HRET Reviews | Glassdoor

HRET Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
23%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
HRET President Maulik S. Joshi (no image)
Maulik S. Joshi
6 Ratings
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HRET full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good mission, dedicated to process improvement, new business coming in, opportunities for professional development

    Cons

    Need better guidance for promotion within organization. More flexibility to work remotely.

    Continue reading
    HRET2015-03-25
  2. "Many Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HRET

    Pros

    professional coworkers, networking nation-wide, opportunity to work on multiple health areas

    Cons

    revolving door of staff and projects, AHA is conservative

    HRET2016-10-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to learn, rough place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HRET full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was smaller when I was there. Managed well for people at the top, hostile to everyone else, women in particular. I learned a lot there in terms of how to ask questions, what matters in health policy.

    Cons

    Management was very weak and people were left to suffer at the whims of one particular VP who had sociopathic tendencies.

    HRET2016-08-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The Antithesis of Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HRET full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in this organization helped me appreciate and value corporations that focus on fostering healthy corporate cultures as HRET is the antithesis.

    Cons

    The leadership is abhorrent, unprofessional and full of knowledgeable, yet socially inept people. Multimillion dollar grants are at stake, yet many can bear witness to how poorly leadership can treat employees as well as customers. It's unacceptable. Employees are neither valued nor engaged, and are not properly trained to perform or lead. Not to mention, there is absolutely no excuse why any person leading an organization is commonly thought of as: - Rude - Bullying - Moody - Catty - Rarely Pleasant - Vindictive - Petty - Feared

    Continue reading
    HRET2016-07-16
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Appallingly poor leadership- both in attitude and competence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HRET for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free coffee, convenient location, generally friendly coworkers

    Cons

    I must wholeheartedly concur with other reviewers' criticisms of HRET management. Higher-level managers do not communicate frequently or effectively with their employees. This means that whan an employee has a question or encounters a barrier to their work, there is no one to listen or assist. As a result, there is a lot of confusion, redundant work, and customer deadlines are missed. Mid-level managers are worse, at least based upon my own experience. My manager was widely ineffective in communicating his instructions and poor at managing deadlines. Moreover, he left early every day while I stayed late. When I finished a project, he would then delete my name and send it to upper management under his name. He was also quick to defer any blame for his mistakes onto me. Worst off, it was very apparent that he had absolutely no interest in me as an individual, with no regard to my health, wellbeing, or professional development.

    Continue reading
    HRET2016-04-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Apply at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HRET full-time

    Pros

    Medical & dental benefits are excellent and compensation is above average. Office location is accessible to public transportation. Opportunity to work and collaborate with thought leaders in the healthcare industry; more than likely they are outside of HRET and partners in the work performed.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance and difficult to telecommute, if needed. Management is dismal and senior leadership is seriously lacking leadership attributes. Be prepared to endure mental abuse from your manager if you work here (condescending tone/remarks, back stabbing, etc.). Simple minded leaders with poor interpersonal skills and the need to "shine" above the workers on the front line.

    HRET2016-02-19
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Think before applying to HRET"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HRET full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, amazing colleagues, very poor senior leadership

    Cons

    Very poor senior leadership; very upsetting. They hire inexperienced senior leadership who have absolutely no idea what is happening within their teams. AHA HR doesn't do anything to help HRET staff, definitely wouldn't recommend working here. Extremely upset with my experience here, I do not recommend working in this organization. I do not understand how they won a Bronze "Baldridge" award, they definitely do not fit the criteria. They hired a new COO a few months back to reduce the high turnover rates, but I seriously don't think that will happen in this organization due to the nature of the projects and the horrible senior leadership team. DO NOT APPLY.

    Continue reading
    HRET2014-08-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "So many operational problems but the President and work/life balance are fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HRET

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Free university - this place is clueless about what is going on in their teams and so they put loads of money toward professional development as opposed to dealing with improving internal operations. Often people stay there to suck them dry on educational opportunities and then use their training at their new job a.k.a the term "free university." Maulik Joshi is a paragon and amazing to work for. There are some good people there that can help you get through the tough days.

    Cons

    Where do I start...first everything in the previous comments is true! The place is twisted and leadership has no idea what is going on or how to manage. HR knows there are problems and cannot touch them because HRET is getting projects (for now that is until their internal operations catches up with themselves). No one really lasts longer than 2 years here and if you make it that long that is amazing! One person was here for 11 years and they still did not promote her higher than senior PM level even though she was basically directing programs so she had to leave. Lack of respect, they encourage "groupthink" and steer away from innovation. They do not have good onboarding training for new people. Roles and expectations are not clear. They hire masters degree people to do administrative work that a bachelors degree employee could do.

    Continue reading
    HRET2014-06-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Variety in projects, great staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HRET full-time

    Pros

    You can make a difference with lots of great networking opportunities. You'll need them when things go south and you have to find a new place to go. Great work life balance and benefits.

    Cons

    Manipulative, catty, vengeful management. HRET is the AHA's silver spoon so HR can't touch them which is a shame with the way staff are managed. Cannot trust the quality of work produced by all staff members.

    Continue reading
    HRET2014-04-11
  11. Helpful (4)

    "Awful leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at HRET full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with for the most part. The staff are actually dedicated and want to achieve goals that are measurable and meaningful.

    Cons

    The leadership is absolutely clueless about how to manage people, and seem to govern by vendettas, backstabbing, self-service, and mind-games. I have never seen a more wicked environment. Turnover is high at all levels because of this very poisonous environment. And it starts at the top of HRET.

    Continue reading
    HRET2012-10-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews
</>Embed