GitHub Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
GitHub CEO Nat Friedman (no image)
Nat Friedman
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Remote work culture is refreshing(in 8 reviews)

  • "Easy to have work/life balance due to remote work policy and unlimited vacation(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Nothing much, Unable to adjust work life balance due to workloads(in 3 reviews)

  • "Come to GitHub knowing that it will help your resume, but that you will largely do your best work after you leave(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "No I in Team - Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Business Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere Great co-workers Remote friendly flexible work schedule great benefits clear communication

    Cons

    Big learning curve constant learning I don't really have any cons, but this thing has a minimum amount of words.

    GitHub2020-04-20
  2. "Diversity problems and lack of accountability"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time

    Pros

    Strong culture of empathy and kindness. Remote first work allows for great flexibility and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Difficult to have hard conversations because it's not acceptable to criticize one other. Company and leadership are 70% white despite claiming to embrace diversity, inclusion & belonging.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2020-06-02
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic people, less than ideal leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time

    Pros

    GitHub has incredible front line workers. Coworkers were caring and empathetic for the most part. They are still an A+ name on your resume, though that may be declining.

    Cons

    GitHub is the most chaotic place that I have ever worked. Leadership is hilariously inept for such a large company. Late in 2019 we almost doubled the number of employees quite literally overnight with absolutely no preparation. Internal resources are stressed to the limit dealing with the constant demands of leadership. Come to GitHub knowing that it will help your resume, but that you will largely do your best work after you leave.

    GitHub2020-03-20
  4. "Great ride"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Video Editor/Producer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People I met and grew with

    Cons

    Introduction of managers upon the sunsetting of a flat org

    GitHub2019-10-08
  5. Helpful (21)

    "Some days were great. Others sucked away your soul."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits are good. -Remote work can be good. -Company is strong. -Microsoft helping GitHub to mature. -Microsoft channel is huge for enterprise sales.

    Cons

    - Clicks. Build the right relationships or your career will be limited. While this is true everywhere I've worked, it was more noticeable in certain pockets. - Poor management in some areas. CMO is desperately needed. - Rotating door in some departments. When everyone is underperforming, maybe it's time to replace the leadership. - Claim to support fail-fast, fail-small mentality, but will punish people for it at reviews. - Their 360 review process is implemented poorly. I've seen several people be hurt by feedback that the subject never received nor could respond to. - Remote work success depends on management. New CEO is in the office and rewards "tap on the shoulder" availability. - They are trying to shift to being decision-oriented, but in practice, decisions are made much higher in the organization than they should.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-08-21
  6. "Good Place"

    4.0
    Current Employee - EBR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to grow and learn i tech

    Cons

    Management is sometimes micromanagy and unorganized

    GitHub2019-08-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly - Technically rewarding - Good management

    Cons

    - Could use more diversity

    GitHub2019-07-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "great place"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GitHub part-time

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    nothing really, i dont have too many complaints

    GitHub2019-05-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trust, flexibility, great product, brand name, awesome leadership that has done this before. I really feel that these will be the best working years of my career. There's plenty of room for promotions if you hit your numbers and with Microsoft in the picture, I have no doubt their influence will accelerate our ability to succeed.

    Cons

    Just like any startup we learn by doing, so there are occasional ups and downs, but the growth mindset and comfort with mistakes is embraced at the highest levels of leadership.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-01-29
  10. "great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it was wonderful lots of fun

    Cons

    none is wrong with this placce

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-01-27
Found 68 reviews