Guardian Protection Reviews | Glassdoor

Guardian Protection Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Guardian Protection CEO Bryan Cipoletti  (no image)
Bryan Cipoletti
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and they are personable throughout the company on a corporate level(in 7 reviews)

  • "That being said, the career progression in the customer service role is there is you are motivated and want it(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Like many customer service jobs, working with customers can be tedious and frustrating if you get the wrong person(in 6 reviews)

  • "Upper management did nothing to remedy the situation and because of this, 5 employees resigned within 5 days(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to Build a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Protection Specialist in Warrendale, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guardian was a great place to work. They have a fun and hard working culture that is not hard to notice. Guardian typically promotes from within giving great opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    A lot of traffic in the area it is located.

    Guardian Protection2019-08-13
  2. "Good until they decide to find a reason to get rid of you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Service Technician in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really liked the job I was doing. CCTV, Access Control. The fellow techs were great to work with. Spent most of the day driving, about 1/3 of the day doing actual work.

    Cons

    Long hours. My last full week, I hit 57 hours. Not enough training, most of the stuff I did, I had to figure out on my own. Thank God for Google. If you need help or need to escalate to a higher level technician, management looks down on you. If you hire someone to work on security systems, maybe take the actual time to train on security systems. They might have you tag along with another tech to learn, but... they'll schedule him for jobs you already know how to do. No real feedback on how you're doing. Can't improve if you really don't know how you're doing. You literally bleed for the company and then they suddenly make up a reason to get rid of you. Beware of supervisors that act like your friend, it's an act. He'll tell you that you're fine doing something, then later he'll fire you for it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to how your supervisors are actually managing their staff. If there's no write ups, but people are suddenly gone, there's a problem and it ain't the regular staff.

    Guardian Protection2019-12-06
  3. "Great people no support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guardian Protection full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and supervisors. Everyone is really nice and welcoming. Benefits are good and there is an on site gym and locker room.

    Cons

    Not enough training or support. You try to call other departments and they don't want to take the call. Help Desk are always on calls so you can't get help when you need it. Its overwhelming. Management has no idea what the job is like. They care more about the numbers then employees. We get back to back calls and all management says is to go faster. Quality cares more about asking for an email than having a good... interaction and they contradict themselves. Pay isn't worth it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your office and learn what the job is really like. Give the support we need to take care of our customers.

    Guardian Protection2019-10-16
  4. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A check,A Check,A check,A check

    Cons

    Racist bigoted Cowboys with evil in they're hearts

    Advice to Management

    Stop being Bigoted

    Guardian Protection2019-10-27
  5. "Hit or Miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 

    I have been working at Guardian Protection full-time

    Pros

    For a very individualized company, there is a surprising amount of good camaraderie among employees, though it's often a shared frustration about how customers can be rude.

    Cons

    Like many customer service jobs, working with customers can be tedious and frustrating if you get the wrong person.

    Guardian Protection2019-10-01
  6. "Customer Care Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guardian Protection full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They really appreciate your hard work. It’s also very hands on training, so some computer knowledge and call center experience will definitely put you at an advantage. Management truly cares and will make sure you have a hand in succeeding. This also comes with working hard to take care of the customers. There is also incentives to continue to do well and tons of resources to help you gain knowledge on the job.... Wonderful PTO, health care benefits, along with retirement, life insurance, and short term disability.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay could be better. Lots of management changes currently, causing a little bit of turbulence with the departments.

    Advice to Management

    I think that the abrupt changes are hard for everyone so implementing them slower would not cause so much distraction from the job.

    Guardian Protection2019-07-23
  7. "Monitoring Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Monitoring Specialist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team members treat you like family. They are interested in your stories. Serious but fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Monthly celebrations of anniversary/birthday hire months with cake from Costco. I couldn't stop eating the yummy CAKE!

    Advice to Management

    Keep being personable and caring about the frontline workers. It really boosts morale.

    Guardian Protection2019-07-20
  8. "Good Company, Bad execs running the place that are accountants that couldnt sell Water in a drought"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - STC in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    keyis to have a good relationship with your supervisors, coworkers in your office to thrive. The culture is strong and respectable. Good benefits and they are personable throughout the company on a corporate level. Not speaking for Dealers.

    Cons

    recent changes have placed personnel in decision making positions that frankly, don't know what they are doing because they only know numbers and never sold or been in a commission based position. You cant operate on a bean counting formula and expect to maintain prestige and keep up with competitors. Company leads aren't what they promise. Depending on the office, They are limited in security resources so if you... are experienced in the security industry, be prepared to be in a straight jacket. Company moves too slow to solutions that are repeated complaints and the solutions are being shouted from every salesman and woman, every Area manager, every Ops Manager. The compensation recently changed greatly. Larger jobs pay less by 20-40%. Accoutants thinking sales people cant count or do simple multiplication, division and fractions. They increased pay on basic systems, but lowered pay on larger systems thus depending on what the salesman was consitantly selling, results in lesser pay if he or she maintains their average units per month.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your Office managers and area managers better and listen to them. Chances are, they know waaaay more than you. Stop filling top exec positions with ppl that DONT know the culture, haven't sold or have a success track record of selling aka Accountants!!! Count all the beans you want. when its time to cook the beans and you want meat to go with it, they are useless in a sales direction management realm.

    Guardian Protection2019-07-19
  9. "Na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time

    Pros

    Hours are good and no weekends

    Cons

    Lack of training and communication

    Guardian Protection2019-07-30
  10. "Run, run fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Newtown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have an office with free parking to attend mandatory weekly meetings.

    Cons

    There is nothing beneficial to working for Guardian. No "allowed" time off, No sick time, no medical leave, NO VACATION (even unpaid vacation is not allowed), you're on call 24 hours every day of the week, driving your personal car all over the tri state area with no mileage reimbursments. No reimbursements for anything . You pay for EVERYTHING. No true salary. Oh, and have I mentioned the constantly reduced pay and... commission structures? Became a horrible company to work for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat and your employees like human beings. Also, the micromanagement style isn't working for you...Plenty of your reviews reflect this.

    Guardian Protection2019-08-08
Found 123 reviews