Gerdau Reviews | Glassdoor

Gerdau Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Gerdau CEO André Bier Gerdau Johannpeter
André Bier Gerdau Johannpeter
89 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very smooth interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gerdau full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The on-boarding process could have been better. Not centralized, many tools, many systems. It's a little bit time consuming to set up all what is needed to do you job.

    Cons

    Very fast and smooth interview process, 6 interviews (one screening phone interview, 1 with hiring managers and 4 more). All within 2 weeks.

    Gerdau2019-10-20
  2. "Maintenance mechanics review notes condition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer 

    I worked at Gerdau full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and pay rate

    Cons

    Long hours not enough time for family

    Gerdau2019-11-08
  3. "Not a horrible place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mill Operator in Monroe, MI
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gerdau full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money and close to home

    Cons

    New owners don’t know how to take care of their works, very rude people

    Gerdau2019-10-17
  4. "Engineering Jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Eniner in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gerdau full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good

    Cons

    Located in a bad section of town

    Gerdau2019-09-22
  5. "Horrible and getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rm Conditioner in Monroe, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Gerdau full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None none none none none

    Cons

    Possibly the shittiest health care a place of employment offers to their employees. Penny's on the dollar 401k match, no sick days, no personal days, it's disgusting how they treat us. The free healthcare Dundee castings offer their employees is better then what we pay for.

    Advice to Management

    Futile

    Gerdau2019-09-27
  6. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Monroe, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gerdau full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are appreciated and the work is good. Growing company, striving for the best.

    Cons

    Swing shift but it comes with a paycheck.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and training programs.

    Gerdau2019-08-19
  7. "Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Superintendent in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gerdau full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most committed hard working people I have had the pleasure of working with! Pay was great!

    Cons

    The work is hard and the job is very demanding.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the union. out and treat the hard working people great! Their jobs are not easy!

    Gerdau2019-07-09
  8. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Maintenance Technician in Midlothian, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gerdau for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, work environment and comradary

    Cons

    Poor management. Claim safety is first but only if it doesn’t effect production. No work/slide balance. Required to work lots of overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Better management of time and resources

    Gerdau2019-01-17
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gerdau full-time

    Pros

    Great company overall no complaints

    Cons

    None at all very good company

    Gerdau2018-12-09
  10. "You always do more than you're supposed to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Gerdau

    Pros

    Wage, vacation time, matched 401k to 6%

    Cons

    The management tends to only like the bosses pets

    Advice to Management

    Talk and listen to the employees. The managers only listen to the ones that kiss up. Reward the ones who deserve it.

    Gerdau2018-12-04
Found 1163 reviews