Granicus Reviews | Glassdoor

Granicus Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Granicus CEO Mark Hynes
Mark Hynes
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "In my experience, Granicus is a great place to work(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great benefits overall to go along with solid work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Just seems like the complainers are extra loud at Granicus(in 22 reviews)

  • "Due to this and the fact that almost everyone is quite underpaid, burnout is a serious issue that no one seems to consider or care about(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Get 'er done and change lives."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granicus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Granicus is a place where the products work, customers achieve results and ultimately citizens are rewarded. We're helping feed kids, linking people to healthcare options, and getting veterans the services they need. The new acquisitions are exciting opportunity to sell more too. Its all about mission and outcomes. Come here and make a difference every day.

    Cons

    I've got what I need to succeed and any decent sales person will kill it here but if you have to have the boondoggle sales club trip to feel whole about your sales gig this isn't the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Love the vision on integrated products, keep going here, its worth the time.

    Granicus2019-08-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Growing opportunities at a growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granicus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best pro is who you are working for. I've never had a manager more focused on ensuring that their team is best set up for success. After working many jobs where I have been micromanaged and overworked it is a breath of fresh air to be able to be strategic in my role, and allocate my time as I best see fit. In addition, the executive team is amazing. From being able to have a conversation with our CEO, to... being able to chat with VP's on the daily, you always feel that you have a voice and an impact. Work life balance is huge to me, and Granicus has found the perfect balance of always having something to do, but at the same time not encroaching on your personal life. This job one where if you are organized, you can work 9-5 and never more, while still accomplishing all you are expected to. I took a pay decrease to come to Granicus (changing roles), and have never once regretted this decision. You can not put a price on work life balance, culture, and career improvement.

    Show More

    Cons

    When first starting, it can be overwhelming to try and learn all the products at once. There is great on boarding services, however maybe segmenting into pieces to gain a full understanding of each product at once could be helpful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Since starting I have heard of "growing pains" as Granicus has acquired many company's. However, since I started I have experience none of these pains and it is clear that Granicus has put a lot of effort into their new on boarding methodology.

    Granicus2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Setting the standard for govtech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granicus full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing company with opportunities for professional development. Excellent access to leadership. Clear, achievable objectives.

    Cons

    Fast growth leads to new challenges on a daily basis. Tough, but not unattainable, metrics.

    Granicus2019-08-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, not the most competitive salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Business Development Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granicus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility and a strong vision for the future

    Cons

    Lower pay than the market average

    Granicus2019-08-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Impact, at scale!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granicus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you're the kind of person who wants to make an impact, then it's hard to beat the scale you can achieve at Granicus. Colleagues are friendly and I'm always learning from my team. There is a lot of work to do, but I never feel like I can't take the time I need, when life becomes a distraction and you just need to take a moment. Benefits and compensation is fair.

    Cons

    Only con I see is that we've been growing in the market slightly faster than the teams, but this year, it's clear the company is hiring like mad to mitigate that. This is helpful though if you're a go-getter and want a place you know you can move around and up. There are always openings that may catch your eye.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recognize that your employees are you real product.

    Granicus2019-08-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good Mission, Poor Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Granicus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission of this company is great and the products this company offers are world class. I truly believe Graniucs' software/services do good for citizens The people you work with day to day here are great

    Cons

    This is no longer a long term place to stay. Granicus used to care a lot about its tenured employees, but has now hurt themselves by letting experienced, tenured employees go to save a quick buck. This has put heavy stress on the remaining employees causing more turnover and a downward spiral.

    Advice to Management

    Pay tenured people what they are worth. Don't let them go simply to save a buck. Listen to your employee feed back. Review "Intense Workload and Low Pay" hit it right on the head

    Granicus2019-08-13
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Intense Workload and Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Granicus full-time

    Pros

    - Casual atmosphere - Good team members

    Cons

    - Higher workload than industry standard - Lower pay than industry standard across all positions - Lack of support from Management - High turnover - Lack of product knowledge and capacity from high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and don't dismiss our concerns -- and expect us to listen to your actions as well as your words. When an employee survey said one of the biggest "opportunities" was to increase pay, the CEO stated in an all-hands that people who want to make more money should get a new job because Granicus is a place to start, not a place to stay for money. I guess that's why almost all of Support,... Product, and Dev have left over the past year.

    Show More
    Granicus2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to work for a time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer 

    I worked at Granicus full-time

    Pros

    A passionate group of coworkers, excited about the work they do.

    Cons

    Unclear direction. Issue with upper management caused stress for employees

    Granicus2019-08-12
  9. Helpful (6)

    "for beginners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deployment Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granicus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free food, free food, free food.

    Cons

    the good ol boy's club.

    Granicus2019-08-05
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Not sales friendly, poorly run, high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granicus full-time

    Pros

    I liked the guys on the sales team and our immediate managers. That's it

    Cons

    Beware Sales People: They will quote you OTE, but they don't pay OTE like normal tech companies. I actually had to explain what OTE means and then they explained the way they pay. The way they pay OTE is.... you will hit your OTE if you hit your quota and overachieve. FYI; less than 20% of the reps hit quota and the majority of them were on the Fed team. State and local reps rarely make quota. So in the end you... won't make anywhere near your OTE. I was over quota for the year and didn't come close to making my OTE number. In addition the operational part of Granicus is dysfunctional and can cost you deals and no one is held accountable for mistakes. I don't know a rep that is happy there and most are biding there time before they quit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get new leadership

    Granicus2019-08-02
Found 105 reviews