Hydro One Reviews | Glassdoor

Hydro One Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 292 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Hydro One CEO Carmine Marcello
Carmine Marcello
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company with good pay (like so high(in 34 reviews)

  • "Amazing work life balance, I did a 16 month co-op(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to get back into full time, can be a little slow for co-ops at certain times(in 18 reviews)

  • "There are no cons in my experience(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Protection and Control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One for more than 10 years

    Pros

    THey were Hydro One what Can I say?

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say here it was all good

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! :)

    Hydro One2016-10-12
  2. "Co-op for ADET"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ADET in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My first Co-op, it was a great experience. Good pay, lots of opportunities to learn and grow, friendly work environment, helpful co-workers. Good inter-departmental synergy. Frequent CPR refresher courses. Staff at my location were flexible and supportive of my desire to learn a job that was different than what I was hired for. Not one crappy day over my 4-month Co-op.

    Cons

    Safety training is typically elearn-based. Not much interaction between management and workers, typical of a large corporation. A bit boring at the beginning because office supervisor made good use of the fact that I was good at organizing information and producing reports, updating trackers, etc. As one of my professors told me: "You'll be filling spreadsheets all summer", that was true at the beginning but thankfully...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Connect with junior staff more often. It will improve morale and company culture.

    Hydro One2018-11-27
  3. "Great company to work for, to start your career or to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co-op Developmental 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hydro One for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere Everyone seems very comfortable Coworkers help when needed Big on safety

    Cons

    I found no cons while working for my co-op experience Big on safety, not much on mental health

    Advice to Management

    More mental health initiatives Provide more feedback to co-op students, they need a good boost sometimes

    Hydro One2015-02-23
  4. "Very good, lots of learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Settlements Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hydro One for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities, fair salary

    Cons

    Temporary employment don't have the same benefits

    Hydro One2019-08-19
  5. "A good fair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One for more than 3 years

    Pros

    To form more experience and interact with everyone

    Cons

    Hard to get back into full time,can be little slow for co-ops at certain times

    Advice to Management

    I would like to gain experience

    Hydro One2019-08-11
  6. "Great place to work and grow in your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and good-work life balance

    Cons

    Suit-and-tie corporate culture, very large and spread out staff.

    Advice to Management

    Make the work environment a little more casual

    Hydro One2019-07-29
  7. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sec
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment for all

    Cons

    Not found any as of now

    Hydro One2019-07-20
  8. "Amazing workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GIS Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits, great workplace

    Cons

    Often requires travel around Ontario

    Hydro One2019-07-16
  9. "Good Place to Work - no rush and relax environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, and not as fast-paced as consulting

    Cons

    Too relaxed for some people, but was okay with me

    Hydro One2019-06-17
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Markham, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hydro One for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits Colleagues and managers are great to work with Very good corporate culture and keeping employees informed

    Cons

    Long time to get full time permanent, many rotations and part time opportunities Limited opportunities to grow or transfer Shift work

    Hydro One2019-05-27
Found 292 reviews