Five9 Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Five9 Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Five9 CEO Rowan Trollope
Rowan Trollope
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Still no 401K match, but I hear it is coming next year :-)(in 22 reviews)

  • "no 401k match and very little vacation time which feels very old tech(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Still one of the best companies I have ever known!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time

    Pros

    Great team who really cares about one another. Ability to impact change and feel that your contributions make a difference.

    Cons

    None at this time that I can think of!

    Continue reading
    Five92019-08-08
  2. "Five9 is on fire!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Owensboro, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is nearly indescribable and difficult to comprehend until you work here. Extremely talented and engaged E-staff. Great near and long term vision.

    Cons

    Perceived industry perception of Five9 needs to improve.

    Five92020-02-14

    Five9 Response

    February 18, 2020Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Five9. We completely agree that Five9 is a special place made up of extremely talented people. E-staff is aligned on our vision as we look forward to continuing to disrupt the industry standards and help companies create powerful customer connections.

    Continue reading
  3. "Meh !!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Perks (RSU, little bit of 401k match, ESPP, Stock price is growing).

    Cons

    Need to be proficient in politics. CEO says coding is just glorified if and while (if you say that I am sure you have not coded beyond c programming) what a jerk. CTO brought his Cisco phonies as product managers, she does not ABC of tech and does politics and try to control all the team members. She even threatens some of the young software engineers.

    Continue reading
    Five92020-01-22

    Five9 Response

    February 3, 2020Head of HR

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you value the plans we have in place to share in the continued success of Five9. We want to ensure that Five9 has a culture which allows all of our Five9 team members to feel comfortable bringing their knowledge, experience, and creativity in providing solutions for our customers. We are sorry to hear that you feel this is not the case. We have an open door policy at Five9 and I welcome you to share feedback with myself, or your HR Business Partner, on how we can do better.

    Continue reading
  4. "great company,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product Manager 

    I have been working at Five9 full-time

    Pros

    work life balance somewaht exciting work sfdc partner

    Cons

    needs to bring on a-players

    Five92019-12-17
  5. "Great workplacee, investing in improving development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, commitment to invest in Product Division,

    Cons

    New to cloud computing, still learning the ropes.

    Five92019-11-29
  6. "lots of opportunities to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - lots of learning - interesting projects on the edge of technology - growth opportunities - new tech management with big ideas - talented engineers that you can learn from and discuss - great benefits and company overall growth (check FIVN stock chart)

    Cons

    - some "politics" like it is everywhere in this size of the company - office space is boring, no fun stuff - no snacks in kitchen, no food (except Friday lunch)

    Continue reading
    Five92019-11-18
  7. "Growing young company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solidly in that aggressive growth stage a few years removed from IPO. Company culture empowers people to have input and work hard towards common goals.

    Cons

    Still working out some of the kinks while figuring out how to handle really rapid customer and employee growth.

    Five92019-11-18
  8. "Time off policies are stingy and unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally a good company. Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    They force you to use your earned vacation time to take off Christmas week even if you don’t celebrate. You only get three weeks of time off (after a year) to use for sick time, vacation, family issues and Christmas week. This makes maintaining a good work/life balance hard. The requirement to take earned time for Christmas week wasn’t mentioned in my interviews or even when I had my Onboarding.

    Five92019-11-20

    Five9 Response

    November 25, 2019Head of HR

    We appreciate you sharing your experience at Five9 so far. It sounds like you enjoy working at Five9, but there is room for improvement with respect to the PTO policy. The decision to implement a winter break this year was made by the leadership team in April and is designed to provide a time for employees to truly unplug and recharge, ready to start the New Year. We continually assess the benefits we provide - fully paid health coverage for employees, ESPP, 401(k) match, 12 paid holidays, etc. in order to provide benefits that will be the most beneficial to our employees. Please feel free to reach out to me or your HR Business Partner if you would like to discuss in further detail.

    Continue reading
  9. "Politics at engineer level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work From Home, Thursdays in clouds, catered lunch once a week, ESPP

    Cons

    Some long timers do politics at Engineer level. I know of one guy who implemented lot of AI stuff and was left in lurch after another long time Engineer (does not know technology) did politics on him. What a wasted engineer resource after all to the company.

    Continue reading
    Five92019-10-24

    Five9 Response

    November 1, 2019Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. While we do make an effort to maintain a great culture, where all employees can contribute and receive recognition, we realize we don't always get it right. The great news is that our senior leadership focuses on a productive and non-political culture, and we will definitely continue to make this a priority. I glad to hear you enjoy Thursdays in the Cloud, catered lunches and our incredible ESPP program!

    Continue reading
  10. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and well taken care of.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind really.

    Five92019-10-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 136 reviews