First Niagara Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
First Niagara Bank CEO Beth Mooney (no image)
Beth Mooney
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent job culture, superior environment, smart work-life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great place great people in all locations(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No complaints regarding FNB, but lots of issues after Key Bank conversion(in 15 reviews)

  • "merger with Key Bank disappointed original First Niagara customers, Key worried too much on employee performance than customer satisfaction(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      Jun 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved it there. It was a great place to work

      Cons

      Some information from management didn’t get to employees easily

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great part-time job

      Oct 2, 2019 - Teller in Allentown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work schedule, work-life balance, pay

      Cons

      the force of sales by management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good pay and benefits, job, was essentially telemarketing

      Jan 30, 2019 - Customer Care Representative in Denton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO, health insurance, regular workweek, you can get moved from teller to desk pretty easily, which garners a small increase in pay

      Cons

      Hard to move up to management; job is essentially telemarketing; everything is micromanaged. I had personal check-in and corrections despite being the top performer in the region.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Treated you like a person

      May 11, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      incentive driven sales goals, decent group of managers, and other employees at lower level were great to get to know

      Cons

      no much time off phone, had to incorporate sales pitch even when you could tell customers did not want to waste their time and wanted simple answers like what their current balance is

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      System Administrator

      Nov 30, 2018 -  in Amherst, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fewer systems and complexity to navigate

      Cons

      Lots of red tape to get anything done

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not a bad job

      Mar 3, 2019 - Assistant Head Teller 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      job is easy, branch is usually slow

      Cons

      pay is not good and customers can be mean

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not my ideal career path

      Mar 27, 2019 - Senior Relationship Manager in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent salary and benefits.

      Cons

      Micromanagement and lack of appreciation for employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Nice local bank with opportunity for growth.

      Feb 28, 2015 - Head Teller in Bridgeport, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you work hard and show that you care and are trying, you will do well and quickly move up in this bank. I think the bank does well with staffing and recognizing talent. Benefits are pretty good and a you get a good amount of time off! I think communication is pretty good in this bank. A lot of good management.

      Cons

      Just recently, the branch goals have become quite high and difficult to reach and a lot more pressure is being put on everyone. It seems that each year, there are major cut backs to budgets and also a significant amount of people are being let go and the rest are shuffled around. This is pressuring as well, that uneasy feeling of not knowing how long you will be employed for or what other changes are in store for you or the bank.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to start off your career

      Sep 7, 2015 - Relationship Banker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started my career in Buffalo Ny, before relocating to PA. I personally have an appreciation for FNFG as it was a great place for me to start off my career right out of college. I started at the Customer Contact Center and then was promoted to a Relationship Banker (branch level). It has taught me many skills and tools that I still use to this day. your success (being promoted) depends on your sales numbers....PERIOD!

      Cons

      some of the cons In my 4 1/2 years were the upper management decision making. I personally didn't like when the incentive payout changed, which made it challenging to to really maximize your quarterly bonus. This is coming from someone who was #1 in the company in the RB position, and in my region. Its also sales heavy on deposit accounts, and loan products. Also in my region (PA) there were a heavy turn over rate for tellers, branch managers, and platform employees which made it hard to operate in a market where some branches couldn't even open due to lack of staffing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Wrong Career Move

      Oct 6, 2014 - Solutions Architect in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vacation time, Salary and Bonus at par with industry

      Cons

      No communication even though "transparency" is a frequently used word. Corporate values are a joke. Employees are not valued, no training and no career growth path. Areas are reorganized without notifying those that are affected, no published org charts that are complete or accurate, the only way you know who you report to is by looking at the phone directory. Too many chiefs and empire builders, overloaded with consultants. Too many people resistant to improving process and fully utilizing the capability of the software/systems being implemented. Many of us believed we would have the opportunity to significantly improve the technology and methodology to bring the environment into the 21st century, but IT has done a near 180 degree turn in the wrong direction with the current leadership. Very disappointing, one of the worst organizations I have ever worked in.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 201 Reviews

    Popular Careers with First Niagara Bank Job Seekers

    Vice President
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at First Niagara Bank? Share Your Experiences

    First Niagara Bank logo
    or