Graphiq Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Graphiq CEO Kevin O'Connor
Kevin O'Connor
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "FindTheBest lets every employee to make strategic decisions(in 18 reviews)

  • "The office sits on an oceanside bluff with a 270 degree ocean view about 15 minutes south of downtown Santa Barbara(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours due to the startup culture, fine for those willing to give their all for the mission and future of the company(in 25 reviews)

  • "Santa Barbara isn’t for everyone(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing place to work

      Nov 7, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - One-of-a-kind culture of meritocracy, work and fun. - You get to own what you build. You are encourage to invent and innovate. - Amazing location with beautiful view of the ocean on one side and mountains on another.

      Cons

      - Be prepared to work long hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Cons outweighed the pros

      Feb 21, 2021 - Software Engineer in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) you get to work in Santa Barbara

      Cons

      1) you rarely get to ever enjoy Santa Barbara 2) management is incestual -- both figuratively and literally 3) huge egos 4) colleagues overly protective of their time makes you feel that you're always at their mercy when requesting a meeting -- awful for building professional synergy 5) sink or swim mentality for projects that pretend to be more than they are. don't be fooled when you join -- in 9 cases out of 10, your manager couldn't care less about you and is only going to squeeze you for every bit of work before tossing you aside. 6) the attitudes and lack of vision 7) watching fellow kids drone the best years of their lives away slaving for leadership who couldn't care less about them or their well-being 8) the over-indexing on feminism. barf. enough is enough. we get it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Unique, growing company with a ton of potential

      Jul 15, 2015 - Product Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of companies brag about being a "meritocracy" - a place where promotions and success are purely dictated by your merit without the influence of any political factors, favoritism, etc. In my experience, this is a truly rare environment to find but FindTheBest has it. If you are hard working and ambitious, this company allows you to grow your own career as fast you can handle. After only working at FindTheBest for a few years I was been put in situations that someone with my age and experience would never get to experience at other places. The culture is super fun and energetic, Santa Barbara is a beautiful city, etc. but for me it's the trust and responsibility that the leaders of the company place in younger employees hands that makes working at FindTheBest truly satisfying and unique.

      Cons

      Being an ambitious, young start-up means that people are expected to work fast and hard. This means that there are times when you will be expected to work more than 8 hours a day if you want to do well. The hours you work are totally up to you, and face time is not at all required or looked at, but if you want to do well you're going to have to put in the work which can sometimes mean getting in early and staying late to prove yourself.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A work hard, play hard company in an exciting new phase of growth

      Aug 25, 2015 - Sales in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Graphiq is an incredible place to work. Our company is the definition of work hard, play hard. The employees are bright, hard-working individuals from all over the country who are eager to change the way data is consumed. The company gives a TON of responsibility starting on day one. Even entry level employees are able to take on challenging projects and are expected to find innovative solutions to problems. If you're looking to grow quickly in your career, this is definitely the place to do so. Graphiq has a pretty unbeatable culture. The team loves to have fun both in and outside of the office. We're lucky to have a ton of perks around the office including a trainer 4 days a week, yoga classes, a fully stocked kitchen, regular guest speakers, manager training, amazing ocean views, direct access to the beach, etc. Outside of the office, there are always team-wide happy hours, offsites, kickball games, and many other opportunities to bond with co-workers and experience Santa Barbara. I can't say enough good things about this place & these people!

      Cons

      Graphiq is competitive. Colleagues are constantly challenging one another to do and be their best, and that type of fast-paced environment is not for everyone. We also work start-up hours, which can lead to burn out if you're not used to balancing work & personal life.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company Revolutionizing the Online Publishing Industry

      Aug 19, 2015 - Marketing in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I think the biggest pro is that there's countless opportunity to anyone who is willing to work hard. I've been with the company for 2.5 years now and have seen multiple promotions that have come with escalating responsibilities and challenges, and I've loved every second of it. I've always been optimistic on the company's future, but after our rebrand and entrance into a new market, I'm even more excited than I was before. It's not very often that you get to be part of a team that is revolutionizing an industry, and that's exactly what we're doing here. We're tackling big problems and seeing incredible adoption and excitement in the online publishing industry. Without a doubt, it's an exciting time to be on the team at Graphiq. The other pros: location, co-workers, flexibility, ability to learn, and our CEO, Kevin O'Connor.

      Cons

      This is not a company for the faint of heart. We come into the office every day and work long hours because we believe in what we're doing. We believe there is a better way to gain knowledge, a better way to visualize data, and a better way to organize information. You have to move quickly and learn even more quickly when you face setbacks. For me, none of this is a con, but it's definitely not for everyone.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Work Hard, Surf Hard: Ambitious Company Tackling Challenging Problems

      Jun 26, 2015 - Senior Group Product Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a TON of opportunity if you’re willing to work hard and develop yourself. During my time at FindTheBest I launched countless products that were definitely considered “unconventional” relative to some of the other products being rolled out. It’s true that initially you face some tough criticism when you’re trying something new and experimental (as you should - you’re investing company resources in doing so), but if you get it right you will be rewarded. I can’t count the number of times I was told “that’s crazy” or even just had to spin up my own server to build an MVP, but when the products hit I was rewarded and promoted for my contributions. Even if a product flops, it’s understood not every swing will be a grand slam - just move on to the next one and make something that works. After you get a few wins on the board you will be respected and given even more freedom to build. The caliber of people you will meet here is fantastic. FindTheBest only recruits from top tier universities, so everyone in the office is smart. I am very happy with the network I was able to develop during my time here. This is a very high performing team, so if an individual isn’t performing they will stick out like a sore thumb and feel uncomfortable due the high levels of transparency. If you aren’t doing your job well, everyone around you will know. That said, management is very focused on talent development and would much rather improve a current employee than source a new one. FindTheBest even has weekly FTBu’s (FindTheBest University) aimed at developing the less experienced employees. Some of the guest speakers during my time at FindTheBest included Steve Blank, Randy Komisar, and Bing Gordon. If you’re looking for real world exposure to Sand Hill Road it doesn’t get much better than that. If you don’t know where Sand Hill Road is, don’t worry - there’s an FTBu for that. The location is amazing. The office sits on an oceanside bluff with a 270 degree ocean view about 15 minutes south of downtown Santa Barbara. This location results in a “reverse commute”, meaning you never have to sit in traffic as most of the city is driving in the opposite direction as you come to and from work. Santa Barbara is not a big city, but that’s what I think it makes it so great. The city is small enough to get just about anywhere in less than 20 minutes and after only a few months of living there you will start to feel a real sense of community as you can’t help but see people you know out and about. Santa Barbara also has an awesome array of outdoor activities, whether you’re into surfing, golf, hiking, or beach volleyball, this place is great. The one exception is that the surf dies down in the summer, so buy a wetsuit and get ready for some cold water.

      Cons

      This is NOT Google or Facebook. You don’t have a 1 billion users to roll a new product out to. It is 100% on you to make a product people want, but if you’re smart, scrappy, and willing to work hard you will achieve success, get some great experience, and have an awesome time doing it. Management will give you a lot of rope to try new things and develop yourself. If you’re not careful, you can hang yourself with it. Santa Barbara isn’t for everyone. If you want a fast paced, concrete jungle/urban lifestyle, you probably won’t be feeling this mellow beach town’s laid back vibe. You might even find yourself wondering why you never get to sit in traffic or inhale a nice cloud of bus fumes. In all seriousness, Santa Barbara can be a little quiet which is understandably not for everyone. This isn’t a 10 person startup anymore and breaking into management can be tough. It’s almost 6 years old and there is a management team in place. Most of management has been with the company for 4+ years (85% of the company's existence), so if you want to break into this group you will need be a very fast learner and extremely good at your job. It’s not easy but I’ve seen it done here, so it’d definitely possible.

      Continue reading
      29 people found this review helpful

      Graphiq Response

      Community Manager

      Hey “Work Hard, Surf Hard,” thanks for the feedback! Our marketing team may be reaching out to ask for the rights to that tagline… but really, thank you for the thorough review. While we can't say we enjoy losing employees to new opportunities, we do love hearing that your time at FindTheBest was a positive one and instrumental in your professional development. We wish you the best of luck on your next adventure and hope you’ll swing by the office to catch a wave if you’re ever in the area. Thanks!

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company, Now is Gone

      Feb 12, 2019 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a nice time working there

      Cons

      It's no longer a company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place for young, ambitious leaders

      Mar 7, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top-notch environment with young, intelligent workers who collaborate across departments and socialize together outside of work. This creates strong bonds that continue beyond Graphiq. Most people are genuinely happy to come into work every day spend time on projects they care about, which goes hand in hand with the tremendous amount of autonomy employees are granted. This company ably pivoted from FindTheBest to Graphiq, a remarkable transition that could not have happened without outstanding commitment from every worker from top to bottom. Many employees have demonstrated remarkable adaptability in different roles, showcasing the intelligence and can-do attitude permeating throughout the company.

      Cons

      It seems like it's difficult to attract mid- to upper-level managers (especially in product) from outside due to relatively low salaries compared to industry level. That being said, salary increases in relevant departments are reportedly being explored ahead of Q2. While a handful of upper-level managers have been lost in past year, VERY few, if any, have been brought in to replace them. Instead, recruiting has focused on hiring recent college grads. Transitioning from start-up to established company will be a challenge if new, experienced voices are not brought in to give fresh perspective to established managers at the top.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Competitive Culture Brings the Out the Best in You

      Sep 2, 2015 - Product Lead in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive workplace pushes you to be the best you can be. - A lot of autonomy right from the start with a lot of opportunity to shape your projects. - Opportunity to learn and develop skills in which you're interested (I've learned stock investing, coding, and paddle boarding during my time here). - Close office community and good traditions.

      Cons

      - Fairly long hours. They often breeze by, but they sometimes do wear on a bit long (Friday...). - Salary's a bit low. You get rewarded with more equity, but I still have some concerns regarding dilution of equity in future rounds and the time horizon for actually getting the equity (there's a one-year cliff). - Food could be better in the kitchen.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Get out what you put in

      Oct 2, 2014 - Product Lead in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Besides the exec team, everyone works under a strict meritocracy. If you demonstrate your capability to management, you will be loaded with responsibility. When you're loaded with responsibility, the opportunities to learn are endless. You have near complete control over your work, because it's a very results driven environment. Quintessential startup-feel, with very few inefficiencies tolerated Extremely competitive environment - but fosters positivity You'll pick up really really good transferrable skills in almost every role (database management, SQL, ad-tech, etc.) Santa Barbara is an unbelievable place. It's big enough not to feel like a small-town, its got a pretty thriving tech scene, and it's extremely healthy (biking, hiking trails, ocean, great food)

      Cons

      Lower than average compensation (usually offset by a good amount of equity) Expensive to live in Santa Barbara Hours are long Need to enjoy an unstructured environment with little direction from upper management - you're often shouldered with the responsibility to perform in the face of uncertainty

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Graphiq Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for the feedback! We're glad to see that you're enjoying your position at FindTheBest so far, and we're glad to see that you feel there are endless opportunities to learn, that's so important at a startup and we hope it will benefit you in your career. If you have any additional feedback or advice you'd like to share, we'd love to hear from you. You can talk to your manager, submit anonymous feedback on TinyPulse (our anonymous employee feedback platform), or email inquiries@findthebest.com. Thanks!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 86 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Graphiq Job Seekers

    Knowledge Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Graphiq? Share Your Experiences

    Graphiq logo
    or