Fonality Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Fonality Co-CEO 	Kevin Dickens (no image)
Kevin Dickens
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "laid back environment(in 4 reviews)

  • "Ability to work from home as needed(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No defined metrics for performance reviews, poor customer service, low employee retention, and senior management has no idea how to grow the business(in 3 reviews)

  • "grow the business(in 2 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome place

      May 4, 2021 - Technical Support in Culver, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its a great place to work.

      Cons

      There aren't any cons that I can speak of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Was a Little Bummed I had to Give them a Star to do the Review. True Rating: 1 Guano

      Oct 3, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are lot of smart people there and a product that has great potential. If you can stay out of the political maneuvering that goes on there, the work is challenging and even pleasant.

      Cons

      C-level management is clueless. Just check out the other reviews here: The only ones that have employer responses to date are the 5-Star reviews that were obviously done by or requested by the Marketing group (even then, there are only 2). And that is really it: CEO is ex-high-Level Microsoft exec before this and has surrounded himself with yes persons, systematically getting rid of any possible minority report. RIF last month makes that clear. Product team is no better, just updated leading product that has a few more features, but looks and feels NOTHING like the last rev and is more cumbersome to use. I guess that is just what MS execs like to do (can you say windows eight?). So, the RIF and a LOT of other penny pinching, the fact that they have not IPOed within 10 years all lead me to believe they are getting ready to sell to anyone looking for a VoIP presence. Even if not, I would steer clear till the dust settles a bit.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Solid Team Environment

      Jun 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a lot of opportunities as it's a growing company that often promotes from within. There's a very collaborative environment and we are regularly empowered to work with different departments on projects. The company really invests in its employees by training and I've learned so many aspects of the industry (on the tech side as well as the business side) during my time here. Fonality is also invested in developing a welcoming and friendly culture, which has really facilitated a great group of individuals working together.

      Cons

      While we are rapidly growing, there's always more work to be done then hours in the day. I feel confident that while the company expands its team, the workload will even out however.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fonality is a great place to work

      Apr 9, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Fonality during a time of transition for the company in which it was recovering from a previous senior management team and still getting used to the current management. Despite this, I found everyone to be very friendly, and some of my best friends are now from Fonality. I don't get the bad reviews on here - maybe those folks were pissed about being let go. I have found that most people are of very high quality, and now the company is doing well financially, hitting new highs regularly, and morale is high.

      Cons

      Free food in the office on a wagon is kind of fun but kind of lame at the same time. Sounds like it was a good idea long ago, but was kept for no good reason.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Fonality Response

      Director of Human Resources

      We're glad you are enjoying your time here at Fonality, and it's great to hear from someone who speaks to our customers on a regular basis. We are always looking to add new and exciting features to our product to keep customers happy and coming back. Maybe we can find a way to make the candy wagon more exciting again, I personally love my free treats on Wednesday but we'll look into ways to make it fun again. Thank you for taking the time to review and keep up the great work!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A dynamic yet satisfyingly challenging workplace

      Jul 29, 2013 - Systems Administrator in Culver City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For those who wish to learn something new everyday, Fonality delivers. No one day is like the other, so if you want to learn and feel challenged without necessarily feeling overwhelmed, Fonality is the place to work. There's a real sense of team and although there is a good number of things to do on a daily basis, you can depend on your fellow co-workers for help. But the goodwill you feel within your own department isn't limited to just your department. If there's an issue that extends beyond your department, you can lean on your fellow co-workers in other departments without the whole feeling that your encroaching someone else's "jurisdiction" or vice versa. There's real camaraderie here.

      Cons

      Although they give 2 weeks paid vacation, increase in how fast you accrue PTO doesn't occur until after you worked here for 5 years. That seems to be on the long side.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fonality is a decent company to work for

      Jun 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are two main offices in the U.S. The Sales division is based out of Texas, and people say that the culture over there varies. This review is for the Support and Engineering-centric Southern California office. Coworkers in SoCal are good to work with and the culture is generally friendly. The information flow and updates are better in recent years. The technology is interesting and complicated.

      Cons

      Like many companies, it's perpetually understaffed. Not extremely, but enough to be a problem. Communications could be more open - sometimes support finds out about new things from the customers. A few directors and senior managers don't know what they're doing when they talk with technical people, but say enough buzzwords and generalities to appear good to executive management. They're OK to work for, but not good for the company as a whole.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fonality offers a wonderful environment with flexibility and investment in its employees.

      Jan 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Due to the nature of the product sold, there is a lot of flexibility for employees working remote and employees from different offices are able to collaborate easily. Even though offices are spread out, there is a real sense of community here. Employees are always working together on developing products, solving issues and assisting customers. The company is very invested in their employees and often promoted from within. The people here are great.

      Cons

      Whenever a company allows you to work remote or provides flexible hours, it becomes very easy to put in extra hours. This is never expected or demanded, but it happens. Plus, everyone is so helpful, people stay late to assist one another.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A satisfying, enjoyable workplace that continues to grow and improve

      Sep 19, 2013 - Engineering in Culver City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the best work/life balance in the industry, consistently interesting fast-paced environment, relaxed culture and coworkers, bagels, smart about promotions. I look forward to going to work each day!

      Cons

      Sometimes the direction, especially from executives, seems unclear and unfocused, and organizationally suffers from a large amount of technical debt and cruft made in the startup days--that said, all of this continues to improve rather than degrade.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Far more pros than cons

      Jun 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to grow and poised for a lot of potential growth. It's a lot more like a SaaS company than telecom. Amazing coworkers across many departments. Fair amount of personal and professional flexibility in part thanks to our technology. Culture committees known as FAB do a great job in larger Plano and Culver City offices. Gotta love Wagon Wednesdays (treats on wheels), Friday breakfasts, and month-end lunches!

      Cons

      Sometimes still acts like a much smaller company. Some policies from startup days haven't been fixed. Culture varies by team (getting better). Time off policy needs major improvement (company took steps this year with more holidays).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to learn and contribute!

      Feb 12, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn new things every day from smart, committed people. The company is small enough that each person makes a real difference to the company and the customers, yet there are real opportunities to expand professionally to working with other parts of the business. Also, the CEO is a really smart and (more importantly) experienced leader and is a role model for managing a technology company of this size.

      Cons

      As will most smaller companies there is always a struggle with priorities and resources.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 66 Reviews

    Work at Fonality? Share Your Experiences

    Fonality logo
    or