Georgetown University Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Georgetown University President and Director Jack DeGioia
Jack DeGioia
306 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low salary for staff or internship and contract(in 32 reviews)

  • "DC is expensive and it's hard to pay people in a way that reflects the cost of living(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work and study"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Georgetown University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gain experience on-campus while studying

    Cons

    Not enough hours for students to work

    Georgetown University2020-06-03
  2. "Not applicable"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in Washington, DC

    I worked at Georgetown University full-time

    Pros

    Not applicable So Please Don't Ask

    Cons

    Low paying salary which really sucks

    Georgetown University2020-05-21
  3. "Great place to work on campus"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Kennedy Institute - Student Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Georgetown University part-time

    Pros

    I loved my experience working at the Kennedy Institute at Georgetown! It is such a welcoming work environment with some of the kindest professors on campus. I also learned alot of about bioethics by helping out at events, which was a very cool experience.

    Cons

    There is not always much to do, which can get a little boring

    Georgetown University2020-05-19
  4. "Great part-time opportunities for students"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Student Employee 

    I worked at Georgetown University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, you develop great skills for post-grad

    Cons

    Hiring can take a while depending on your department

    Georgetown University2020-05-14
  5. "Generally Okay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgetown University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prestigious job experience, working with a lot of smart people

    Cons

    I think its fair to say Academia can be a very dysfunctional industry. Sometimes the red tape was draining.

    Continue reading
    Georgetown University2020-05-21
  6. "Good team dynamic"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Georgetown University part-time

    Pros

    - my team was small but close and this contributed to a positive working environment

    Cons

    - hard to move up career-wise

    Georgetown University2020-05-18
  7. "realtor"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Realtor 

    I have been working at Georgetown University part-time

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    not really anything bad to say

    Georgetown University2020-05-01
  8. "Great boss, lots of bureaucracy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 

    I have been working at Georgetown University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly stable, well organized, great management

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucracy for simple things

    Georgetown University2020-05-13
  9. "Good Benefits, Low Pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office of Advancement in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Georgetown University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The 401k matching program is unlike anything I have experienced anywhere else. Also, health insurance costs are pretty low.

    Cons

    Salary isn't competitive with what you can find working at other non-profits in the D.C. area.

    Continue reading
    Georgetown University2020-05-11
  10. "Not a professional environment"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at Georgetown University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment which makes for a good work/life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to get anything done as academics move at a much slower pace; they are mostly concerned with publications that are mainly done by the grad students

    Continue reading
    Georgetown University2020-05-04
Found 816 reviews