FEMA Reviews | Glassdoor

FEMA Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 321 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
FEMA CEO Jason McNamara (no image)
Jason McNamara
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping people in their time of need(in 37 reviews)

  • "Great agency whose responders do their best to help communities after disasters(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours with no shift differentials(in 17 reviews)

  • "Deployments outside of Region are strong protested by middle management(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "FEMA starting salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Program Analyst 

    I have been working at FEMA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work, benefits, real contribution to important issues.

    Cons

    Disorganization, rigid hierarchy, lack of program innovation.

    FEMA2019-09-10
  2. "Great pay & benefits, but some definite cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Relations Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FEMA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay & benefits, a few exceptional managers, flexible schedules, opportunity to help individuals after a disaster.

    Cons

    Many employees just go through the motions because they know it's hard to fire them. Long term travel during disasters can be extremely difficult if you have a family. Many programs developed at the HQ level do not actually work at the regional level. It can be extremely hard to get a job or promotion if you're not a veteran, but that is true for almost any federal employer.

    Advice to Management

    Hold non-performers accountable. Work on boosting morale.

    FEMA2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Being a reservist sucks unless you are already retired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist 

    I have been working at FEMA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great people, all travel is paid for

    Cons

    You're only called to work as a reservist once your name comes up from a list

    FEMA2019-08-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was a great place work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative 

    I worked at FEMA full-time

    Pros

    can lead to a 2 year job

    Cons

    a lot of running around to do with wanting to stay on

    FEMA2019-07-03
  5. "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Delivery Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FEMA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good and it's very exciting to help people, learn new skills, and be on the road.

    Cons

    As a Reservist, we do not get all the benefits.

    FEMA2019-07-04
  6. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FEMA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, friendly people and helpful.

    Cons

    Temporary Job and unorganized long hours

    Advice to Management

    More organization should be put to place

    FEMA2019-07-02
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Emergency Management Specialist in New York, NY

    I have been working at FEMA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Like any government job the benefits are very good. Which includes your annual leave and sick leave, your insurance depending on your carrier is good as well. You are also vested after 3 years in your TSP which is a plus so if you put in some time and decide to leave after 5-7 years you will have a little bit of a TSP or pension when you hit retirement age. If you like to travel there is no shortage there. You can... be gone for up to a year due to disasters and working in different regions.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is favoritism when it comes to wanting to advance . It’s all on who you know and not whether you are qualified to do the job. It’s frustrating and doesn’t give employees the incentive to want to work hard because no matter how hard you work it doesn’t matter you may not advance. It seems lackluster employees get a head faster than those who put in the work. Multiple times I have requested to go to... conferences and personal development workshops and I have been ignored or have had my requests pushed back . On the flip side conferences and workshops that have no relation to the job I have been “volun-told” to attend. The culture can be toxic and exhausting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A number of managers need training to be a manager . They either became managers because they know someone and they don’t know the program and the want the increase in pay and title .

    FEMA2019-06-28
  8. "Help Survivors to Recovery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bilingual Emergency Management Specialist in San Juan, PR

    I worked at FEMA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Standards, teamwork and Values

    Cons

    Stressful, little opportunity for growth and sedentary

    FEMA2019-06-14
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pasadena, CA

    I have been working at FEMA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive Management. Learned a lot. Helped people in need.

    Cons

    Would have liked higher pay.

    Advice to Management

    Organized, supportive management is the best.

    FEMA2019-06-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Mission - Not So Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FEMA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good mission, good camaraderie - dedicated co-workers outside of the DC chaos.

    Cons

    Chaotic and inept upper management. Promotions not based on merit, racially and sexually based hiring and rewards run rampant. Middle management not willing to question bad management decisions that result in millions of dollars worth of wasted tax payer dollars. When lower level managers do question those bad decisions - they are labeled troublemakers and told they aren’t in a position to question decisions... because they just don’t understand the big picture. Most of those lower level managers have been with the agency for years and probably understand the big picture more than our transient management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn the art of leadership, our agency is sorely in need of more good leadership and less bad management.

    FEMA2019-06-07
Found 321 reviews
</>Embed