Group One Trading Reviews | Glassdoor

Group One Trading Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Benjamin Londergan
6 Ratings
  1. "Great workplace, especially since CEO change ~5 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Group One Trading full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    -Never work overtime -Friendly, helpful teams -Great benefits, pay, etc

    Cons

    401k vesting is 5 years (20%/year)

    Group One Trading2019-05-15
  2. "Professional & Competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Group One Trading full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Competitive yet friendly working environment. You always get to learn new and interesting things through projects and senior management.

    Cons

    Sometimes the firm pushed too much effort towards processes like employee review and it became burden for employees to have to write a lot of self evaluation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Group One Trading2019-02-12
  3. "Trading Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Group One Trading full-time

    Pros

    People are generally pleasant and willing to help. Classes for trading analysts are taught well. Chicago office located right by the exchange. The day generally ends when the market closes at 3, maybe an hour past. Overall an okay place to get your foot in the door.

    Cons

    For a small company the firm is top-heavy. Little to no diversity in management even though there are a lot of managers. Less than competitive salary for most non-managers. Some department managers seem unfocused and do not seem to have any idea what their subordinates do all day. HR is often non-present and makes no secret of playing favorites. Culture is very cliquey.

    Advice to Management

    The firm sorely lacks diversity, and unfortunately it can get reflected in how some employees get treated. HR needs to be more respectful when addressing employees.

    Group One Trading2019-01-13
  4. "trading analyst intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Group One Trading part-time

    Pros

    great people, and good environment

    Cons

    very trivial work. no brain power required

    Advice to Management

    give more intellectually stimulating projects

    Group One Trading2018-03-08
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Still Going Strong..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Group One Trading full-time

      Pros

      Despite some of the reviews here from 2010, Group One is still alive and doing well.

      Cons

      Bonuses depend greatly on market conditions, and that's out of everyone's control.

      Group One Trading2017-03-10
    • Helpful (8)

      "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Group One Trading part-time

      Pros

      Fun work environment with staff really devoted to ensuring your success. Hard work gets rewarded as it should

      Cons

      A lot of unfilled time, I guess that's one of the cons of trading is that that is the case,

      Advice to Management

      Focus more on recruiting and development and stuff like that you feel, is like your future and stuff you need us you feel

      Group One Trading2017-02-02
    • Helpful (8)

      "Awesome place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Internship in Naperville, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Group One Trading for more than a year

      Pros

      High Compensation Excellent Training Great Culture

      Cons

      High stress Fast work environment

      Group One Trading2016-12-03
    • Helpful (9)

      "Pretty Good Internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Group One Trading

      Pros

      Hands on xperience with traders/brokers

      Cons

      A lot of intern work (i.e. getting lunch everyday)

      Group One Trading2016-04-21
    • Helpful (9)

      "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Group One Trading

      Pros

      Good company, good people. One of few trading firms left.

      Cons

      Be mindful to treat all employees equally.

      Group One Trading2016-04-14
    • Helpful (14)

      "The Best Job I've Ever Had!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Administrator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Group One Trading full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      I am approaching my ten year anniversary at Group One Trading. This small privately held company has given me the best job I've ever had of the 16 jobs I've held in my life. The experience you will have at Group One depends directly on your own ability to produce useful results for the company, and the department you work in. This is not a place that wastes time in endless meetings, or where schmoozing and politics...

      Show More

      Cons

      This is not the kiddie bowling alley. If you keep throwing gutter balls, there aren't rubber bumpers and do-overs. Your mistakes can easily cost the firm huge sums of money, and you could lose your job, or prevent your career from advancing further. This is perfectly fair, and perfectly scary at the same time. Trader Trainees have it the worst, and you will see that in the other reviews. Put yourself in the firm's...

      Show More
      Group One Trading2013-11-26
    Found 26 reviews