfect graduate role - LOTS OF TRAINING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic training opportunities, you're constantly pushed out of your comfort zone with the goal to eventually move up to the Centre Director position - Broad job roles which give you a taste in lots of areas of work including education, marketing, sales, business management, team training - Always has the children's best interests at heart, constantly looking to improve the centres delivery for them -Get... to work in a close knit team (which can be a blessing and a curse) -Get management experience from the get-go -Fantastic christmas and summer parties -Great target/bonus structure - theres always the potential to make more money!

    Show More

    Cons

    -Although they're clear about what the hours will be when you interview for the role, you don't realise how unsociable they are until you've been working them for a while. 11-8pm with one day of weekend work too. Any sales events may also require you to work both days of the weekend and trainings can be held after work which means sometimes you get out of work at 10pm. -Sometimes there was SO much training and... development that it felt quite overwhelming -The structure of the business/training/processes meant that it could feel like you were being micromanaged -The culture of Explore is positive, friendly and welcoming but occasionally it felt like you were being indoctrinated to all be the same 'Explore clone' -Working in a small team meant you could sometimes feel on top of each other -Once you reach Centre Director, your only option to move up is to move to head office in Guildford, so if you aren't willing to relocate, that is where your progression ends!

    Show More
    Explore Learning2019-10-08
  4. "Excellent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Tutor 

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time

    Pros

    Brilliant company, flexible working hours, friendly environment.

    Cons

    Not always steady work flow, some mishaps with organisation in the company.

    Explore Learning2019-10-03

    Explore Learning Response

    October 7, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience of working at Explore Learning as a tutor. I'm so pleased you enjoy the role and friendly environment. I will ensure I pass on your feedback - thanks again!

  5. "Great flexible work with opportunities to develop in teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Tutor in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great flexible work with opportunities to develop in teaching. Training on tutoring, sales and customer service

    Cons

    Hours offered on an 8 hour per week contract

    Explore Learning2019-09-23

    Explore Learning Response

    October 7, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing you experience working at Explore. It's great that you recommend the role, and have benefitted from training. Thank you for your contribution as a tutor!

  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tutor 

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time

    Pros

    Very rewarding to help kids understand new topics great experience supportive environment

    Cons

    can be stressful balancing all of the kid's notes as well as tutoring

    Explore Learning2019-09-22

    Explore Learning Response

    October 7, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as a tutor at Explore. I will ensure I pass all your feedback on. Thanks and all the best for the future!

  7. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love spending time with the kids

    Cons

    Bad pay rates considering skills required

    Explore Learning2019-09-19

    Explore Learning Response

    October 7, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review the tutor role! I am pleased you would recommend the role and love spending time with the kids. You will have your next pay review in April, and I will ensure I pass on your feedback in the meantime. Thank you for your contribution as a Tutor.

  8. "Good, Flexible work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible -Lots of training and support -Fun work environment

    Cons

    -Not many hours -Can be very busy

    Explore Learning2019-09-16

    Explore Learning Response

    October 7, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a tutor in Bromley. It's great to read that you found the work environment fun and received lots of training and support. Thanks for your hard work as a tutor!

  9. "best part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Learning part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pays really well, you have a pay review teach year which is determined by how well you do in the role and your length of service. - Learn how to work with so many types of children (SEN, low concentration, non- english speaking etc.) - Lovely, positive environment to be in, kids look up to you, parents are lovely. - Tutor team feels like a family, you have trainings and socials.

    Cons

    - Can be stressful during busy showtimes.

    Explore Learning2019-09-12

    Explore Learning Response

    October 7, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing you experience as a Tutor in one of our Manchester centres. It is wonderful to hear your team is like family and the environment is so positive. Thanks for your hard work as a tutor over the past 3-4 years and all the best for your continued career at Explore!

  10. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Children's Tutor in Palmers Green, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Colleagues were nice - Children were lovely

    Cons

    - High turnover of management - Low pay

    Explore Learning2019-09-26
Found 405 reviews