Hormel Reviews | Glassdoor

Hormel Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 262 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Hormel CEO James P. Snee
James P. Snee
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits with plenty of overtime opportunities(in 22 reviews)

  • "Good pay, about 2 years out of school and am making 65,000(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance tough frequent moves(in 39 reviews)

  • "Long hours, decision making processes sometime are too long(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company I ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab in Austin, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great culture, good payment, good benefits

    Cons

    Nothing to highlight and say

    Hormel2019-04-09
  2. "Good benefits, No Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foodservice Account Executive 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time

    Pros

    Great pay - great bonuses if you meet your goals. Lucrative 401K match program.

    Cons

    On the road all the time, no work-life balance. Very politicized promotional structure

    Advice to Management

    More diversity - it's a very white, male company.

    Hormel2019-05-19
  3. "Family friendly company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Programmer/Analyst in Austin, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The company understands the importance of family and are quite flexible if and only if you comply to your responsibilities.

    Cons

    The strategic direction and open minded on new solutions are quite limited.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your talented employees who have outside experience. They were forged through real world scenarios. Hormel is a slow moving platform that is very stable, but that is no excuse for not understanding or disregarding options based on politics.

    Hormel2019-05-02
  4. "If you want to move work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hormel full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great benefits, average pay, company car

    Cons

    Must relocate to grow, They preach about their core values but they do not follow them.

    Hormel2019-03-28
  5. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Beloit, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hormel full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Competitive Wage for Maintenance Position

    Cons

    Maintenance Management has no technical ability. They hire managers directly out of any 4 year degree program. There were 12 maintenance managers on 3 shifts who rotated, so I never knew who would be managing me from day to day. The management goes out drinking every night and preferential treatment is given to those who have personal relationships with supervisors.

    Advice to Management

    Hire supervisors who are older than 22 and just out of college. People with real life experience, technical knowledge, and people skills. Maintenance needs managers that know what a screwdriver is, and is able and willing to get their hands dirty. Supervisors are put on a pedestal and are just brats who get paid more than the hardworking hourly people. Place value on life experience, not just education!

    Hormel2019-04-12
  6. "Great Company with great benefits and a strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Austin, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hormel full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are very good. Very good training and development programs.

    Cons

    Long hours and lots of weekends, though management actively tries to evenly distribute workload. Production occurs continuously all year except holidays and even then some lines will still work.

    Hormel2019-02-28
  7. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    I've worked here for 9 years and enjoy my job.

    Cons

    It's hard to move up in the company if you don't want to move around the country or to Austin, MN.

    Hormel2019-02-24
  8. "hard working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Machine Operator in Stone Mountain, GA

      I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      location is good n easy to get to

      Cons

      bad mangment not fair all a round

      Hormel2019-02-15
    • "Work/Life Balance Non Existent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Production Supervisor in Beloit, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great ability to promote within.

      Cons

      * Work/Life balance * Support from Upper Managrmnt * Communication between supervisers and management * Recruting has no knowledge of manufacturing environment

      Advice to Management

      * Be proactive * Support supervisors and create a cross communicative environment

      Hormel2019-03-11
    • "Job experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Microbiology Technician 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good team to work with

      Cons

      You are stuck as a technician. Very few opportunities and no flexibility to move to another position

      Hormel2019-02-01
    Found 262 reviews