GAF Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
GAF President and CEO Jim Schnepper
Jim Schnepper
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great learning environment and colleagues(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great people and an excellent working environment(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Full time employees don't have a great work life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "That is no room for advancement(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Operator

      Apr 14, 2021 - Production Associate in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, excellent pay and overtime

      Cons

      It's gets really hot in the summer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Management for company fleet (Hawk Logistics) very hard to work with.

      Apr 26, 2021 - Fleet Supervisor in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is okay, you will be reminded daily.

      Cons

      Everything else, immediate area manager is a head strong person with very unorthodox management skills. Continually looking for approval from his superior and continually talking down to and degrading his subordinates. Publicly trys to embarrass his subordinates on team calls and allows other team members to to the same thing. Very out of touch with current procedures for follow along or behind for covid 19 safety. Rude beyond belief and is never rarely in the office. Truly expects someone too work 24/7 by not allowing driverto be planned on Friday for the weekend. Expects his supervisor to stop what he's doing on Saturday morning, Saturday evening and Sundays to plan drivers. I have never worked for a more unprofessional manager in my 40 years in the transportation industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      How can you tell????

      Apr 8, 2021 - Machine Operator in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The advertised pay looked good for this area.

      Cons

      I was here for an interview and was told to wait in the cold, inhospitable lobby while the person that was to interview me called off and their replacement stood in a hallway laughing and conversating while i sat watching for over an hour! Once I finally got my interview, the guy was not engaging and seemed tired and bored. He was not interested in hiring me from the moment he looked at me and he made it obvious. 10 minutes later he show me to the door and told me good luck with my search as a extra insult on top. I am not sure if he was racist, but if I had to bet, I would say that I was a vicim in this case. I wish I remeber his name so I could report this.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      GAF Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. This is concerning to hear as GAF is proud to be an equal opportunity employer that makes all employment decisions without regard to race or any other any protected characteristic and strictly prohibits discrimination and harassment. We take allegations of this nature very seriously and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns, which you can do anonymously if you prefer. Please contact our Compliance department at 1-866-890-4450 or https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/68599/index.html.

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Always learning

      Mar 28, 2021 - E&I Technician in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of Overtime, always learning something new, good crews to work with.

      Cons

      work life balance almost non existent, management style leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Work Culture was better when I was there...

      Mar 26, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Parsippany, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people and nice to work with

      Cons

      Not much opportunity to learning newer technologies

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Mar 30, 2021 - Material Handler in Fontana, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work is pretty straightforward.

      Cons

      Trainer needs to touch base to ensure top level efficiency. Supplies are not always filled.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Outdated and Divided

      Feb 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      401k, compensation at market rate

      Cons

      - too political: nothing gets done without playing politics - everyone wants to take full credits and unwilling to collaborate - extremely hierarchical: you're expected to do whatever your manager wants, even if that's meaningless, wasteful, against the team's and company's vision/plan, etc. - reluctant to innovate/change: they say they want to and are dedicated to innovate, but they don't except the c-suite - everyone's afraid of change and the majority of people like the status quo and just want to keep doing what they've been doing - zero transparency: there's absolutely zero transparency across the company - disrespectful senior management: your boss often times becomes your biggest bottleneck and senior management rarely helps you or guides you and rather points a finger at you In summary, everything is outdated within GAF. If you are ready to retire and like a steady/mundane job, then it might work out for you. But if you're passionate about your work and want to improve and do the right thing, you'll get frustrated every minute you're here (especially in tech department).

      1 person found this review helpful

      GAF Response

      Your experience is troubling to hear. We're focused on creating a space for innovation and growth for all our employees. We would like to hear more of your thoughts on your time at GAF. Please feel free to email us at gaf.hrparsippany@gaf.com.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      If you want to work where you can move the needle

      Feb 16, 2021 - EVP in Parsippany, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and community. Employees help each other be successful. Collaborative, Agile, community oriented.

      Cons

      You can work 24/7 and not realize it

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      GAF Response

      Your dedication to your team is beyond appreciated and we're glad you're part of the family!

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Racist company

      Mar 3, 2021 - Roofing Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not many. Some of the employees are good to work with.

      Cons

      They refuse to promote within their company if it is a Hispanic applying for the job. They will only hire or promote just enough where they can’t be sued and hide behind a group they have implemented that only segregates Latinos further. It’s an embarrassment and they are a terrible company to work for.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      GAF Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. This is extremely concerning as GAF is proud to be an equal opportunity employer that makes all employment decisions without regard to race or any other any protected characteristic and strictly prohibits discrimination and harassment. We take these allegations very seriously and we want to discuss your concerns. Please contact our Compliance Hotline at 1-866-890-4450 or visit https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/68599/index.html. Please know your feedback can be submitted anonymously if you choose.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Feb 24, 2021 - Supply Planner in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great support from all levels of leadership

      Cons

      Can be a demanding job at times

      1 person found this review helpful

      GAF Response

      We're so glad you're part of our community! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 208 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with GAF Job Seekers

    Territory Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at GAF? Share Your Experiences

    GAF logo
    or