First Interstate Reviews | Glassdoor

First Interstate Reviews

Updated 2 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
First Interstate CEO Edward Garding
Edward Garding
9 Ratings
  1. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Billings, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Interstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Values based company with lots of advancement and development opportunities. Benefits are highly competitive.

    Cons

    Lower level advancement and development....pace of change

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what's going on in the field.

    First Interstate2018-12-04
  2. "Not open to change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IRA Specialist in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Interstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits plans were good and retirement was good

    Cons

    Stuck in their ways not willing to change. If change does take place it takes forever. No cross training.

    First Interstate2019-07-31
  3. "Don't work here !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Great Falls, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Interstate full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Health and 401 K

    Cons

    Bad Management and Low PAY!

    Advice to Management

    Don't try to be the generic brand of Wells Fargo

    First Interstate2019-08-03
  4. "Loan officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Loan Officer 

    I have been working at First Interstate full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly atmosphere at this bank

    Cons

    This company has nice benefits

    First Interstate2019-05-26
  5. "Doesn’t promote local talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Billings, MT
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Interstate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A growing MT started bank

    Cons

    They are constantly filling leadership roles with people from out of state. Qualified talent locally is overlooked and not even granted an interview. A lot of childish rumor mill behavior within the organization that is not addressed causing a lot of great talent not extended opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t forget the local community that has supported you for years way before your growth and look to hire local talent that is qualified just as much as out of state people. At very least extend interview to assess talent first hand. We have a lot of local talent that has large financial institution experience that knows banking and our community.

    First Interstate2019-02-05
  6. "Collector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collector 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Interstate full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customers, pay, weekends off, 8-5 hours.

    Cons

    Co-workers do not work together, we never know what’s going on, we are told that changes are coming and to embrace them but we DON’T know what they are. Management is bad, micro managers and unrealistic goals. Communication lacks.

    Advice to Management

    I’m disappointed, we need more positive feed back. Everyone plays favorites and things are unfair unless you are hand picked by management.

    First Interstate2019-01-28
  7. "Identity Crisis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Interstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people in the branches are great

    Cons

    Upper management extremely out of touch with their stores.

    Advice to Management

    Get put of your office. Quit managing like your still in business school.

    First Interstate2019-01-05
  8. "Great Benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Billings, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Interstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    401k, Gym Member Reimbursement, Child Care Flex Plans, Cell Phone Discounts, Great health benefits with Blue Cross Blue Shield, Paid Time off, Paid Holidays and Employee Assistance Programs just to name a few.

    Cons

    Lots of change (which can be a good thing or a bad thing!) with minimal communication in some departments. PTO time could be a little better, but isn't a huge problem.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your employees informed of things. Even if you're worried that it will cause stress. A little stress at the beginning of a big change is better than the huge amount of stress by being told about big changes with a short deadline. Also, consider more flexible work weeks for those in Salaried positions outside of the front lines.

    First Interstate2018-11-28
  9. "Depops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Interstate full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are good, day care assistance

    Cons

    They care more about mergers and buying banks than upgrading there systems and taking care of their employees. Poor management

    First Interstate2018-11-16
  10. "Financial Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Bozeman, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Interstate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are absolutely unreal and their commitment to family.

    Cons

    It moves at a glacial pace with regards promotions.

    First Interstate2018-11-08
Found 36 reviews