Instrumentation Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor

Instrumentation Laboratory Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Ramon Benet
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Instrumentation Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    None, to be honest none

    Instrumentation Laboratory2018-12-15
  2. "Stable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instrumentation Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stable company, good 401k, on-site gym, subsidized cafeteria

    Cons

    Too many unproductive meetings, not much opportunity for growth

    Instrumentation Laboratory2019-05-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Instrumentation Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    If you want overtime and no work life balance-- work here. If you prefer to be treated as a number/less than human-- work here. If you consider leadership that is the driving force of the rumor mill and seems to enjoy towing the eeoc borderline for perpetuating workplace gossip and bullying a plus...you should certainly work here. I suppose the 401k match is decent-- but for selling your soul they need something...

    Show More

    Cons

    If you find all of the 'pros' mentioned above absolutely unacceptable and are appauled that any work enviroment tolerates such things-- congratulations-- you are human! Don't work here. Siloed management Less than average pay (you wouldn't think that based on the 30% increase you are getting due to overtime..if you want to work the additional 300-400+ hours a year, have at it.) No employee development Leadership...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a good look in the mirror. YOU are the issue. I would give senior management and culture/values negative stars if I could.

    Instrumentation Laboratory2019-06-11
  4. Helpful (4)

    "One of the worst experiences of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Instrumentation Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    401k, interesting products, subsidized cafeteria

    Cons

    The only time in my career that I have actually been yelled at. Management team gossips constantly, and their behavior borders on abusive.

    Advice to Management

    Train your management to become human.

    Instrumentation Laboratory2019-06-07
  5. "Good to work here but no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Programmer in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Instrumentation Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, best benefits with 401K 8% match

    Cons

    No growth and no flexibility.

    Instrumentation Laboratory2019-03-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Would not reccomend workinging in manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instrumentation Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of overtime, good benefits

    Cons

    Employees are underpaid, everyone gossips about each other, supervisors don’t want to help you better your career.

    Instrumentation Laboratory2019-03-07
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Sweet on the Outside but Rotten on the Inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - R&D Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Instrumentation Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Engineers you deal with day to day across the Bedford facility are nice. 8% 401K match is nice but not unique to industry. Subsidized cafeteria food is good. Working on life saving products.

    Cons

    If you do not "click" with management you won't last. If you have an alpha personality don't bother...no one is listening.

    Advice to Management

    You're neither as special as you think nor are engineers as desperate as you think. Management should listen to all feedback not only what you agree with.

    Instrumentation Laboratory2019-03-06
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Manufacturing in New Bedford, MA

      I worked at Instrumentation Laboratory

      Pros

      Good location, Whole Foods and Burlington mall is is close by. Cafeteria offers discounted meals and a lot of overtime

      Cons

      Like the others said the toxic environment is too much. No teamwork, everyone gossiping about one another over the most stupidest things. My advice if you come to work for IL is DO NO MAKE ANY FRIENDS here, just come do your job and go home. These people love to gossip and bully people. You can feel the negative energy all around them. Everyone is miserable here, you can see it in their faces.

      Advice to Management

      My advice is to never come work here

      Instrumentation Laboratory2019-03-01
    • Helpful (8)

      "IL culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bedford, MA

        I have been working at Instrumentation Laboratory for more than 8 years

        Pros

        salary is ok and subsidized cafeteria

        Cons

        toxic work environment and bullying.

        Advice to Management

        fix the culture that has set in.

        Instrumentation Laboratory2019-01-11
      • Helpful (8)

        "Extremely poor senior leadership across all departments"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Department Manager in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Instrumentation Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Their really are no positive thoughts that I have to share !

        Cons

        Internally they are like a bunch of old gossiping ladies that seem to thrive on talking about staff in negative ways on a routine basis.

        Advice to Management

        Fire the CEO, and all the VP’s and start a new positive culture!

        Instrumentation Laboratory2019-01-31
      Found 89 reviews