HiTutor Reviews | Glassdoor

HiTutor Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
84%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (3)

    "English tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HiTutor part-time

    Pros

    It privides well-organized training and a lot of support.

    Cons

    Its salary is not as high as tutor face to face.

    Continue reading
    HiTutor2015-10-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in England, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at HiTutor part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It provides informative training. Plenty of teaching opportunities.

    Cons

    Pay is low. The HR team is not helpful to answer teacher's questions. They keep asking you to read the regulations and the information given on it is not detailed and complete.

    Continue reading
    HiTutor2017-05-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good starting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Durban
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at HiTutor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice students, decent training, wonderful recruiters

    Cons

    Very slow start, don't get enough bookings for full time, even work

    HiTutor2019-07-28
  5. "best company so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HiTutor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Teachers are rewarded for their hardwork

    Cons

    sudden changes in the management

    HiTutor2019-02-03
  6. "about the management and working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at HiTutor part-time

    Pros

    good office, healthy environment, good students

    Cons

    favoritism, there is no comfort room inside the office

    HiTutor2018-11-13
  7. "very nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HiTutor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You got competitive salary package and has a good management.

    Cons

    You got to work 10 hours but still get paid

    Continue reading
    HiTutor2018-10-14
  8. "Here for 3years, Salary DECREASING."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Tutor in Pasig City
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at HiTutor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Taiwanese students are very nice and friendly. They give fair investigation when teacher receives complaint. Tenured teachers are nice.

    Cons

    They offer high incentives but almost impossible to achieve. The HR/admin has a lot of trickery to the salary of teachers. A lot of unreasonable deductions and without prior notice, recently, they changed our shift/schedule because they do not want us to get the incentives for the weekend and Night shift. The HR gives a lot of false info to the teachers and goes on Power Tripping. We have to work 10 hrs a day for 5 days(with 1 hr break), or work 9 hrs a day for 6 days (with 1 hr break). They also closes our schedule without valid reason so students cannot book us and we end up with few students and not receiving the incentives. The tool that we are using to conduct the class is "New" and still under "development" so it has a lot of problems which annoys the students.

    Continue reading
    HiTutor2018-10-23
  9. "English tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at HiTutor part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working time. Easy one-on-one online lessons.

    Cons

    Low hourly pay, hopefully above $15/hr for conversation lessons and $20/hr for exam prep lessons.

    HiTutor2018-10-15
  10. "Nice customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Tutor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at HiTutor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hourly rate will depend on your English proficiency level (fairly decent). They have a their own teaching platform which is nice but can be tricky to understand at first. Very responsive customer service- they get to you at once and helps you with your concerns.

    Cons

    they don't have a 25-minute class- all classes are conducted per 50-minutes. teaching platform has glitches and you won't be paid once it happens during class because they will mark it as technical difficulty! very few bookings probably due to low student enrollment.

    Continue reading
    HiTutor2018-05-14
  11. "Takes time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ESL Online Teacher in Surabaya, East Java

    I have been working at HiTutor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly administration staff, timely replies to questions. 50min lesson rate is good ($12). They use Skype so connectivity is good and technical issues low.

    Cons

    25 minute lesson rate not good. They half the time, but quarter the money (25 min = $3) Teaching standards not good. Staff's English and some of their teachers used for training videos need English pronunciation and grammar lessons. Local, Taiwanese, teachers are perpetuating problems: some teachers are using Chinese pronunciation to speak English - e.g. they are not pronouncing end-consonants - they say 'right' as 'ry' not 'ryt'; and 'contact' as 'kon ta' not 'KON takt'. Makes for very sloppy enunciation, so much so it's hard to understand them at times. Students choose teachers via teachers' profiles so slow to built to an acceptable monthly salary.

    Continue reading
    HiTutor2018-04-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews