Hycor Biomedical Reviews | Glassdoor

Hycor Biomedical Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Hycor Biomedical CEO Dick Aderman (no image)
Dick Aderman
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "One of the best jobs I've ever had! Sad goodbye."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing in Garden Grove, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hycor Biomedical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I left a long-time company only to be at Hycor for 3 months, it was discouraging. The leads in manufacturing are the best and care about you as a person. They pay more than other companies in the area, and the smaller size gives it a cozy family type feel. I loved my co-workers, learned a lot in a short time span, zero drama, and miss the Friday lunches. A left a hostile environment in my previous medical device... company. When we were told to exit my bosses and co-workers even hugged me goodbye. Unfortunately, this messed up my career being on auto-pilot and now it's very hard to find jobs with potentially 500 applicants for lab jobs around orange county. I wanted to do a better job but it was a little crazy with machine runs failing all the time. I would also study all night to try to help out the team although it didn't really get me anywhere.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only downside is they let go of most of the company in a short time. The owner visited the location and wanted to shake hands with everybody. This warm welcome quickly soured as a few weeks later she sent an email saying the time lines were not met and all the temps and contracts were basically gone. The unfortunate departure meetings occurred immediately on the same day of the email. It was sad seeing the... co-workers that I bonded with in tears. Another thing that set me back was my group spoke their own language, so they knew what to do thoroughly meanwhile others in the group became more behind because they had to figure out things on their own.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I was very impressed by the QC and Manufacturing departments. R&D were cool too but not as open. It seems like there was gossip and drama in R&D but I experienced zero drama in my own area.

    Hycor Biomedical2018-03-22
  2. "Good job to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Garden Grove, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hycor Biomedical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management really wants to improve company culture and the company's reputation. I enjoyed the coworkers and the projects I worked on. You get to work half a day on Friday if you work second shift. There were no lay-offs when I worked there. Since the company is on the smaller side, there is an opportunity to gain many new skills,

    Cons

    Employee retention is not the best.

    Hycor Biomedical2019-05-07
  3. "Would not recommend working in R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Research Associate in Garden Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hycor Biomedical for less than a year

    Pros

    Biochem and medical device experience Other departments didn't seem as bad as R&D. Training was ok

    Cons

    I had a terrible experience working with the management and employees in the R&D department. They had a very standoffish, uncaring, and sometimes what felt like a hostile attitude towards new people. Think high school and that kind of gossip. The other departments seemed nicer and I am tempted to rate the company higher because of that, but with the amount of negative experiences I had and how negative they... were in R&D with the management and employees, I feel like it deserves 1 star. I think there are much better companies to get biochem experience in without these cons, so I do not recommend going to Hycor's R&D department specifically for that. Like another reviewer mentioned, I also had a bad experience with lab support and would not recommend them.

    Show More
    Hycor Biomedical2018-08-06
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Unstable Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hycor Biomedical full-time

    Pros

    1.) Good coworkers 2.) Great place to get industry experience

    Cons

    1.) Training is terrible. I was only an employee for 2 weeks and I was training new hires. There were times where I had to learn my way around by myself. 2.) New middle management that has no idea what they're doing. They won't handle personal conflict until it is too late to repair the damage. They also will constantly change priorities and assignments on the drop of a dime. I never once had what was... planned for my week remain the same, it was constantly changing. 3.) Some employees are not emotionally mature and can make work difficult. I felt like I was back in middle school at times. 4.) No appreciation or compensation. They expect you to work weekends, odd shifts, overtime, and 6 day work weeks without anything in return except for a "thank you". This is how a company loses their best employees. They also reward those who are incompetent over those who go above and beyond their job duties. 5.) Job security is terrible. There have been multiple lay offs. You will most likely end up worrying if you'll have a job every 3-4 months.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1.) Show employee appreciation and it needs to be more than a "thank you". 2.) Create a budget that is realistic. 3.) Stick with decisions and plans made.

    Hycor Biomedical2018-02-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great unless you’re a contracted employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hycor Biomedical

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are decent Lots of room for growth within the company Management makes effort to keep employees from getting burned out

    Cons

    Notorious for ending employment contracts early without notice (even if you’ve only been there for a couple of weeks) for non-performance related reasons

    Advice to Management

    This advice is for senior management: 1. Don’t make promises to investors you cannot keep, including deadlines for projects. 2. Do a better job budgeting so accounts don’t get put on hold, leaving departments without supplies.

    Hycor Biomedical2017-10-06
  6. Helpful (8)

    "No Job security and horrible middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Garden Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hycor Biomedical full-time

    Pros

    Your co workers will be awesome Friday lunches 4 hour fridays

    Cons

    Where do I start? 1- The company just laid off 33 people because apparently there was no money to pay them anymore. 2- Horrible management style as there were either bad or absent supervisors to help train and delegate work. You kind of have to find your own way around things and learn yourself. I don't think I even knew who my supervisor was for the first two weeks. I was just basically passed on from one... person to another for "formal training" which gave me no on hands training for my actual job. 3- Extremely disorganized for a lab. Everything was placed everywhere, the training documents were all out of date and people just kind of do whatever they liked and no one is held responsible. I wonder what would happen when we have an audit. 4- Constant drama between departments- there was very limited permanent positions available and you kind of had to compete with your coworkers. You also had to depend on your coworkers as you had to work with them. It made working there kind of difficult. 5- When I started, I was happy and had great coworkers.. After they left so many people go, the remaining employees have to do their own work as well as the work of the people that left. Which is impossible. Our new CEO(since they let the other one go) expects us all to still provide results which is virtually impossible. This company does not care about you. You will work plenty of overtime, random shifts, weekends and if you refuse to do so then well, it will be held against you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Budget so that you don't kill the morale of your employees - Keep a better watch on your middle management. Most of them are new supervisors. They aren't really doing a very good job. If people are quitting that means that they're not happy. It's great to give someone an opportunity to take on some leadership but at the same time having bad management skills does result in losing good employees which will hurt... you at the end.

    Show More
    Hycor Biomedical2017-10-13
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hycor Biomedical

    Pros

    -R&D gets free lunch on Fridays -4 hour shift of Fridays -Great and friendly co-workers -Fun work environment -Managers are understanding

    Cons

    -Managers need to make their employees accountable

    Hycor Biomedical2017-09-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "This place is a sailing boat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hycor Biomedical

    Pros

    - Half Day Fridays - If you start off in R&D, work hard and hang out with the right prior.... you can do very well.

    Cons

    - the company is financially struggling... and have been trying to get traction on a new system for years and they've been let down by incompetent staff, poor management decisions, and lack of money in the bank - the people that work here (outside of r&d) are those with retired on the job attitude, have no energy or motivation and just collecting a paycheck - the company cleans house every so often and calls it... "re-org"

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate, and try to understand that there's a reason why 'the bird' still has not launched and extended its feathers

    Hycor Biomedical2017-06-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hycor Biomedical full-time

    Pros

    Offers full benefits Management is really understanding and nice

    Cons

    There are too many young people

    Hycor Biomedical2017-03-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hycor Biomedical

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with very strong team environment unlike any other company I've worked with before. Lots of learning opportunities!

    Cons

    Learn-as-you-go sort of environment. While training is available, it is limited, and while it can be effective to learn with experience, it can be disorganized and stressful.

    Hycor Biomedical2016-10-11
Found 16 reviews