Freshpet Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Freshpet Chief Executive Officer William Cyr
William Cyr
13 Ratings
  1. "Freshpet Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Freshpet means you can be heard. We have smaller marketing teams covering a lot of ground, so when I started at Freshpet I was thrilled to know I'd be exposed to many different things and grow along the way. I've been at the company for a few years and I love that if you speak up and share your opinions, it can be a collaborative and inclusive space. Lots of opportunity to get involved in new projects if you raise your hand! Upper management floats among us! You can feel free to chat with our founders/execs and pick their brains if you needed/wanted without barrier. The culture is relaxed. We go on periodic team building events and brainstorming sessions. You're also able to bring your dog to work, if you so please :) The food we make is a big PRO. Before feeding my pet Freshpet Select, she was an extreme picky eater and severely underweight. Being close to community management and customer care, I've realized that my dog wasn't the only one loving and benefitting from steam-cooked, all-natural food. You'll see it reviews and on social, and it's a rewarding part of the job.

    Cons

    Like I mentioned teams are smaller, so you'll have to be prepared to pick up things quickly and also be a self-starter. But these are good qualities to own.

    Freshpet2018-08-08
  2. "Above Average Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Bethlehem, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth potential is exponential. Currently 1 plant, with a second one right next door on the way. 12 hour shifts, with a 24/7 production schedule. Expansion plans could be endless. Above average staff on day and night shift between the departments. Hard working teams on the floor; most people seem to thoroughly enjoy their job. Benefits and bonuses are great. Salary is so-so, for a supervisor. Quite a bit of freedom in the direction you want to run your department, as long as what needs to get done...gets done.

    Cons

    Some department front-line management is overbearing at times, and seems to be on a power-trip. It's noticeable and permeates throughout the plant. Redundancy is an issue - seems there are multiple levels to reports, duties, meetings, etc. Not quite sure how some people got hired here.

    Continue reading
    Freshpet2020-01-10
  3. "Pretty cool"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator III 

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a lot of benefits

    Cons

    stay away from negative people and focus on your job.

    Freshpet2019-09-03
  4. "Working at corporate (Secauscus) or plant (Bethelehem, meat processing) may change your perspective."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bethlehem, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freshpet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Above average benefits, fast growing.

    Cons

    Employees with longer tenure in managemnet dominate outcome of decisions. Bethleham facility is crowded with 20 sq . feet of work space for office employees. The manufacturing floor is at 40 deg F. If your job requires any time on production floor, it could be noisy, uncomfortably cold, smelly and walking over meat. It is a publicly owned company with debt and very little profit - check financial reports. The management has history of several similar company background with selling brand and starting new company - potential for brand sold to large corporation. Check top management total pay in financial report, high for the revenue and size of company. If you apply for a job relating to manufacturing be aware that it is a 24/7 operation , prepare to spend weekends/holidays at work and working conditions. Company has difficulty finding people, most office and engineering jobs are filled by recruiting agency.

    Continue reading
    Freshpet2019-01-22
  5. "Machine Operator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time

    Pros

    Pay good. Job is not hard.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime. Working in cold temperature.

    Continue reading
    Freshpet2018-10-02
  6. "Endless Opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management that listens and allows you to create new opportunities within your field and work across different functionalities, depending on your skills and interests. Smaller company culture that looks for employees with an entrepreneurial drive. Those who are self starters will thrive at this company.

    Cons

    While there is ample growth opportunity, I'm finding the compensation benefits to stay long-term is why people choose to move on. That said, those who choose to stay here are "lifers."

    Continue reading
    Freshpet2018-08-15
  7. "Freshpet is the most rewarding and satisfying company I've ever worked for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Administrator in Bethlehem, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Freshpet for 1 1/2 years now. Freshpet has been the best company I've worked for because they really do value and care about their employees. Everyone's very friendly and honest. The company communicates important matters which makes me very proud to work for a company that's working to make themselves a good place to work and a leader in their industry. We have great perks as employees and great benefits which we get rewarded for by working hard and being dedicated. It's a company that I can honestly call the best company I've worked for and I'm a big critic when it comes to that. I have worked in other manufacturing industries were you're just a number and there's a lack of teamwork and leadership. I see myself growing within and retiring from Freshpet. Why, because I see their rapid and steady continued growth. I recommend Freshpet to be on the list of the best 100 companies to work due to the company perks and benefits, their company culture and values, and their competitive wages. I can honestly say that I'm proud to call myself a Freshpet Employee!

    Cons

    We're running out of room due to our rapid growth :)!

    Continue reading
    Freshpet2018-07-31
  8. "Freshpet is a sick place to work! Vital culture & values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Freshpet for almost 2 years, and upon review it's been one of the best professional experiences of my career. From leadership to the support staff, everyone here is a pet lover themselves, and committed to making food they would be proud to fee their own dog or cat. I think that shared mindset is what creates a culture that's so oriented around doing the right thing, no matter what department you're in. There are (mercifully) no big egos or diva personalities, just a team of people who believe what they're doing matters, which is an awesome thing to be a part of. On the Marketing team in particular, our CMO encourages us to take risks and do things that can make a real impact on people's lives. Because of that encouragement, I was able to launch the Fresh Start campaign, which raised over $30k to build a rehab center for overlooked rescue animals. Bringing that idea to life and seeing the different Freshpet was able to make remains one of the highlights of my career. Bottom line, Freshpet is a great place filled with dedicated people who all deeply care about what they're doing.

    Cons

    I know this is trite but to me there really aren't any big deal issues I would consider a "con." We get healthy snacks in the office every day and all the free dog food we need (don't make the fake vomit noise, it's fresh and smells great!) What is there to not like haha

    Continue reading
    Freshpet2018-07-26
  9. "Great company that values its employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time

    Pros

    I truly feel that Freshpet really values its employees and wants them to succeed. I feel so fortunate to work at a company that appreciates the effort and time that I put in day in and day out. I'm not in a senior management role, and yet everyone from the CEO to the company co-founder knows my name, converses with all employees (no matter their role) on a daily basis, and shows a genuine interest in my ideas and input. I really feel empowered to put my best foot forward each and every day, and you won't find a company that appreciates its employees more than Freshpet. It's definitely a place that I can see myself working at for years to come!

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Freshpet2018-07-16
  10. "Super company - great !!! products"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freshpet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really great people and the products are really amazing. Growing fast and really good team environment. Vey good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes. Too much email

    Continue reading
    Freshpet2018-06-15
Found 29 reviews