Keystrokes Reviews | Glassdoor

Keystrokes Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

1.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
10%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
Lee Tkachuk
30 Ratings
  1. "Medical Editor Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor in Yorkville, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keystrokes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best paying MTSO, great people to work with.

    Cons

    Can't reach anyone at customer service on overnight shift.

    Keystrokes2018-04-20
  2. "If you need your check, don't work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Keystrokes part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work at home, no one looking over your shoulder

    Cons

    Paycheck is consistently late--at this time, 14 days! Communications is poor.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to pay your people on time--ALL THE TIME! People should not have to beg for their pay!

    Keystrokes2019-07-09
  3. "Pay Consistently Almost Two Weeks Late"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor 

      I have been working at Keystrokes full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      You are left alone to work

      Cons

      Pay is never dependable and constantly late causing loads of undue stress.

      Keystrokes2019-07-06
    • "Dying industry, get out now"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Keystrokes part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Hourly pay for rare accounts, leave you alone to do your job for the most part

      Cons

      Consistently late paychecks, wages cut, closing accounts left and right, must work holidays and at least one weekend day, incompetent manager and nonexistent HR

      Advice to Management

      Treat employees fairly, reward good workers not just your friends and family who work there, and some positive feedback once in awhile goes a long way

      Keystrokes2019-07-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "COMPANY DOES NOT WANT TO PAY ON TIME"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Keystrokes full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good account, great coworkers, working from home

      Cons

      Company never pays on time. Some get paid, others do not, some have to wait a week to get paid, some get behind on bills. We cannot get responses to emails regarding pay. Working from home does not mean we are not entitled to be paid on time.

      Advice to Management

      Cut the fat and pay on time like the law demands. We all have bills. Your non-payment means we get behind. You claim others are at fault for your own mismanagement of your money but that is not our problem until you refuse payment, allowing some to get utilities cut off. Shameful you treat the very people who make you money like dirt under your feet.

      Keystrokes2019-05-02
    • "THEY DONT PAY EMPLOYEES ON TIME"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Keystrokes full-time

      Pros

      None. None at all. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Nothing.

      Cons

      Too many to list. Primary complaint is they dont pay on time. Current checks are a week late, even after the owner herself stated they were released last night, also after multiple promises it would be "tomorrow" or the next day. There is no reason for this. A respectable and honest business should always have enough money to cover payroll ON TIME. Employees pay is late, but management seems to have their...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      It is NOT your employees' fault that you refuse to pay on time. This isnt a one-time thing, it has been ongoing for years and years. It is entirely YOUR fault.

      Keystrokes2019-05-02
    • "Expectations are too high"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Keystrokes full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Working from home is nice.

      Cons

      You have to do a lot of work they don't pay you for. You only get paid per line typed, yet you have to look a lot of stuff up. Also, too many typists assigned to the same pools, so many times there isn't enough work to go around.

      Advice to Management

      Don't assign so many typists to the same pools, especially smaller pools.

      Keystrokes2019-04-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Stay away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Sandwich, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Keystrokes part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working at home. Telecommuting a plus.

      Cons

      Capricious QA rules and unfair compensation equivalent to about $1.62 an hour. Not worth your time.

      Advice to Management

      Stop being slave drivers and pay your people.

      Keystrokes2019-03-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "QA requirements are too rigid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Keystrokes part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Most of the people you deal with are nice.

      Cons

      Pay isn't great. Line counts are shady. I was given a couple videos to watch to learn a system I had never worked on before and then expected to be an expert in a week AND at 98% accuracy so they could release me. They push you hard to get through QA regardless and either you make the date they give you or you're done. Also, when you're in 100% QA you have at least six different people evaluating your work so there...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Don't be so rigid in your QA policy and maybe actually train your MTs properly and treat them with dignity and respect. Have the QA period be one-on-one with a single evaluator/trainer. Some vague "instructions" from a couple short videos is NOT training.

      Keystrokes2018-11-13
    • Helpful (4)

      "Payroll never on time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Keystrokes full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Any pros about this company are negated by the fact that they do not pay their employees on time and offer no explanation or warning.

      Cons

      Payroll is NEVER on time and you keep guessing when it might be received. If you are working for fun and don't really care about your finances, then this is the company for you. They are located in Chicago and trying to reach the Better Business Bureau to file a complaint is a joke since you need paycheck stubs, which Keystrokes also will not provide. I've never seen anything like this in 20 years in this industry.

      Advice to Management

      It is a FEDERAL LAW to pay your employees on time. Get a new CFO and stop treating your employees like this is a third world country.

      Keystrokes2018-08-14
    Found 47 reviews