John Mini Reviews | Glassdoor

John Mini Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
John Mini President  Jack Harris
Jack Harris
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Mini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management shows they care and want you to succeed.

    Cons

    Cant think of any right now.

    John Mini2019-04-06
  2. "Bring your own Bathroom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Agent in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at John Mini full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours Good pay Good work environment

    Cons

    Uncaring No bathroom on job Service mgrs are not employed friendly

    Advice to Management

    Create an option for employees to have decent bathroom access

    John Mini2019-10-05
  3. "The pay is very bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landscaper in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at John Mini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The sights are amazing. You will do cool work

    Cons

    The wages are low. They're racist.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more money to your workers.

    John Mini2019-09-19
  4. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outdoor Installation 

    I have been working at John Mini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly place environment to work

    Cons

    Could be some short days

    Advice to Management

    None.

    John Mini2019-07-03
  5. "Good company for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Exterior Install Crew Member in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Mini full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Generous Overtime -Reimbursements for almost all equipment and travel for the job -Pay for trainings and get paid while doing them

    Cons

    -Not the highest salary

    John Mini2019-04-26
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Mini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked working for john mini. The jobs were really cool and interesting. The vibe of the company is pretty positive and people like what they do. teamwork is big there. if i didn't move id still be working there.

    Cons

    cant think of any cons

    John Mini2019-02-07
  7. "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at John Mini full-time

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers, high quality landscapes

    Cons

    Not the highest salary, but they offer goos benefits and PTO

    John Mini2019-01-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at John Mini full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime, work in some of the amazing private gardens in manhattan on a daily basis. Occasional free plants. Opportunity for certifications and classes paid for by the company.

    Cons

    High turnover rate of employees. Higher ups will do anything to keep an extra dollar out of your pocket. Low pay and aggressive ex-cons as co workers. They will let anyone with a license drive a truck or van, which I have seen firsthand many near accidents and very unsafe driving taking place. Management is disconnected and not likely to follow up on their word.

    John Mini2019-01-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away From This Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at John Mini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule & lower level employees are nice.

    Cons

    While John Mini tries to tell you it’s a good work environment the exact opposite is true. There’s is an extremely toxic management situation where they hire friends with no experience and basically put all the work and complaints on the few employees who actually know what they’re doing. There’s is even a manager who started dating his employee, then promoted no her up so that they now control a whole section of the company, making it impossible for anyone who isn’t their friend to move up. Their own clients keep asking me why there is such a revolving door with employees. The answer? The employees take the first chance they can get to leave, even for something with lesser pay. Racism abounds on both sides, with managers seemingly targeting employees of other races to spite the other managers. I can’t even begin to explain how messed up this work environment is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    John Mini2018-11-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Gardner/construction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at John Mini full-time

    Pros

    Always some where new,and helping new people

    Cons

    Not any,work was great

    John Mini2017-05-12
Found 14 reviews