Human Rights Campaign Reviews | Glassdoor

Human Rights Campaign Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Chad Griffin
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "community faces and how HRC tackles them(in 10 reviews)

  • "They hosted a series of intern brown bags so that we could learn a lot about different departments within the HRC(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "No downside HRC is a nice place to work(in 9 reviews)

  • "There is little to no time for self care(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Human Rights Campaign

    Pros

    Wonderful Intern program with great brown bags and networking opportunities

    Cons

    Although it was a great internship, an unpaid experience at an organization that is striving to achieve equality seems antithetical to its mission.

    Human Rights Campaign2018-01-16
  2. "Good cause, a lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Human Rights Campaign full-time

      Pros

      good people, great cause, etc

      Cons

      standing outside, rude people, etc

      Human Rights Campaign2018-11-13
    • "Depends on your department, but it's not a dream job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Human Rights Campaign full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Depending on your role you can build a lot of connections. Great 401k and Health Coverage. Excellent branding and a great resume bullet point. Commitment to improvement of the LGBTQ community. Numerous Employee resource groups.

      Cons

      Pay raises are extremely modest and rare. If you have a personal life, get ready to lose it. Stuck in a union that does minimal work to improve quality of work beyond those who make the lowest level of income. No professional development opportunities. You're replaceable, and you're reminded of that regularly. Terrible vacation options, no overtime, often times encouraged to "Volunteer" extra hours. In constant...

      Show More
      Human Rights Campaign2018-11-07
    • "HRC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Human Rights Campaign full-time

        Pros

        Tight knit community. Important work.

        Cons

        Complex work environment to navigate.

        Human Rights Campaign2018-10-01
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Human Rights Campaign full-time

        Pros

        Good experience, open/accepting environment, very dedicated staff, very good benefits

        Cons

        Long hours, pay is not great at mid/lower levels

        Human Rights Campaign2018-08-20
      • "Volunteer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Human Rights Campaign part-time

          Pros

          Very nice managers at the event

          Cons

          Some of the guests at the event were rude

          Human Rights Campaign2018-07-02
        • Helpful (2)

          "ugh"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Canvasser in Milwaukee, WI
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Human Rights Campaign full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Fun staff, great community, good for social interaction

          Cons

          Grueling hours for little pay, who knows when you'll meet quota? Very unstable income, misleads you about pay (do not take this job!)

          Advice to Management

          Don't act like this job is a moral crusade, you're scamming college students about of their labor

          Human Rights Campaign2018-07-02
        • "Hard but rewarding work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Human Rights Campaign full-time

          Pros

          Satisfaction of advocating for a cause I believe in and the benefit of a low sales commission was personally very motivating. It was an excellent way to spend time outdoors and work with people my age. Additionally I discovered a natural talent for sales that I will carry with me when I graduate from college.

          Cons

          This work is absolutely not for everyone. The pressure to perform is significant, and while I found that to be inspiring, others found it debilitating. Since HRC is nonprofit, the benefits versus the sacrifices make working for them a very personal decision. Although I really liked the people I worked with, and I liked the opportunities for leadership, I resented the general reluctancy of both the local administration...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          When traveling out of state, it is industry standard to offer a per diem to employees. Commission does not cover this. Additionally on travel excursions, it is the responsibility of the organization to cover bed and board. This is not a privilege to be revoked.

          Human Rights Campaign2018-05-08
        • "❤️"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Human Rights Campaign full-time

            Pros

            Great environment for a great cause

            Cons

            No part time work during the summer

            Human Rights Campaign2018-04-29
          • Helpful (1)

            "Field Organizer"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Field Organizer in Philadelphia, PA
            Recommends

            I worked at Human Rights Campaign full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            You feel you are .working for a cause, working to better people's lives which is really empowering

            Cons

            Being a field organizer is incredibly time consuming and challenging. There is little to no time for self care

            Advice to Management

            Give more support to staff to make them successful as possible.

            Human Rights Campaign2018-04-07
          Found 60 reviews